Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 February 2016
This I believe was the first book in this mega series of Templar books by Michael Jecks, who is a prolific writer of Medieval mysteries. It is another fantastic book about Baldwin and Simon, Baldwin just back from France, having been a Templar, is ready to start a new life in Devon. I think Devon is a lovely part of the world, and it's great to be able to figure out where this is set. Get this series if you like this kind of book, you will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2014
I enjoyed the historical detail in this novel. The descriptions of living conditions in the thirteen hundreds was excellent and the last chapter explained the demise of the Templars very well.
The story is really a who done it murder mystery based in the times of the Knight's of the Templar. Sometimes the musings of the main character, the bailiff, was a little tiring which is why I have not given it the full five stars.
Recommended for lovers of historical friction (thirteen hundreds) and murder mystery fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2013
This story takes you back to the Knights Templar days when the remnants of them returned to England. Told through the eyes of Simon who had just been promoted to bailiff. This story draws you in wanting to know who murdered who and why.
It tells the story in a knowledgeable historic way. It would suit 10-100 year olds and with enough 'gore' to attract the youngsters and hopefully get them interested in history.
A thoroughly excellent read I did not want to turn off my kindle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
I loved the book but the quality of this second hand edition was very poor.
It's an ex library book which I do not believe was made plain in the sales offer.
It had a large envelope attached to the inside cover and adhesive stickers elsewhere.
Unfortunately, part way into the book, an opaque repair had been made obliterating some of
the text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
Having just been to Assisi and seen the Templar chapel I really enjoyed this book
The author really made you feel as if you were with the knights and how they would feel after the battles were over. Coming home to what? It was also a whodunit and kept me enthralled to the end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2014
I bought this for the Kindle when it was on offer, not really expecting much. I was, however, pleasantly surprised, it starts off a tad slowly but soon gains pace and has a few twists and turns along the way. A thoroughly enjoyable read for anyone who wants a bit of history in their fiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
God quality and speedy delivery. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
This book had a great prologue which caught my imagination
and great characters and a real sense of place and time, I felt it got a bit stuck in the mud in the middle and I had to persevere to get to the end, however it was well worth the effort and I will read more by this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2014
This is a great story which is well written. It is a story that makes it difficult to put the book (Kindle) down. Although i knew how the Templars were unjustly destroyed but not in any detail of what they suffered. I look forward to reading the next in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2013
A very well written historical detective story which to a non-historian seems well researched and very credible. The tale advances steadily and the solutions at the end are interesting and not entirely expected. A most enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse