Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
27
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
Completely hooked on he Knights Templar series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Love these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
This is a triumph from the author - a convincing snapshot of everyday life in the early fourteenth century, covering not just the mercenaries, but local tradespeople as well, developments in the lives of our two main characters and a cracking multi-layered mystery. With this book, Michael Jecks has moved from my "will read again soon" list to my "must read again as soon as possible list". And I've got twenty seven books to go!

Full spoiler-free review at classicmystery.wordpress.com
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the fourth book in Michael Jeck's entertaining Knights Templar Mysteries. The main characters Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, Keeper of the King's Peace and his friend the Bailiff Simon Puttock are starting to feel like old friends to the reader. Combine this with the beautiful background of west country Devon and it would seem that Mr. Jeck's has hit on a winning formula.

Medieval novels are becoming increasingly popular with the reading public and there are a number of well written books by authors such as Paul Doherty, Bernard Knight, Susanna Gregory, to name but a few. Michael Jecks has a way to go in numbers of books written before he catches up with these stalwarts, but his content is good and his writing style makes for easy reading.

14th century Devon and a gang of mercenaries are becoming a nuisance to the local villages. Mercenaries are a common enough site in these troublesome times but this group are particularly troublesome, showing no respect for anyone and seducing what local girls they can get hold of. Then one of the young girls is found murdered and hidden in a chest. Is the killer one of the mercenaries, or is it one of the locals? Sir Baldwin needs to find out as quickly as possible before another murder is committed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2013
I am really enjoying the Michael Jecks medieval mysteries. They have great story lines and very likeable characters. This story is a step up from the previous three.
The quality of writing has improved, the story line is very involved and superbly researched and told.
In this instance, our heroes Bailiff Simon Puttock and keeper of the King's peace, Sir Baldwin Furnshill find themselves at the Bishop's dinner in Crediton. Simon and his wife are incredibly depressed over the death of their son. Baldwin doesn't know what to do, but when murder and mayhem break out, Simon gets involved an Baldwin sees a glimmer of hope for his old friend. Great story telling.
The Crediton Killings (A Medieval West Country Mystery)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I read the early books in the series some years ago and am thoroughly enjoying a reading again as Kindle editions. Great story lines and great characters. They bring to life the times of Sir Baldwin and Simon Puttock.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2013
I am really enjoying the Michael Jecks medieval mysteries. They have great story lines and very likeable characters. This story is a step up from the previous three.
The quality of writing has improved, the story line is very involved and superbly researched and told.
In this instance, our heroes Bailiff Simon Puttock and keeper of the King's peace, Sir Baldwin Furnshill find themselves at the Bishop's dinner in Crediton. Simon and his wife are incredibly depressed over the death of their son. Baldwin doesn't know what to do, but when murder and mayhem break out, Simon gets involved an Baldwin sees a glimmer of hope for his old friend. Great story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Yet again, a brilliant read. I even find myself Googlemapping Dartmoor and the surrounding area when I'm reading! Cannot recommend highly enough. Characters developing more and more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here