Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
'Delphi Complete Works' is a great range of classics, and at less than £2, are almost given away for free. In Kindle form, they are a lot easier for me to read than on paper: no weight, so can carry it about, no book marker which always gets lost, and kindle screen has the advantage over the normal computer screen that it can be read in bright outdoors (in fact the brighter the better!). I have just one criticism of the kindle production: Most of the time one cannot tell which chapter one is reading, and how far one has progressed through the book. All kindle does is to show the percentage of text read, which is normally not a lot of use, but in the case of 'Complete Works' is completely useless as the figure is calculated in relation to the complete work rather than the book.

Please Kindle, if you are listening, give us a status line like "Chapter X of Y; Page P of Q"
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
I really love George Eliot's writing and this gives me the opportunity to have all of her books in one place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Delphi Classics again at its best. Complete and well organised into section such as novels and short stories. Great value for money. Now in colour with Kindle Fire. Easy to use with contents pages and using Kindle features search, zoom and dictionary. Updated without two poems wrongly put in.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
The works of George Eliot are superb, and to have them all at this low price is great. Sadly they are let down by some bad typing errors and dreadful punctuation, so bad that at times the passages are meaningless. I often had to reread some passages several times to try and make sense of them. These kinds of errors spoil reading pleasure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
It's all there and works but all the spelling is americanised, not in English as it was originally written :(
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I tend to agree that it is difficult to navigate around the book. The table of contents lists the title of each book, followed by chapters 1 to N, but not saying which book each chapter is in. Since most of the main novels contain forty or fifty chapters (possibly more, I haven't counted), the listing shown is pretty uninformative. I have so far used the search facility to get to the beginning of the book I wanted to read, but this is somewhat time-consuming. It would be much more helpful, I think, if the table of contents was nested - that is, it listed the books as main headings, with the possibility of expanding a more detailed list of chapters under each main title, if the reader wished to expand the display.

I will now update the review, to say that there is a simple table of contents at location 2 in the book, which makes it easy to navigate. Accordingly, I will increase my rating to 4 stars, from the original 3.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
I like the background notes and the illustrations and of course the content of the complete works many of which I was not aware of. So easy to read on "Kindle" with the included dictionary and ease of moving from one section to another
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This book has lovely illustrations and is very informative. I would highly recommend it to anyone, as good value. Lizzy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Brilliant having a complete collection of works, Britain in the 19th century, What great writers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
This is excellent value. However, because it's the complete works it is quite difficult to navigate around but the tiny price one cannot expect too much. The literature, of course, stands on its own and requires no review or recommendation from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse