Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
77
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2013
The Bay is one of those horror films that just needs to be seen by every horror fan! Mixing Shivers with 28 Days Later and Jaws, The Bay is a fantastically realistic and powerful movie that's very heavy on it's eco message. This film stands heads and shoulders above other horror films, which comes as no surprise when you realise that the director behind Rain Man and Good Morning Vietnam is responsible for the film. Whilst the found footage genre has become tiring and saturated now, The Bay offers something completely different - giving the genre a much needed fresh boost.

Full of gross-out moments that are bound to get your skin crawling, this is a horror film for those who not only like a film with a message, but also for people who enjoy a fun, gruesome and disturbing roller-coaster ride of a movie!

Highly recommended - go and check it out!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
The Bay is a gem of a horror thriller, i'm shocked at so many average ratings on amazon imdb etc.With taut direction great performances and an intelligent script this movie breathes new life in the found footage scenario.A potent mix of the Andromeda Strain,Jaws,The Craizies and Shivers The Bay is still stunningly original and brilliantly executed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Occasionally i'll rent or buy a film, despite negative reviews, on the hope it will be better but invariably being disappointed. The Bay is one of those rarities where I was expecting a train wreck but actually turned-out to be pretty decent. I wouldn't go as far as to say 'great' but it's a worthwhile Saturday night flick.

The idea behind the film was solid, and evidently had some thought gone into it. The central premise being Chesapeake Bay's main contributor to the local economy (intensive chicken farming) has wrought serious havoc on the marine eco-system. This in turn has let loose a mega-parasite which has made it's way into the human food chain. This puts a real dampener on their July 4th celebrations - apparently it's hard to enjoy yourself when you're being eaten inside out by wee beasties.

The premise is that media intern, Stephanie, happens to be covering the celebrations, which accounts for her footage as she documents the town's swift descent into chaos and general blood-letting. In tandem with her quasi narration, we also have the found footage of two (since deceased) marine biologists whose research helps to bring the viewer up to speed insomuch how the parasites came to be.

The effects themselves are pretty decent, with a fair bit of CGI thrown in. So where it's short of blood and guts it compensates with a creeping dread, the inexorable fear that nothing will stop the parasite.

Where The Bay didn't work so well was the media student, who I found rather grating at times which made it hard to identify with her as the lead character. Also I found it 'convenient' how the chaos occured too abruptly; I though it would have worked better if tracked over a longer timescale than just 24 hours.

Otherwise, it was a watchable and sobering lesson in how mother nature has a habit of retaliating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Originally intended to be a documentary about the pollution and contamination of the Chesapeake Bay, this movie was adapted to a horror after another documentary covered the subject at a similar time. Whilst obviously the situation involving the isopods is exaggerated, the level of pollution and contamination of the bay is not. Unfortunately people don't care so it's unlikely to change any time soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
The Bay [Blu-ray]

Message movies are tricky things. A movie is meant to entertain so striking a balance can be tough. Get it wrong and you risk overloading the narrative with preaching or making a joke of the thing you're trying to raise awareness of.

If, as we see in The Bay, you can get it right, the results can be memorable. The Bay uses a found footage documentary style to record an outbreak of flesh eating parasites as they gorge themselves on the population of a small American town on the 4th of July.

Using police footage, CCTV, SMS messages, Skype calls and panicked phone calls, director Barry Levinson weaves a truly terrifying scenario in which all authority breaks down, simultaneously critiquing mans abuse of the natural environment and governmental callousness in response to natural disasters like Hurricane Katrina.

Thought provoking without preaching, awareness raising without lecture and packed with enough gore and sickness to satisfy demanding splatter fans even if they couldn't care less about polluted waters and impending environmental calamity.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 November 2014
As someone who has always struggled to get much from “found footage” movies, I entered Barry Levinson’s The Bay with some trepidation. Levinson’s standing as a director prompted me to take a look. And I’m glad I did.

