Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 April 2013
Style: Single|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
We live in an age where most new gadgets & mobile phones have all manner of extra features added on which most users don't really need, when what most of us want is for something to do its job & do it well. Thankfully, the BT 1500 bucks this trend.

Amazon's product description for this phone calls it an "entry level" model, which is "Great Value". My inner cynic translates this to mean 'poor quality' but that is not the case at all. The build quality feels sturdy yet deceptively light. The display is nice easy to read & the background isn't too bright. More importantly, the sound quality is much better than on the previous cordless phones I've used. And as strange as it may sound to say this, the handset actually fits securely into the base unit without feeling like it's about to topple over. You'd think this was a given but the previous 2 cordless phones I've had didn't do this. I don't know why something so simple is so hard to get right but nevertheless, BT have done it with the 1500.

It works straight out of the box - the manual says to leave the handset to charge for 24 hours before using it for the first time but the batteries came with enough juice in them to get me started straight away. The menu system is fairly straightforward & I was able to record my own answer machine message, change the ring-tone & add contacts without using the manual. The range is also very good. My old cordless handset would get out of range if I went to the front door or to the electric meter to get a reading but I can reach both with the BT 1500 & still have a decent signal.

It has a caller display feature but this only works with numbers stored in your address book or if you've subscribed to a Caller Display service with your landline network provider. Which I haven't. But it's okay because you can still screen calls by leaving the answer machine on & hearing who the caller is before you pick up.

This is a great all-rounder. The only thing that's missing is a speakerphone, which is something I've found quite handy in the past when being left on hold for a long time by call centres, bless 'em. And the LED's on the front of the base unit are too bright - phones should just sit in the corner of the room until they ring but I find the lights very distracting. But everything else is great!
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2017
Gave away to relative after lots of use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2016
Does exactly what it says on the box!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
Nice looking phone and loved the display panel but flex was much too short for my requirements so had to return it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2015
good but could do with extra space for contacts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2013
Style: Single|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A neat little single handset phone, lightweight and portable with simple, clear instructions.
It has an illuminated display with extra large writing so this would be great for anyone whose sight is not good. It has volume control and the bowl-shaped earpiece concentrates sound, so this is helpful for anyone with slight hearing problems. Having designed the phone with these assets (with the elderly in mind?),it seems very strange that it does not have a speakerphone--to my mind, a BIG drawback.
The phone cable to the base station is also quite short and we had to buy a longer one. In its favour are a 20 minute answerphone (pre-recorded acknowledgement, which you can personalise),a flashing light to let you know you have messages and remote playback of your messages if you are away from home. It has a 50 person phonebook, a redial memory and it lets you know who is trying to contact you when you are using the phone.
The signal range is good and the sound quality is clear.
Good value but a limited customer range. It looks like a "granny phone" but without a speaker will not suit a lot of elderly people.

Brand New. BT 1500 Single Handset DECT Telephone Cordless Answering Machine Ref 66856
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2013
I bought this phone because I suffer from pain and it is perfect saves me having to rush to answer my old wall mounted phone. I can carry this one around the house with me.
Nice and simple menu so easy to use.
Answer machine has on/off option.
It also has caller display so you don't need to answer those withheld unwanted advertisement calls.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2017
Absolute garbage. This was bought for us by a friend a couple of years ago. The first few months one of the mains plugs stopped working. No reason, just died. We ended up using one plug to charge both phones on a rota. Now that plug has gone the same way and died.

Avoid !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
Style: Single|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is is a simple to use cordless phone with answer machine that has all the essential features without the extra faff. The phone has a nice black finish that doesn't feel cheap or plasticky.

The simplicity has a lot to do with the easy to read 1.6 inch amber backlit screen which has large clear text without unnecessary icons and distractions that I have found with other cordless phones. The navigation is simple and there is little that can go wrong when you use it. Sound quality from the phone is decent, and it states that the design of the `ear bowl' has much to do with this. There is a good range even when you're in the garden (300m outdoors and 50m indoors). Due to the simplicity of the settings menu and clearly labelled buttons, you can easily adjust volumes and ringtones easily, which is convenient during a call.

Having the option to listen to your messages from the base station is ideal, and the large clearly marked buttons makes it easy to use even for an amatuer. This is quite a minor thing, but I did like the feel of the buttons as they are soft and rubbery, which means you don't accidently double click numbers etc.

You can save up to 50 contacts which was easy to set up. To keep things simple you just need to add a name and phone number per contact. You can also record up to 20 minutes of messages, which can be access from either the base station or the handset. The display on the phone clearly indicates the number of missed calls and new messages. For convenience you can also redial the last 20 numbers you have called.

The phone does have the capability to display caller ID for incoming calls, but this is an additional service you have to pay for from BT. It will also let you see and hear if there is a second call waiting, again this is usually an additional service you have to pay for. You can also access your messages remotely from another phone when you're away from home, unfortunately I couldn't find any instructions on how to use this.

I do like the unit has been designed with energy efficiency in mind. And if the rechargeable AAA batteries no longer work, you can replace them quite easily. A typical full charge will give you approximately 12 hours of talk time and 120 hours on standby, which I feel is more that enough for a domestic household.

Although I found it simple to set up and get going, I also like the fact the fact that there is a free technical support number you can call if you have issues.

The kit will have everything you need to get started including a telephone cord. I did follow the manual to begin with, but once you familiarise yourself with the system, its fairly easy to navigate to the rest of the settings. The main selling point of this is that it is designed to work straight out of the box with minimal initial configuration. The minimal configuration would be the date and time. So the answering machine will already have pre recorded outgoing message that can be used, or if you want to, record your own personal message instead. The kit is guaranteed for 12 months.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse