Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 March 2017
This was an impulse buy following hearing a movement of one of the concertos by JC Bach. I am very pleased with the whole Cd consisting of a concerto by CPE Bach, two by JC Bach and one by JS Bach. The surprise was that it came from Greece with 24% VAT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2013
Subtle, crisp, piano playing and lean, clean accompaniment in a delightful concerto that defies your expectations of Baroquery. CPE Bach's way with form and theme keep you guessing which corners he will turn but you always find it worth following him. He has a wry sense of humour that makes me want to follow on with some Haydn. The middle movement is quietly spare in texture, light on its feet and charming; a beautiful exercise in understatement. Brother JS can't match CPE's gifts and has few of the memorable eccentricities but his two concertos are still rewarding especially as they are played here. As for Injushina's lively recording of their father's wonderful concerto that ends this fabulous disc, it stands comparison with Murray Perahia's. Injushina is a pianist to watch for; from this example I can't imagine her ever upstaging her accompanists and her playing serves the music rather than anything else.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
This is a superlative disc from a pianist who I would really like to hear more of. If her Bach playing on this disc is anything to go by then hearing more from her in other repertoire is going to be a real treat.

This is very musical playing in music that can really expose lesser players. No fear with Ms. Injushina - she plays with natural fluency and invests each phrase with memorable lightness. She is given very strong support.

Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2013
Beautifully articulated piano playing throughout, with immaculate phrasing - could this be the 'perfect' performance? I certainly can't fault it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2016
This music is just "Something Else" and Anastasia's playing is simply brilliant. Although the music is rather gentler towards the end of the CD - that's J.S. Bach's Concerto No. 11 in E major, I defy anyone not to be wonderfully uplifted by J.C. Bach's Concerto in D major (tracks 4 - 5), and the third movement (track 3) of C.P.E. Bach's Concerto in D major does wonders for the spirit too.

This CD has become my No. 1 Favourite of this winter, and I've recently bought a second copy to send to a most delightful musical lady friend ...... who deserves the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
The JSB is naturally the best of the bunch, sparkling, lively, confident and relaxed; but the whole disc gives my spirits a refreshing lift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2016
A lovely collection of not often heard pieces by three Bachs! Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2015
A great recording!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
Pure artistry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Liked the BWV 1053 JS Bach Concerto No 11. The three other concerto's by CP and JC Bach were okay. The playing of Anastasia Injushina and the Hamburg Camerata was very good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)