Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Original Album Series
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 July 2017
arrived on time, some good music some a bit indifferent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
If you like Lou Reed and do not have these albums (or, like me, only one or two), or if you want to get an intro into Lou's music, then GET THIS SET. I have had a copy of "New York" which, for a number of years, has rarely been far from my turntable. The other albums are up there with "New York", especially "Ecstacy". The whole set is worth it for the 17 minute track "Like a Possum" alone - if I want to get off my head on music then I just put this track on REALY LOUD.......
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
A great collection of five albums from 1989 to 2000. All are in replica vinyl sleeves.
I'm already two albums in and can't wait to get into the other three. I have 'New York' and 'Songs for Drella' on constant repeat. Next up 'Magic and Loss.'
The majority of these albums I'm coming to for the first time and it's like discovering a hidden gem.
I highly recommend this set.
A must for any Lou Reed fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This set Box is fantastic value for all Lou Reed Fans.There,s some Great Tracks on these Five Albums although some Tracks are a little Morose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Fantastic collection of Lou Reed's albums when he'd returned to his peak. You can't get a better bargain than this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Massively good value - don't forget the other Reed Original Album Series packs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Lou Reed fans must buy this. A treasure trove of different albums. Wonderful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Cracking box set glad I bought it. Especially like songs for Drella
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 October 2014
One of the best ways of collecting a chunk of any given artist's recorded works under a cardboard slipcase, the Warners 'Original Album Series' is frequently a happy marriage of great music and affordability. At least four of the albums here (the exception being 'Set The Twilight Reeling') are amongst Lou Reed's finest ever recordings. At the time, 'New York' (released early 1988) was regarded as his best solo album - it's certainly one of the most consistently-rewarding listens, and to me much better than the often throwaway 'Transformer'. Songs like 'Halloween Parade' - which eulogises victims of AIDS is one of his most eloquent and touchingly personal songs, whilst other ruminations like 'Beginning of a Great Adventure' are thoughtful and even humorous. 'Songs For Drella', which reunited him with John Cale concerns Andy Warhol, and brings out the best in both artists. 'Magic And Loss' is a conceptual affair, around the deaths of two individuals to whom he was close to - the songwriter Doc Pomus, and a Factory scenemaker, It also contains some lovely songs; 'Set The Twilight' is a lesser work, whilst 'Ecstacy' features some savage stuff, which showed that Reed, though middle-aged by then, had lost none of his cutting edge. My only complaint is the loss of sleeve art and lyric sheets that reducing the albums to a simple cardboard miniaturised reproduction brings. I suppose, though, it's the music that counts, and this much good stuff, under one roof and at a reasonable price is a difficult proposition to turn down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
This box has some of the best Reed's records
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)