Chesapeake Bay was home to a toxic led catastrophe that created horrors unbound – but the government covered it up…

Levinson brings considerable class to the camcorder horror phase by having his film unfold in multi stranded documentary style. Using many of the electrical appliances that people use in everyday life, Levinson and co-writer Michael Wallach piece together a horrifying tale of parasite infestation and society meltdown, all in one day! The editing (Aaron Yanes) ensures the number of stories that are running concurrent never disrupt momentum of pic, the parasite scares and illness scenes are superbly constructed, while dashes of humour sit alongside the very plausible and reality warnings of such an occurrence. 8/10
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
From a technical point of view, this is one of the better "found footage" films to date. It uses various cameras from various locations and quality. Donna "my pants are too tight" Thompson (Kether Donohue) is reporting, and not too well, on the July 4th activities in the bay town of Claridge, Md. Everything is fun and games until people start to blister and die.

The film is told as a bad documentary by design. It managed to hold my interest for 45 minutes at which point I started to get bored, even with the material they weren't repeating. The film utilizes real facts about Chesapeake Bay and isopods as well as actual footage of the creatures which you think are fake.

The idea was to draw attention to the problem of the bay because no one watched the Frontline documentary on poisoned waters and even fewer people cared (from director's interview). The problem is that the terror created by isopods didn't come across as terrifying as I found my self concentrating Donohue's tight pants trying to will a button to pop.

I enjoyed the realism more in this film than the "Paranormal" series. I also liked the idea of bringing a message to the film. Now if we could take the next step and make it entertaining. This could be done with a witty soundtrack and/or clever dialouge. Maybe having Trey Parker/Matt Stone smoking a joint saying, "Dudes they're isopods, not Crab People."

Parental Guide: F-word (spoken and text). No sex or nudity. Tight pants that the button never pops.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hollywood is churning out `found footage' films as if they were the only genre left available to film-makers. Yes, as the Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity proved, they are cheap to make and therefore they can offer a huge return on your investment if you get it right.

You can't look through the horror shelves in a DVD store without seeing many taglines such as `they were never seen again, this is the last footage ever recorded.' Although The Bay clearly falls into the same `found footage' genre, it does try to do its best to be different.

Instead of a nauseating cameraman/woman constantly shaking the camera and running through woods while screaming, The Bay consists of someone trying to compile an online documentary about an incident where numerous people lost their lives in suspicious circumstances. As least, by doing this, you will never yell at the screen "Just turn the camera off and run!" or "Why are you still filming this?" Here, the `found footage' consists of CCTV footage from police cars, home movies, Skype conversations etc.

The main problem I had with this film is that, although it does succeed in presenting itself in a different way, there was just no real characterisation. We're treated to one interview-type scene after a next. Unlike other `found footage' films, there's not just three characters we can get to know (as they scream and run away from things we can't see). I never thought I'd miss them, but I did. Instead, there's just too many to care about. We only ever see characters either dying, or talking into camera as part of an interview.

Yes, there are some nicely done gory moments, but they really aren't worth watching the whole film (and I use that term lightly - it's more like a documentary) for. If you really want to sit through another `found footage' film, then you might get something out of this. However, just because it's well-presented and acted, doesn't actually make it enjoyable. I found it pretty boring as there was little story to follow, only a kind of blatantly ecological message that wouldn't be out of place in Avatar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I feel the same as the last reviewer. I'm not a big fan of "found footage" films but the clips have been pasted together brilliantly so it's a smooth watch. Not particularly scary but good for an epidemic film and worth a watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
The Bay was one of those bits of cinema that I was never really fussed about. Set in the 'ever popular' style of 'found footage', but with something a little bit new to bring to the table. The scope seems much larger than most found footage films (with the obvious exception of Cloverfield), and the characters seem to have more depth. There is defiantly an element stolen (or respectful borrowed) from The Tunnel (which, by the way, is probably the best found footage horror film around!), in that the film is portrayed as a documentary, with survivors etc, talking though the events, interspersed with 'news clips' etc. Much research went into this film and you can tell. It is a very believable concept and it is well executed. Worth a watch, but I would recommend Blu-Ray rather than standard DVD as the resolution is important to really 'see everything' and not miss too much in all of the chaos that ensues!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.