Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
40
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 10 July 2014
A really interesting album and way way better that the first one. The music is well written and you can really see a movement into new areas of writing some great lyrics too. Track three is a corker and addictive, other tracks on the album a little more conventional but you will find something you really enjoy. Influences abound through this album from Radiohead to Cold playish singing quality, I shall put it on now...keep going lads its getting better and better but keep to the weird and steer clear of commercialism...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
A few good songs: in particular, 'The Waves', 'Nothing Arrived' and 'In a Newfound Land You Are Free'.

The most beautiful bit of the album is the first two thirds of the opening song, 'My Lighthouse', which is criminally ruined by a really unpleasant key-change ending.

A quite lyrical album in places but slightly silly and even cheesy in others.

Overall, a bit too nice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This album is a thing of beauty, raw emotion reaching from every song. Conor o'Brien wonderful talent. Strong influences coming through from Devine comedy, radio head and some very original songs too. A five star album, they more thinly spread these days!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Ok. I have waited and waited for the villagers to bring out this album. I pre ordered it as soon as amazon advised it was coming out.
I prefer having hard copy CD's so had to wait a week until it arrived in NZ. Was it worth the wait? Absolutely.
This is a great follow up and easily up there with becoming a jackal. Conor J O'Brien is sheer genius. Tough to pick a favourite track
but hard to get Nothing Arrived out of my head. With this CD something certainly did arrive.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Villagers come of age. A more electronic sound on this album, but the songwriting remains as strong as on 'Jackal'. The production is lush and the it sounds big. Definitely recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Villagers are so underated. If you appreciate interesting music supported by haunting vocals then this album is a must. Haven't stopped playing it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
None of the below reviews are even for AWESOME SCIENCE by Humanfly!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
one of the best albums I have listened in ages, on par with their first album, becoming a jackal. Awayland is 9 out of 10 music..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Fantastic, they've really expanded since Becoming a Jackal, delving into the relms of electronica with a twist of funk and jazz. Only on my first listen but my favourites so far... My Lighthouse, The Waves and Passing a Message. Sublime!!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Purchased this on the strength of "The Bell". A marvellous track constantly played on 6 Music.
However apart from that and " Nothing arrived" "The Waves" and "My Lighthouse" Nothing else really stands out.
I do though look forward to hearing more from them, as I suspect there is better to come. Perhaps it's time for me to buy their
first album which is highly rated..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Crack-Up
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here