Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
793
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2017
what a great movie 🎥 i bought this because my wife had never seen it see loved it too she even watched it twice which she never dose
great for young and old very 😊
great movie if you haven't watch its a must and if you have seen it you have seen it you have to again 5 stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE 2007 DVD EDITION. NOT ANY OF THE OTHERS. THAT'S THE ONE WITH THE FILM POSTER ART FOR THE BOX COVER. IT HAS TO BE MENTIONED BECAUSE THE AMAZON SYSTEM WILL DOUBTLESS LUMP THEM ALL TOGETHER.

I'd never seen this film before.

If you have already seen it, then you need to know that this edition has no subtitles. The only language option is English. The only extras are the trailer - a non picture restored version, so it looks a bit worn - and text pages giving the film roles of some of the major cast and other movies by the director.

If you've not seen it:

This is a decent adaptation of William Goldman's book of the same name. It's all about a story. And it's telling. A story of the classic kind. With a hero and a damsel in distress. True love. Good sidekicks. Dastardly villains. Monsters. And the occasional bit of kissing.

It's a story read to a sick boy by his grandfather [Peter Falk]. The latter being from a generation before tv and computer games. Unlike his grandson who starts the film by playing a 1980's video game called Hardball. The graphics In this show how long ago the movie was made.

A cantankerous old grandfather was a perfect role for Peter Falk. He swiftly draws his character's grandson and the audience into the tale. The tale of farmhand Westley [Cary Elwes]. And Buttercup [Robin Wright. Later to become Robin Wright Penn and feature in the US version of House of Cards]. Swiftly falling into true love, their idyll is destroyed when he falls foul of a nasty pirate.

Forced to be engaged to a Prince, Buttercup will never love again. But when she is kidnapped as part of a dastardly scheme, a mysterious and dashing swordsman in black comes to the rescue. He has a lot to contend with as a result...

Many of the characters are archetypes - dashing hero, swooning damsel, dastardly villain - and the actors play to that superbly well. This means that it's not an out and out comedy as such, it's one of those character dramas that does also provide occasional laughs out of character interaction.

What it does is hit all the right beats of a great story. This means there will be occasional action. Usually really well arranged swordfighting. Good character drama. And a story that draws you in, leaving you as desperate as one character in particular to find how it will end out.

The actors in the cast do slightly better than the occasional comedians who pop up. Mel Smith is pretty good, but Billy Crystal and Peter Cook are a little too comedic, so their moments don't quite work as well as everything else.

But that's the only minor complaint I could find to make about this. It's a film that sets out to tell a good story and entertain in the process. Like all great stories, it certainly does that. I'm glad to have rectified my error in not getting to it before.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
"Hello, My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father, prepare to die ...."

Based on the book of the same name by William Goldman the Princess Bride at first seems an unlikely candidate for a successful adaptation to film. However, the film itself is slightly mocking of itself with a large dash of hyperbole and satirical "slant" on swashbuckling and fantasy genres, naturally sprinkled with a number of clichés of the genre, making for a very good and entertaining film.

A grandfather (played by Columbo's Peter Falk) tells the story to his somewhat cynical grandson (who is presumably used to books with spaceships and guns in) of how stable boyWestley (Cary Elwes) falls in love with the Buttercup (seriously who thinks of these names?) played by Robin Wright. However, Westley is kidnapped reportedly murdered by a gang of pirates and Buttercup is regrettably bethrothed to an evil Prince called Humperdinck. Buttercup herself is kidnapped by a giant and in pursuit of her there mysterious masked pirate (Westley perhaps?), a master Spanish swordsman and a scheming criminal mastermind. They all pursue Buttercup unto the "Cliffs Of Insanity." Clichés galore!

However, the script is very good, very funny and the clichés make the film with enough twists of fate the odd, almost slapstick, moment. To top it all there are a number of excellent cameos including an appearance from Peter Cook, a man who was surely God's gift to comedy. Fantastic film, get the special edition, the extras are worth the extra money.

