Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 December 2012
Howard Shore has again composed a piece of epic music fitting for an epic film. It's still deeply rooted in Middle Earth and contains many of the much loved themes from Lord of the Rings but with a uniqueness needed for this film. The new Hobbit theme is much like the Lord of the Rings main theme and crops up in suitable moments which tie in really well with the film. My personal favourites include the deep, mellow tones of Richard Armitage in Misty Mountains; The White Council which evokes the mysterious land of Rivendell and Lorien that we loved in Lord of the Rings, and interestingly includes passages from Gandalf's Lament, and an almost Gondorian theme; An Ancient Enemy manages to introduce the choirs and high strings associated with Mordor; Riddles in the Dark again introduces familiar themes from Lord of the Rings, most memorably those from Shelob The Great and some more familiar LOTR themes.

Overall, a very good effort which suits this film perfectly. Yes, it has been heavily influenced by LOTR but it's good that there's the sense of continuity in the music that lacks from so many blockbuster series (Harry Potter's move away from the iconic music of John Williams is a prime example). It's sure to please hardcore fans of Tolkien and of Peter Jackson's masterpieces, and let's hope that this standard of music is continued through the next two films, but I would like to see Shore develop further the new Hobbit themes, rather than rely heavily on LOTR music that doesn't always fit the situation in the film (Thorin's apology to Bilbo anyone? It's taken directly from The Fellowship Reunited from ROTK).
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2016
the best edition...water tower only...no with decca partner cd....the case is very enjoyable and practical...on the other hand decca cd case is the worst i have ever seen....if you want to listen the cd hahahaha you should be extremely careful avoiding scratching it...very bad cd case especially for a deluxe edition...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
Really love this soundtrack to this movie better than the second two, although the others are still good. I also liked the design, which is in a sort of book format, rather than the usual plastic case. It has the two disk pockets on either side of the cover, with the part of the map of middle earth showing from the Shire to the Lonely mountain. In the middle, the booklet is attached into the case, with shots from the movie, lyrics to the songs with singing and a description of the story with the type of music they used for each major scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
I own all of the Lord of the Rings soundtracks, and have listened to, and enjoyed them, often. I am pleased to say that Howard Shore's latest addition to his middle-earth cycle is much better than expected. While retaining motifs and gentle nods to the original scores, this latest offering provides plenty of new material, motifs and melodies and, when listened to in one sitting, is by turns relaxing, dramatic, suspenseful and, at times, exuberant. I was worried that it would pale in comparison to it's predecessors, but as i write this i am listening through both discs again.

If you are fond of the original scores to Peter Jackson's films, or indeed to well-crafted, polished and memorable orchestral music, then treat yourself to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey soundtrack.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2013
Delivery: Arrived promptly, undamaged

Packaging: I tend to immediately copy music onto my iPod, and then handle CDs very little, so the somewhat flimsy cardboard from which the case is constructed that some have criticised wasn't an issue. Looks quite nice, and the enclosed leaflet is reasonably informative.

Product: As others have observed, this album is much less thematic than the LOTR soundtracks, but that's not unexpected, because the film focuses on the dwarves and so there is less need for a diversity of musical signatures. That said, a few of the themes from the LOTR soundtracks do make appearances; some fleeting (e.g. the Ring theme), others more pronounced, and developed beyond their earlier use (e.g. the Shire theme). The main signature, "Misty Mountains", is the only prominent new theme, and although it only features on a few tracks, is an evocative and memorable a piece of music.

Verdict: If you like Howard Shore's work, this is worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2013
Obviously the motive for buying this soundtrack is because you enjoyed the film and this music does evoke the enjoyment of the film wonderfully. Good value for money in the length of playtime and the quality of sound is very good. Essentially the music is more of the same from Lord of the Rings but if you're a fan then this is no bad thing and you can immerse yourself in Middle Earth all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
Went to see 'The Hobbit etc.,' last night, and have to admit I was probably looking forward to listening to the music just as much as watching the film, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. We still play the music from the LOTR trilogy regularly (one of my hubbie's fave CD's and series of films), and the music from 'The Hobbit' was just as melodic and beautiful. Magical!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2018
Horrible music extended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
I loved the Lord of the Rings when it came out, especially the soundtrack. Howard Shore is a genius, and his music for the trilogy was so emotive.

The composer has done it again for the Hobbit - the soundtrack is amazing. Parts are familiar from LOTR, such as the Rivendell theme, and the Shire theme. Other parts, such as the main theme (the tune from the 'Misty Mountains' song) are new and equally exciting.

This CD is, at time of writing this, £4.99 more expensive than the Hobbit soundtrack without the 4 bonus tracks. Personally, I think that the bonus tracks are great but I'm not sure they're worth £5 more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
some stuff was as you expected others were annoying as the parts of songs you know from the film are tiny segments in the pieces played.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse