Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
64
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
I should, perhaps, start with a confession. As an archaeologist and historian I'm probably not quite the target audience Scott Addington had in mind when he wrote this book. That said, although I'm not exactly a layman, the First World War isn't really my speciality either. I enjoyed this book.

In the introduction ("Ink and Incredibility: Not another history of the First World War!"), Scott urges the reader to think of this book "more like a conversation over a pint" rather than an academic treatise. An antidote to books that 'look too complicated/boring/dull/technical/long/heavy/difficult to understand'. In this, I think he has succeeded. The writing style is informal and fits perfectly with his goal. The chapters are short (typically just a few pages), broadly in chronological order, and use language that is always accessible for the general reader. There were times when I would have liked a little more detail, but then, this is an introductory text.

I particularly liked Scott's choices for his chapter titles. "Bully Beef and Rats: life in the trenches", "Mud", and "Mandatory Suicide: The First Battle of Passchendaele" give the reader a pretty fair idea of what to expect while simultaneously piquing their interest, inviting them to read on and find out more. The References section begins with Google (yes, this is the twenty-first century. Get over it!), and also makes the point that the information Google offers may be good, bad or indifferent (how very true!). Scott goes on to provide links to some excellent websites on the subject, and then to list and describe his sources and some further reading for those who want to take their interest further (I've already ordered a couple of these for myself).

In short, this is an excellent, plain English, introductory text for the First World War. You should read it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Delivers exactly what's on the 'packet' Lots of facts, figures.and detail anyone can absorb. Would recommend to anyone interested in trying to get a perspective into this subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Scott has a modern engaging style which makes this an easy to read and accessible
introduction;the clue is in the title it is a layman's guide and a good one. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book some maps would help to put geographic context.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Ideal tool for revision, a potted history well written.
Sparse but effective guide to the origins and timeline of the GREAT WAR.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Finally a history book that I have managed to read, understand, and actually enjoy! So many history books are tough going, but this one is actually quite an enjoyable read. Goes into just enough detail to get a decent understanding, but doesn't get bogged down in it all which is (in my opinon) a common failing of other history books. This is definitely a great introduction to the subject for someone who is perhaps reading about it for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
It does exactly what it sets out to do well done Scott keep up the good work, would recommend it to anyone ( and do)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I'm grateful to this author. He's made it possible for me to finally get a detailed overview of this topic. I would never had understood WW1 in a complete albeit superficial way if it hadn't been for his desire to make the topic easy and accessible for the layman.

Prior to reading this book I'd seen the different battles and locations in bits and pieces: Verdun, Ypre, the Somme etc. Now I see how they all fit together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This, in my opinion, should be introduced as part of the education curriculum in order to understand and preserve British and commonwealth pride.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
A really easy read with the more important facts, places,,people and regiments listed. Well written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
no nonsense, fact based and to the point, easy to read and understand. My only criticism is that the author does tend to subscribe to the Lions led by donkeys belief...but thats his prerogative...and ok he may have a point! I recommend this as a starting point for your journey into the fascinating horrendous story that is WW1
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)