Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2017
A great read and superbly written. Dougie captures the essence of extreme football rivalry in an amusing and, one could say, a tragic way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Another screamer from Dougie. I opened this book, well Kindle app, and read it in 3 days. It's a great story, well written, keeps you thinking about what's going to happen next and I loved every second of it. The sad thing is that you can't get a sequel out of this one, though I hope somebody has the sense to sanction it as a TV drama/comedy as it would be fantastic to watch too. For a writer to go from non-fiction, to fiction is always impressive and Dougie's done this with ease. If you haven't read any of his other books, then you should. But this was fantastic. Better than Billy's Log, and that was a belter. Genuinely look forward to his next book, and might I say that at £1.90 it's a deal, it's a steal, it's sale of the bloody century.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
What would you do if you were in charge of your bitterest rivals for a season? Dougie Brimson gives his leading character Rob Cooper the dilemma of becoming chairman of City the team he loathes most in the world. The storyline also touches on family relationships which can as a result of club allegiance lead to difficult situations and consequences.

There are some genuinely laugh out loud moments, where Rob adopts a typical football fans principles with hilarious results.

An enjoyable read which may challenge a typical fans mentality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Any real Football fan will have wished to be put in a situation like the character Rob Cooper but not the soul searching decisions he has to make. It Pulls on your loyalty and conscious at the same time. You never quite know which way Rob or his family react with the situations they are put in. While reading it you cannot but think what you would do in the same situation. A thoroughly funny and enjoyable read all true loyal fans will enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Ok, so it's a scenario a little far fetched, but Brimson manages to mix the over importance football fans place on their teams with family dynamics which leads to a humorous take on football rivalry seen from the other side of the fence. As with the other books Brimson has written, you are never quite sure how it will all end and it doesn't dissapoint. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Bought this on a bit of a whim. Not entirely sure why as I am an extremely relaxed football fan. Provided one can get past the slightly unrealistic premise of the inheritance (which is easy to do) it's a lovely story. It's about love, loyalty and family. I was genuinely disappointed when I finished the book as I could have read more. Buy it and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Wow, having read all of Dougie's books he has surpassed himself this time. I had finished reading this within 12 hours of purchasing, I'm glad I had the day off! Supporting the same club as Dougie I can see exactly were he is going with this. Not only a good read for any football supporter but also for soccer widows!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Thought it would make a change to read a comedy and have enjoyed several of the Brimsons books. Laughed out loud at several pages, however this is a football story so anyone outside the game may not see the funny side. Made a great change for a light read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Far-fetched? Maybe, but a thoroughly enjoyable tale of a situation that combines a fan's worst nightmare and dream scenario. Presented very sympathetically - Rob is a likeable character with an impossible situation to handle...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
This was a really funny story and, as a football fan, I spent most of the book thinking what I would do in the same situation. It was well written and although Rob was a bit of an arse, I found myself liking him. Great book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse