Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2013
This is an extremely neat litle hand held, seems to be very well constructed. It arrived astonishinly quickly from Sainstore. Having been a ham operator for over 30 years and used quite a number of different sets, I am very impressed with it. Basically it is a programmable "shell" with a wide operating range. Programming by hand is a bit fiddly, but can be done with patience. I got it working nicely just out of the box. I would recommend getting the programming cable though. The one I got fitted without any problem. I had a slight hiccup with the drivers, but got them installed with a quick look on the web. I used CHIRP which can be obtained free on the web to program the set and am looking forward to a lot of fun with it. [...] has a mine of good information on this little gem. I would certainly reccommend it for all levels of operator. It is also handy that it can be programmed with channels outside the ham bands so I can listen to the marine traffic when I holiday in Spain.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Great little radio for experimenting with. Be very aware though, it allows transmission on UK frequencies that are dedicated to official authorised users. Straying out of OFCOMS allowable frequencies can be an offence!! The menu system is a little confusing and you need to read the guide book which isn't the best when it comes to guidance pages. Overall though,a lovely radio that can be used as an introduction to HAM radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
realy good product there so good i got 2 of them. just so you know they dont give out 4 watts more like 2.5 on high power. gave them a test in a built up town. about 2 miles good reception. well worth the money. i can get into my repeater with a biger antena and thats 7 miles away as the bird flys. going to buy the case for them to protect them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
The first thing is the build quality is surprisingly good and feels sturdy in the hand and has a nice display. The TX / RX audio is very good and sounds as good as any other radio I have used. It has been said that the programming is very aukward and while I would agree, once you get to grips with the menu system, I found I could put a load of channels in without any problems at all, in fact you really only need the USB cable if you want the channel name to appear, rather than the frequency. It would be very easy to say that it lacks lots of features available on more expensive radio's, but at this price, I really cannot fault this radio at all. Just waiting for this company to produce a HF radio.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
A good value budget transceiver and FM radio which needs patience to program. Don't transmit with it unless you're licensed to do so. If you just want simple walkie talkies - buy a pair of PMR446 sets instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
What a top quality product for such a low price, everything about this is good. Build is nice and has some weight to it which makes it feel better quality. Sound is superb don't expect stereo system loud but more than loud enough for house and garden use with a nice amount of bass too it, plugged into tv in bedroom for films to as it gives a better sound than the tele. Defiantly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Very pleased with this purchase, I was not expecting this high quality for the price. Programming channels has a steep learning curve but the programming software if purchased or downloaded does help. Plenty on the net with regard to this model. Works repeaters very well. Some owners have experienced problems with the connection to the PC, I had this problem but holding the two pin plug very firmly in seems to solve this problem. I think that any amateur will be quite pleased with this piece of kit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Feature rich and extremely well built with an excellent range. I have to admit, I did not expect this to be as good as it is. For the money, you can’t really go wrong.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Poor transmit audio with no help from the sellers. It seems to be a well known issue. Returned for refund and replaced with a UV-6R which will not stop the memory scan on busy! Clearly you get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
I had a pair of these for amateur usage and for use on Scout events as they do meet (allegedly) the interface requirements. However I took the precaution of putting it on my test kit and looking at the performance.

I wasnt expecting a great deal from the radio for the price, but was equally pleased and annoyed with it in several areas.

Lets start with the good...

Nice compact, chunky feel. Has good buttons and tactile feel and a proper OFF switch. The volume control is smooth unlike the UV3R
Display clear and easily readable.
The excellent "talking menu" will be of considerable use to blind or part sighted operators.
Transmit power is good and the supplied rubber duck is OK, and a decent earpiece. You can get a better whip antenna of course but the rubber duck isn't bad
Handy flashlight feature
Battery life is excellent.
Sensitive receiver and front end, good down to at least -129dBm will shame many other commercial handhelds from Icom/Yaesu/Kenwood.
Reasonably good strong signal performance. Copes with close by out of band commercial transmitters well and good in band selectivity.
wide choice of channel steps - 2.5, 5, 6.25, 10, 12.5, 25 Khz stepping
Easily enough programmable without a cable search the web there are many guides.
If you have the programming cable CHIRP is a diddle to use and very useful
Programmed one radio? Get a clone cable and you just copy it to any other UV5R - very handy.
Some people said that these are poor on frequency accuracy and they drift - my pair of these certainly didn't. Compared to a rubidium source and checked they were within 100Hz of where they wanted to be, and drift by perhaps 100Hz more warming up under a long transmit. For a handheld that's excellent as far as I'm concerned.

The bad - well it's all to do with the transmit I'm afraid.

There are sproggies all over the place - and I do mean everywhere on 2 meters. Only 30dB down from signal, at about 30MHz above and some in band birdies that warble sweetly when the TX gets warm as well. God knows where they are being generated but they are there clear as day on a spectrum analyser and both of my radios perform exactly the same. 70cm performance is much better less sprogs, less noise clearer signal. It's obviously a UHF rig pressed into VHF service. running on low output power solves most of the problems it must be said - the output stages are probably being driven into compression and causing the problems.

I would worry about where some of these out of band stuff lands - at 5W output a 30dB signal down will still cause a lot of trouble so it's worth bearing this in mind. It is a shame as the radio is very nice apart from this.

73 de M0PGE
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)