Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Lost Tapes
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 July 2012
In my experience most people I have tried to play Can to have actively hated them. However some of us, think they made some of the most amazing music ever.

If you are in the latter camp then this is a worthwhile collection. The packaging is hefty and distinctive, with a decent booklet and the CDs set in recesses. As with other reviewers, one disk was rattling about loose on arrival, however it plays okay. At ten inches square this is probably something for your bookshelf.

The music is a mixed bag, there is stuff here that I cannot imagine anyone listening to more than once. There is stuff here that is as good as anything produced by Can. The problem is that no two folk will agree what is the dross and what is the gold. If you are a Can fan then the box set is a safe purchase. It is likely to be deleted in a year or two, and you could always sell it then for some extra money. For me however it is well worth keeping. Even if the quality is distinctly patchy, it is fascinating to peak behind the curtain to hear just how this incredible music was put together. It seems to have been composed as free-form jazz, rather than by assembling standard rock or pop elements.

If you are not familiar with Can, then the very generous Anthology (Remastered) is the place to start.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
great material.
not very convenient to pull out the cd from it's case.
wish the sound would be a bit better.
but I'm an analog person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
It's like a dream I once had about finding two Can CD's in Guatemala and the next day I did. Having been a Can fan since the early 70's and owning all 13 major releases in three formates ..what can I say three more wonder CD's packed full of more Can. What Can anybody want. Now my life is complete. Am I happy ..Hell yes..If you don't buy this box of Can magic then your life will never be complete....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
great stuff really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 July 2012
Can is a band I have loved since before I even heard them. It was the
original sleeve of their Unlimited Edition album that did it for me.
The weird looking people. The strange museum-like setting. Mind you,
was only 16.

This boxed set/big download is real value for money for Can Fans, as
the other reviews here will testify. But I'm torn, because a lot of
water has flowed under the musical bridge since Can's heyday, and what
was once forcefully original and musically adventurous may sometimes
now sound brash and difficult.

Of the four primary members time has been the least kind to Michael
Karoli, the guitarist who made it OK to play "wrong" notes. Not only
has he departed this life, his legacy now sounds extremely ungainly,
and his contribution probably accounts for most of the difficulty
"normal" music fans have with Can. Certainly, the sonic quality and
intonation of his guitar work grates on my ear, and I can't help
wondering if most of these tracks were left in the vault simply
because Karoli had no idea what he was doing. Folks, his guitar is out
of tune!

Whilst I'm being picky let me point out that most of what Malcolm
Mooney was doing also sounds somewhat awkward now. OK, he's making a
lot of it up on the spot, and so a little licence should be given, but
his endless repetition and hesitant flight of fancy techniques seem at
times nothing more than amateurish. Again, time has not been kind.

But there is no doubt that Czukay is a kind of genius, and Liebzeit
and Schmidt are each without peer in their respective fields. It is a
testament to the solidity of their input that it was not overwhelmed
by the less professional work of Karoli and Mooney.

I think there is a killer single album in here somewhere, but much of
the boxed set is filler and of interest only to long time fans. Ditch
the alternative/live/emerging versions of well known tunes and make
them available as free downloads. Remaster and blend the half dozen
brilliant tracks and charge the going price for them.

This isn't a dreadful album, but neither does it make a lasting final
testament to one of the great pioneering bands.
88 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
If you have heard very little music by Can then this is not a good place to start. Tago Mago and Future Days are probably more accessible. However, if you are an experienced Can listener and understand how varying their music can be, then this is worth investigating even though it is a bit pricey by modern standards. You do get a box which is about 24cm x 24cm with an interesting booklet of a similar size which has an essay by Irmin Schmidt plus some background on most of the tracks in a size of print you can read without a magnifying glass. It's presented as a sort of scrap book, which works well in my opinion.

There are several tracks which would comfortably sit alongside tracks that I like best from their earlier releases such as 'Future Days' and 'Halleluwah', others which I really struggle to see what they were trying to achieve. Sound quality is generally similar to most Can releases, their music is often murky and I find that is part of the appeal - it isn't pristine and sharp and sterile, it often sounds like you are there with them as they jam and the overall effect is more important than any single instruments' musical sound fidelity.

It is marked up as a limited edition and previous experience suggests that once they are sold, they will become very hard to get and will be priced accordingly second hand. If you are a fan and know that you want this for completeness sake, don't delay. Shop around as I got this slightly cheaper via Sainsbury's Online entertainment store and it was well packaged.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
I like Can, I gravitated towards them as I am big fan of early funk, and Can certainly brought the funk grooves to a lot of their best music in my opinion, Mushroom & Halleluhwah from Tago Mago, and Pinch from Ege Bamyasi are simply outstanding. At the same time I would need to be paid to sit through Aumgn on the Tago Mago album. If you prefer that side of Can, e.g white noise, and scary stuff, this Lost Tapes box set will be a good purchase. For me it was a hard slog, with only the odd gem among some very, very strange sounds. Millionespiel is an intriguing opener, but Disc 1 is almost unlistenable after the first track. Waiting For The Street Car and Graublau being the worst offenders.
Discs 2 & 3 don't sink so low, but there's only a few greats to be found. A brilliant live version of Spoon (Disc 2) and the funk monster Barnacles on Disc 3. For some I can see this would be an amazing collection, but it veers too far towards avant garde for my tastes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I have been a Can fan since Tago Mago first came out in the early 70s, and was interested to see what revelations would appear when Can's rumoured vault of session material was finally explored. The answer is, perhaps, not a lot, and live concert material (not always credited as such) probably accounts for about one CD of the three comprising Lost Tapes. It is also clear that the earlier Limited/Unlimited Edition albums had already drawn off a lot of finished studio material. As various reviews have noted, much of the studio material is ideas that eventually appeared in songs on Ege Bamyasi, Soundtracks, or Landed, and this is generally amongst the most pleasant of what's on offer. Midnight Men, for instance, recaptures the helter skelter excitement as Hunters and Collectors hurtles on into Vernal Equinox. The most unsatisfying CD is No. 1 which mostly dates from the earliest days of the band. Millioenspeil is good, and Evening All Day has some interesting moments, but most of it is way too long for thrashy noise-fests, and the Malcolm Mooney numbers sound like the ones you know from Delay 1968 or Monster Movie, only not as good, and often involve him repeating the same thing over and over for about ten minutes. Mooney's contributions on CD 2 are much better, and this CD also benefits from the explorations around Vitamin C and Sing Swan Song. CD 3 contains the latest stuff - one track from 1977 including Rosko Gee - and has pleasant moments including Private Nocturnal which used to close concerts in the Soon Over Babaluma era.
Overall Lost Tapes is worth checking out but could have been fitted on to two CDs. The cover is a 10 1/2" tape box with the CDs fitted into slots in the floor - a silly idea as they fall out all the time. The accompanying booklet is nice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
really good 3 cd set, every disc is full of the sounds we love that is early can,some great early stuff with malcolm mooney on vocals. its all good, i absolutely love it. if you love their first 5 albums then this is for you. ignore at your own risk !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)