Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 29 October 2014
It's not often that a simple card game gets replayed in my gaming group so often, but Love Letter is certainly one that has joined that select class of filler games.

The objective of the game is simple, you want to either eliminate your opponents by playing action cards or retain the card with the highest number at the end of the game.

Mechanically it is a simple 16 card game involving playing the best cards you can on your turn and deducing what each opponent has in his hand by observing the cards that have been played. Most games will take 3-5 minutes with an additional minute if you have to explain the rules and what the cards do.

Because of its small size it fits perfectly as a game that you can either carry it around with you and pop it out for a quick game with your friends or as a filler game in between other larger and longer games. I would also recommend it as a good starter game if you're looking to introduce casual/non gamers due to its fun value and simplicity.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 23 October 2017
Have had this on my wishlist for a while, so splurged £8 to give it a try before a night of board games.

It’s a simple game which is easy to explain, quick to grasp, and fun to play. Full games can take between 20-30 minutes if you have 4 players, and about half that if you’re playing with just 2 players. It’s fun with less than 4 players, but still works (and is enjoyable) with 2 players.

The premise of the game is to eliminate your friends or have the highest value card at the end of the round. If you win a round, you gain a token of affection. Get enough tokens and you win the game.

It’s a great warmup game if you’re playing longer, more complicated board games later in the night. It’s also great just by itself if you don’t want to dive into something long-winded. It’s portable to boot – just a small bag which has everything you need to play.

100% recommend. It’s simple but was great fun. No doubt it’ll form a permanent addition to our warmup game collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2015
This game is fantastic. Its really easy to teach to people, I taught my mum, both grandparents and several other family members over the Christmas break and they all love it. Great for breaking down age barriers, everyone can play together without struggling or getting bored. It's especially fun to play with strategically minded freinds. I imagine it would make a great gift for someone who is hard to buy for. It could technically be played with a set of standard cards if you memorise the rules but the back story is amusing and the little cards have great illustrations, also the instructions on each card and the players cards means its easy to teach to a group or children. Most of my family are planning on getting their own set. My roomates also love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2016
If you like games like One Night Ultimate Werewolf and Coup then this is for you. It is a very simple game to learn but allows for deception and deduction at quite a complex level once you get into it. The game packs small as it only comprises of some cards, some tokens and a small rule book. But it will easily keep you playing for a couple of hours once you get into it. It's ideal for an after dinner game with a few drinks as the rules only take a few minutes to explain and there aren't loads of pieces to get in the way of your wine glass. We played with 4 people and that was perfect, I've tried with 2 players and it is much less satisfying. I would definitely invest in some card sleeves because if the cards become marked it will ruin the secrecy of the game. The ones they sell on Amazon are ideal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2015
Really nice micro-game - 15-20 minute play time.

Again, suitable for kids, as the themes of the game are about getting a letter to the princess. There isn't any monsters or fighting to contend with.

One of the best games I've come across for teaching inductive reasoning, and serves as a good introduction to the concepts of hidden information. Because each player only has a hand of 1 card, it's possible to deduce information about what that card is by what plays they make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
Apart from the artwork, I think this is a brilliant game. I played it with my little sister (5), at least once a week (at her request), since I got it (about 2 years ago). It's certainly not the best of games, but it is a good simple game. I recommend it when you want to play a game with a little one, but don't want to be bored out of your mind. Minor qualm: I think the artwork really objectifies women, so when I play this game, I tend to play with alternative cards. Recommendation: Get one of the other love letters, like batman, or legend of the five rings...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2016
Excellent game. Bought this for my brother, who runs a Strategy Games club. We played it as a family, and it's great fun. Very interesting. We do play a lot of board and card games, and this was a good quick game that we played whilst waiting for a takeaway to arrive. It's incredibly simple and a bit of a laugh. With only 16 cards, you'd think it would be easy to win, but it's actually quite tricky if you're playing with the right people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2016
Great little game, and very easy to learn. Fun to play as a warm up game to get you in the mood for playing more intense games.

Has great replay-ability, but I don't think you could play this a lot in one sitting. The games are quite quick, and there is a lot of luck involved, but also a bit of intuition.

I think this can be played by all ages as it's a pretty simple and fun game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
This is a brilliant game! I've noticed a few people asking if it's suitable for younger children eg 5yrs. My 6 and a half year old ( pretty average ability I'd say) may not have been ready at 5 but now it's by far and away her favourite game and she can't play it enough. It's easy to pick up after a few plays and I don't think reading ability is a problem as the picture characters are easy to recognise. It's quick to play and has enough subtlety and depth to keep adult players from being bored. It's great that it can be played by 2 players alone or up to 4. A compact portable gem
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2017
Love letter is a small "filler" game that only takes a few minutes to play.

It's about figuring out what cards other people have and trying to play yours either to knock everyone else out, or have the highest card at the end of the round.

Pretty much anyone can play this and it's good to play in between larger games, or to introduce family members to games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

Codenames Card Game
£12.71
Love Letter Boxed Edition
£7.99
Coup Card Game
£12.73

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)