Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
Peace In Love.

Truly amazing. The song writing skills of the 4 members is a gift. With catchy songs and amazing lyrics it's hard not to sing along. It defiantly worth buying the deluxe over the standard for the 4 extra songs which are simply amazing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 November 2013
It's been a great year for music, and 'In Love', the debut album from Peace, a quartet indie band from Worccester, has been one of my favourite releases.

Granted, it is hardly original, but who really cares? - this is just good music. The four members of the band have put together an album with a diverse collection of songs, all with a different style. The overall feel is that of the '90s, but the well written tracks sound fresh and modern, and will appeal to the young generation.

The obvious radio hit 'Lovesick' is one of those songs that will instantly make you happy, 'Follow Baby' is addictive, but 'California Daze' is a genuine standout, a very pretty song that is complemented by some nice guitar work and backing vocals. Another favourite of mine is the melodic 'Float Forever'.

If you haven't already heard 'In Love' yet, buy it, because it is a faultless debut. I look forward to hearing more from this promising new band in 2014.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I bought this CD a while back after reading about it in the NME, and I can honestly say that it's one of the best albums I've ever listened to. It's worth buying the deluxe edition - the four bonus tracks are great.

You can pick out influences from lots of bands - Oasis, The Stone Roses and Nirvana are probably the main ones, but Peace still manage to sound really fresh, and are a good alternative to modern bands such as Palma Violets and The Vaccines.

The best songs are probably Wraith, Drain, Delicious and Bloodshake, but all 14 songs are amongst the best from the last couple of years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Peace have been gathering a following with every song released. The early releases of Follow Baby and Bloodshake were promising, while jaws hit the floor with 2012's 'EP Delicious' - every song was fantastic, showing different sides of Peace, from the sun-kissed harmonies of 'California Daze', to the effortless groove of '1998 (Delicious)'.

Hype justified. It's a remarkably assured album, for a debut, with only one real misstep (the missable 'Toxic'). 'California Daze' and 'Follow Baby' reappear (the latter with a new coat of paint), while 'Higher Than The Sun' and 'Lovesick' are enjoyable romps through familiar lyrical material. In Love's high mark (there aren't many wasted notes here - the album clocks in at less than 36 minutes) is undoubtedly the one-two-three punch of 'Wraith' (the return of groovy, dance music-influenced Peace), 'Delicious' (grooving bass with driving drums and chiming guitars) and 'Waste of Paint' (beautifully languid guitar lines in the verse meet urgent riffing at the stunning chorus).

Overall, the sound is gorgeous. It's not hyperbole to compare them to the Stone Roses. It's not a match for the Roses' stunning debut, of course, but the sound is here - the bass and drums groove so naturally, while guitarist Douglas Castle effortlessly riffs, licks, and shreds with only the sky to limit his talent - to which can be added Harry Koisser's quality vocals, mature and leathery (in a good way). Excellent - a great start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I think In Love is a great debut album from Peace and I'm glad they were able to built positively on their demo tracks but their singles appear to be the best of the album in my opinion. Overall, would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
High expectations for this album following their stunning EP and single and it delivers.

The boys from Birmingham and Kiddy deliver in bucket loads.

Each track is a winner and though you can hear their influences they definitely have captured their own sound.

Buy and enjoy and see why this band is at the forefront of the sounds coming out of Birmingham.

Dont miss out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
After hearing 1998, Wraith & Bloodshake I was very much looking forward to hearing the album but when I did I was very disappointed. The other tracks don't match the quality of the singles sounding more like a hurriedly finished, poorly written collection of b-sides from the early Brit-pop era. The album would have possibly worked if 1988 had been included and a couple of the weakest tracks been rewritten or replaced with stronger ones.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
got this album after hearin follow baby and readin glowing nme review and countless other good reviews . in all honesty i wasnt keen on the verses when i first heard follow baby and im still not won over but i gota say the chorus and ending are amazing and easily the best thing ive heard in ages .. as for the rest of the album none of the tracks stand out for me and they sound like their not sure what direction to go in at times they sound like the libertines or early artic monkeys and next min foals then the roses . a couple of the tracks sound exactly like foals but without the depth and confidence that foals have .. pretty disapointed in the album as a whole the lyrics dont sound particulary meaningfull and the singers voice gets a bit irritating after a few listens.. i think the fact that people are gettin so excited over this band shows just how desperate weve all become to find a new band of kids to believe in like in the days of oasis and the roses and further back the smiths.. Even in the days of britpop i dont think peace would of stood out much and today i think compared to bands like born blonde/ exit calm/ foals they still dont stand out
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
I love the album, my only problem is I don't physically own the album on vinyl because amazon still haven't sent it to me, I ordered it over two months ago with a birthday gift card, you let me amazon and you let yourself down, turn that yellow smile upside down.

the five stars are for the artist and the album because it's not their fault....

...and as for amazon, your stars are just like my vinyl... non-existent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Absolutely brillaint album, i can't say i dislike any of the tracks on it. They are the next upcoming indie rock band and judging from when i saw them live are going to be very succesful. Not only is Harrisons voice superb on the album it sounds exact the same or maybe better in real live. Genuine and down to earth boys as well - as i met them and feel that they will be very succesful in the future with this wonderful album that they have produced.

Also a round of applause for writting every song, this seems to be getting rare with bands today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)