Seriously, this is one of the best films EVER, just buy it, if you don't like it then well .... That's kinda weird IMO.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
The book is very funny and if you're a film fan, does add another dimension, but surprisingly the film covers most of the plot. I also think the movie ending is better, if less realistic than this ending... a never ending story. Wasn't a big fan of the add on of 'Buttercup's Baby' which if you read Wikipedia, will probably never happen, aside from the jokes about Stephen King.

There certainly is a little bit more depth and background to the characters and what motivates them, but I wouldn't say lots more. Overall a nice read, but not really a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
This movie has everything, as the preview explains. Basically, when they made it, they couldn't even figure out how to market it since it didn't fit into just any one or two categories. Above all though, this movie is hilarious, but also exciting, and dramatic.... ah, whatever. It's played in the style of a book being read to a sick boy by his grandpa. Here's a couple of quotes:

Grandson: A book?
Grandpa: That's right. When I was your age, television was called books. And this is a special book. It was the book my father used to read to me when I was sick, and I used to read it to your father. And today I'm gonna read it to you.
Grandson: Has it got any sports in it?
Grandpa: Are you kidding? Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...
Grandson: Doesn't sound too bad. I'll try to stay awake.
Grandpa: Oh, well, thank you very much, very nice of you. Your vote of confidence is overwhelming.
-----------
Inigo: True love! You heard him! You could not ask for a more noble cause than that.
Miracle Max: Sonny, true love is the greatest thing in the world. Except for a nice MLT: a mutton, lettuce and tomato sandwich, where the mutton is nice and lean and the tomato is ripe. They're so perky, I love that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
I was introduced to this over ten years ago by a group of highly intelligent post graduates . . . Never heard of it before . . . Loved it. . . . So, recently, introduced to a close friend, who has particular tastes and doesn't put up with any rubbish . . . When I asked what he thought of it, his first response was: 'Quaintly bizarre and therefore extremely funny, for that reason' . . . .followed by 'Highly unusual comedy vehicle' . . . . Enough said. . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Another classic film from my childhood it's one of the best up there with labyrinth,splash,willow and dark crystal love it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
My favourite film of all time: a fairytale adventure fit to be retold to, and watched by, generations. Having seen this first as a child, none of its charms or brilliance are lost on repeat watching as an adult. I can only hope to share it with my kids one day and hope they too pass it on. If you're not already sold by the promise of true love, adventure and pirates, this film also contains the longest and most fabulous fencing scene ever filmed (the actors, Cary Elwes and Mandy Patinkin, perform it - no stuntmen are used for the duel - they trained for months under Bob Anderson!), as well as whimsical humour to make you giggle unashamedly (cameos from epic comedians, Peter Cook, Mel Smith, Billy Crystal and Carol Kane). Did I mention the pirates?! A family film for all time and tastes, and some very quotable lines... As you wish... Anybody want a peanut?... Have fun storming the castle... You won't regret watching this film, but you might regret not watching it sooner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I absolutely love this film.

I only saw it for the first time when my children insisted I watch it as it's so good, and they are right, it's brilliant. It's funny, witty and engaging with some terrific lines that we are always quoting to each other. Each time we watch it there will be days of someone tapping someone else on the shoulder to say 'Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die'.

It's not a big-budget movie and was made in low-tech days. The acting is hammed up but it's meant to be - the film is a parody. It pokes fun at all those swash-buckling adventures, it's tongue in cheek. It's not meant to be believable - it's a fairy-tale and an excellent one at that.

If you are having a bad day, sit down and watch this movie and you will definitely feel better. It has so many laugh-out-loud moments, no matter how many times you watch it. The exchanges between the hero Wesley and Montoya are full of wit as are the confrontations with the villain Vizzini. Prince Humperdinck is the classic fairytale villain and Andre the Giant's slow deadpan delivery seems just right. The action scenes are wonderful with lots of humour thrown in - 'Oh you mean this gate key?'.

This is a movie you can safely sit down and watch with children of any age and it is 'inconceivable' that you won't enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
This book is amazing, I read comics and horrors and I read this book simply because I watched the video of inigo Montoya on YouTube on wanted to know the story behind it honestly this book is not going to deeply change your life but it will keep you entertained for the time you read it and then you will return I promise you will read it over and over and tell your friends too as well.

Give it the chance it deserves
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse