Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2016
I found this to be a useful introduction to Philosophy. There are a number of publications which seek to do the same sort of thing the structure and content matter make this a good way to engage with the concepts and ideas at a basic level and in more detailed study if required.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2012
This book provides an outline of the whole subject of philosophy in the Anglo-American analytical tradition - from ethics to quantum mechanics via truth, perception, logic, the self, death and the Devil.

It was developed from a series of lectures delivered at London and Boston Universities. Reading it makes one feel like a student at a top university where, for whatever reason, Philosophy 101 is taught in person by the head of department, who just happens to be on first-name terms with philosophers like Tom Nagel.

At the end of the book there is a Study Guide to direct the student to further reading.

I do not know why this book is so hard to find on Amazon. I got my public library to purchase the copy I have just read - their previous copy of the work having been borrowed permanently by a reader.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2004
Readers have to distinguish Scruton's Tory views from the philosophy at times; however the book is invaluable for those wishing to get a perspective on the whole contemporary range of academic philosophy in one rather large but very digestible serving. He not only explains the most important themes in present-day Anglo-American philosophy but continually steps back to situate each part within the context of the whole.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
For many years the layman's guide to philosophy was Bertran Russell's History of Western Philosophy but that role has now been taken over by Roger Scruton's excellent work Modern Philosophy. It is recommended as essential reading, and rereading, for anyone seriously interested in acquiring a good basic understanding of how philosophy has evolved through the ages and how it stands today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2004
This book is the ideal preparation for reading the great philosophers. Defining philosophy as abstract and ultimate with an interest in truth, Scruton presents difficult topics with extraordinary clarity. He lives up to his aim of expressing the problems of the head in the language of the heart: reading this I felt that it spoke directly to my heart, something that I have never experienced with any other book. The fact that he is a fox-hunting Tory doesn't put me off at all. I found some of the examples rather charming: Scruton asks us to consider the proposition 'I am in pain'. This is one of my favorite books, second only to 'Care of the Soul' by Thomas Moore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Scruton offers a quick yet effective analysis of modern philosophy in this book.
Ideas and philosophers are presented effectively and in a very interesting way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
An excellent book. Promptly delivered at a good price. I strongly recommend this book if you want a reasonable level of understanding of philosophical thought since Descartes. It includes references to other works for continued study.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This collection of essays reflects Popper's interests in the pre-Soceatic philosophers as well as in the theory of knowledge. The ten essays range from Parmenides to 'The unkown Xenophanes to 'Plato and Geometry'. All are interesting, put the would-be purchaser would be well advised to avoid the Kindle edition. This is because it faiks to include Popper's own Table of Contents so that chasers after a particular essay will have great difficulty in finding it. A table of contents is an integral part of any book, and should never be omitted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)