Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 August 2013
I played the demo of Heavy Rain when it first came out and I was intrigued, I had to get it! This is more of an interactive story than an action game, but the story is like that of a detective thriller movie, in a lot of ways it is like those old choose your own adventure books, with a hint of the good old point and click adventure games, and a few action sequences that play out using quick time events for good measure. It is unlike anything currently on the market although the creators, Quantic Dream, are bringing out another title in the future (Beyond: Two Souls)which is supposedly going to use a similar gameplay style.

In Heavy Rain, you control four different characters all looking for the Origami Killer, who kidnaps young boys who then get killed by drowning. The gameplay is split into chapters and in each chapter you play a different character. Choices you make during the game effect the story and ultimately the ending, there are several different endings you can achieve, but your first play through will be the most exciting as at this point you do not know anything about the story and the characters or who the killer is. However obtaining different endings is still worthwhile, especially if you wait awhile between playthroughs.

Personally I get tired of all the generic shooting games out there, war in the past, war in the present, war in the future, war in space, you get the idea, and welcome something a little different with some decent story telling and I hope to see more of this type of game in the future. If you fancy a change, Heavy Rain is certainly worth a look. However if fast paced action and lots of shooting is more your thing, you might not enjoy it as much as I did.

Oh, and if you already have the normal edition of Heavy Rain, you don't need to buy this to play with the Move, there was a patch released and move works fine with the standard edition, in case anyone was wondering.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Firstly, it's worth noting that although this game is the "Move edition" - it also works with the normal controllers, the same as the original game.

This game is very unique. I've never seen a game that makes so much use of the motion controls of the dual-shock pad, whilst keeping you enthralled and involved in the story. It's a great game, with so many variations in the storyline, based on your decisions throughout the game.

Do note that this isn't a traditional game in the sense of aiming, shooting etc. It's more of a movie that plays out based on quick-fire responses to certain button presses.

It's a bit slow at starting up, but endure and you'll not regret it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Heavy Rain will be a new kind of game experience for many console players. It bills itself as interactive drama and at times you could be forgiven for mistaking it as a TV show for both better and worse.

However , as interesting as the game story is the game is essentially a point and click adventure game interspersed with QTEs. When I mentioned this is like a TV Show - I would add that this is on the level of a TV show like Law and Order Special Victims Unit or NYPD Blue. This is not True Detective or Twin Peaks.

Pros :

- Amazing Graphics
- Interesting Crime / Noir inspired Story
- Great use of Six axis motion controls ( Almost forgot the PS3 controller had this function)

Cons :

- Some of the voice acting is terrible
- You will guess the killer quite early on
- At times I was bored and wishing their was some more engaging gameplay mechanics

I would recommend this game at a budget price - even if you only play through it once as I did it is nice to try something different and experience the full spectrum of games on offer on the PS3.

* I played using the standard Dual Shock Controller - it was fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
I don't normally play action or quick time events (QTEs) game but I bought this game on a whim and it has been an emotional rolleroster. The game succeeded in making me invested in this game and attached to the characters by forcing me to make very hard decisions which involved some graphic scenes. Its atmosphere, graphics and music are high tier for ps3 game and it has mutiple endings depending on your choices. QTE sequences can be frustrating at times though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Had the game for a couple of days now. Took a while to install but the task to complete whilst waiting was fun. Once play began and got used to the controls have been hooked ever since. It is a bit like watching a film. The story changes with the reponse to your actions throughout the game. Not finished it yet but would definately play the story again. Wished I had bought the game when it came out.

Overall good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
The game is awsome it takes full advantage of the ps3's sixaxis controller and you dont need to install the large move update plus u get some extras such as themes and the making of the game plus more
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Heavy rain is a superb game..the story is outstanding and they should make more games like this. Heavy Rain move edition means that the game comes with the quite sizeable... i think about a few gig patch on the disc so people who wish to use the move controls can without the need of downloading that large patch that people who have the non move edition have to download.

In short if you loved Fahrenheit if you can remember that game or the Alan wake game on Xbox 360/PC then you will definitely love Heavy Rain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
There was a slight crack in the game's case when I received it, but that wasn't a problem to me. Also, the game wasn't wrapped with sony's official CD case wrap. The one with the Playstation symbols on the bottom of the case. Indicating that the game was a used one and re-wrapped again, and wasn't new as the game's description indicated when I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
The game itself is amazing, definitely worth buying for ps4 even if you had it on previous gen consoles (like me). The only thing I was disappointed with is the delivery that took much longer then expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Fun game.

Play it with my partner and because you don't need to be a skilled gamer to play- it's really fun for her. Story line is like a movie and the characters are really well portrayed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)