Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2013
How cou,ld one not like this - the complete stories of sherlock holmes, and it was FREE! Surprisingly, the writing style does not feel too out-dated, and Sir Arthur's use of the language was impeccable. Always liked the films and tv series, but it's ages since I read the books, so great to re-visit them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Read and re-read. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
An excellent read. Can't wait to see what happens next with each story. Can just picture Holmes and Watson solving the crimes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
An amazing and captivating read. All the Sherlock Homes novels in one comprehensive set. Wonderful introduction, with some interesting insights into the charactors and the actors who have played them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The quality of the stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is not in question. The reverence with which they have been treated in this bodged American translation of his work however is a major problem.

Whether you pay 70p or even nothing at all, buying this version cannot be recommended.
11 Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This review is about "The Complete Sherlock Holmes", the Kindle edition published in December 2012 with the foreword by Robert Ryan (I've included that because reviews of different editions tend to get muddled)

To begin with, I believe that there are few other works of fiction that deserve five stars more than the Sherlock Holmes canon. The stories are pretty much peerless, their longevity a testament to Conan Doyle's storytelling power.

So starting from that five-star premise, I have docked two stars from this collection for two reasons:

- inevitably the Kindle formatting loses the graphics. A few of the Holmes stories include illustrations that are key to the story. For example, in paper editions "The Adventure of the Dancing Men", the cryptanalysis classic, includes several pictures of the encoded messages that Holmes puzzles over. In the Kindle edition (on both my Kindle device and in the PC Kindle app), the pictures are replaced with the word "GRAPHIC". In "The Naval Treaty", Holmes is handed a hand-drawn map, which is illustrated in paper editions to give readers the chance to follow Holmes' deductions. In this Kindle edition, it is completely omitted.

- as others have pointed out, the text in this edition is not the original. Even the cheapest paper editions do Conan Doyle the credit of leaving his master work as he intended. Clearly that is not good enough for the editors of this edition, who have seen fit to mess around with the spellings and vocabulary. A cheque becomes a check, brandy becomes whiskey, and so on. Furthermore there are various errors, presumably as a result of scanning the text. For example, £10 reward becomes a L10 reward, May 23rd becomes May 23d. The text formatting is generally quite good, but italics are completely lost.

Holmes deserves better.
11 Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
As the other comments indicated this version was going to be full of Americanisms I decided not to order the Kindle book, despite the fact it is currently Free (Feb 2013). Why can't it say it is an American Version in the details.

Thank you to the people who have alerted me to this, so I didn't waste my time downloading it.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
As a long time Holmes fan i enjoy most of the new dramatized versions but reading this made me cringe. Even Johnny Lee Millers English Holmes in New York is more bearable.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Having read a number of reviews for the differing versions of The Complete Sherlock Holmes, all of which highlight problems with the text in some form or other, I eventually tracked down a mobi file for free at https://sherlock-holm.es/ which was quick and easy to upload to my kindle and has all the graphic elements, such as the dancing men figures and the map in the Naval Treaty story, included, plus, on a cursory examination, none of the obvious misprints such as 'The Copper Breeches'. Given that there are faithful reproductions of the Holmes stories out there, it's disappointing that at least one isn't available directly through the Kindle store.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
First of all, the stories themselves are classic, and utterly marvellous.

The two-star rating is for the formatting of this Kindle edition, which is rather poor. In particular, the font changes from the decent serif font which is used for the first story, to something without serifs for the second story onward. Fonts with serifs are much easier on the eye, when reading large blocks of text (which is why newspapers and almost all professionally-formatted books use them), and I found the change unnecessary and annoying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)