Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2017
You can pick and choose his advise. The main theme is to remain objective, however, in hindsight, everyone is bound to be right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
Interesting format - almost like a series of fables. Some very interesting theories but overall left me feeling very cynical about the world, even if the starts are true ( and I have no reason to doubt them! ).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Really like it. While you may not agree with all the ideas, just considering them provides you with an insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Makes a lot of great points in a highly interesting, memorable and readable way. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
very good, insightful and not overly verbose
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Great read.. Can read it piecemeal . It's more of food for thought book !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
`The art of thinking clearly' by Rolf Dobelli took 10 days to arrive. It is hardback, but thick paperback sized (326 pages), made up of 99 Chapters each of two to three pages.

Originally the text was written as a series short magazine articles, so this is in effect a bound collection all in one place.

Rolf tackles the many ways in which thinking errors can occur (what we think is going on, and what is actually going on, can and often is very different). In a sense this is quite profound, we all run around with models of how the world works (and interconnects), and these models provide a handy short cut to quick decisions rather than thinking things through from scratch every time. Rolf clearly and logically and with examples shows us how and why these models are in error (the links are incorrectly connected) and while there might be good material going in, the wrong model all but guarantees the wrong material out.

As humans we are programmed for the here and now, long and very short time scales are difficult for us to grasp, big numbers are just big numbers etc. Rolf tackles psychological perception and how we can be confident and sure about something, yet we have mislead ourselves or been mislead by others, but our confidence means the alarm has not sounded. These sorts of thinking errors have been well researched by psychologists, but largely buried in academic journals and tomes. Rolf brings them out, makes them live and contemporary, and with examples shows, actually, anyone with a working brain needs to beware.

So this is less a book about `The art of thinking clearly' and more a book about `I think, therefore I err', and is no less valuable for that, just don't expect methods, plans and exercises for thinking clearly.

Finally, perhaps a perfect book for the modern age, we move too fast for our own good, a book which in very short hops takes you on a (thoughtful) journey, easy to pick up grab a page or two, put down to await the next `reading bite' opportunity. Take it from start to finish, or dip in an out, it makes no difference, each Chapter is stand alone. For me at least, £7 very well spent.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Thought provoking, prepare to be challenged (in a good way). Well done Rolf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Arrived on time and product as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)