Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
The great Peter Mullan plays a blinder in this story set in Glasgow, Mullan character helps a player in his football team who is trying to go straight but is foiled by his girlfriend who owing for her drug habit, spiralling out of control (Mullan) tries to help by taking on a couple of jobs for the dealers to clear the debt, risking his own happiness, romance and his life. A definite watch, strong story well worth a watch. Hidden Gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Simply Brilliant! Like a surgeon, Mr. Loach presented and dissected a wonderful, painful at moments, and never the less also hinted at happiness in a crude world, that we are not wanting to see and recognise....but we judge constantly. Although the film is relatively old I consider it a masterpiece and more actual than ever...Humanity at its best and worst. Small fractions of happiness in an ocean of sorrow.
Life, common people, feelings.
A must...at least for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
Brilliant film, a real must see. Peter Mullen plays a really good part in this film. Received within 2 days of ordering, in excellent condition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
i would have loved it but it was a defective disc that would not play, the seller did not have another copy so I got a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"My Name Is Joe" is a typically gritty, unflinching Ken Loach movie from 1998. It stars the excellent Peter Mullan, who gives an amiable performance as recovering alcoholic JOE.

This Glasgow-set story concerns Joe's blossoming relationship with a good-natured social worker named Sarah. The initial harmony of this relationship is soon put under pressure due to Joe's feelings of responsibility for his friend Liam. Liam, you see, has a history of heroin abuse and as a consequence a gang of drug dealing thugs are constantly darkening his door. When Joe learns that Liam is in debt (to the tune of thousands of pounds), his benevolent nature comes to the fore and Joe feels that he has no option but to help his friend. As a result, his relationship with Sarah is threatened and Joe ultimately feels the lure of booze returning to throttle him. The film's climax does not make for easy viewing...

"My Name Is Joe" is one of Ken Loach's most revered movies, and it's easy to see why. Loach is a director who always strives for realism, and it must be said that movies don't come much more "warts 'n' all" than this one. In fact, this movie is frequently so realistic it's actually painful to watch. There is a twitchy heroin-shooting scene that could accurately be described as stomach-churning. There is also a graphic suicide scene which is, frankly, almost UNBEARABLE to watch. Is this movie light-hearted fun for all the family? Erm...no.

That said, there are still moments of humour in this movie to cut through the darkness (mainly involving Joe's hapless football team of delinquents). Be warned, however, that this is far from being a comedy and could leave many viewers feeling emotionally drained. Is it a film to fall in love with? NO. Is it a film to be admired? MOST DEFINITELY. The lack of mindless escapism here is definitely to be applauded.

In conclusion:- If you are after a little bit of light Saturday night entertainment, AVOID this film. If, however, you are seeking a thought-provoking story that is humanistic and features believable characters, then prepare to be rewarded.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 June 2009
My Name is Joe and I am an alcoholic

I am a Ken Loach fan as I liked all the old plays for today in the sixties which were slices of life. This film is certainly that as we follow Joe who is a recovering alcoholic.

There are some funny incidents as when the football club of unemployed turn up in filthy West German football kits. They have to change them as the opposition want to be Germany.

Franz Beckenbauer a fat bold player objects by saying But I have always been Beckenbauer

The referee says if you are Franz Beckenbauer I am the tooth fairy.

After more objections he says

Well Franz you are going to have to change your strip. They do by going topless.

The language is raw but so are the living conditions.

Joe meets and fancies a health worker Sarah. In a very moving section she asks why he gave up drinking. he said he didn't want to tell her as she might hate him.

He ended up beating up his girlfriend and later claiming that he had been drunk but he hadn't. as a result he gave up drink.

He is now on the straight and narrow but he decided to help Liam who owes money to gangsters. Joe decides to help by doing a drug run.

Sarah finds out which breaks their relationship. Things go from bad to worse with fatal consequences for Liam.

The ending is sad but you have a glimmer of hope that they will find each other.

A gritty realistic film which shows people who are in the mire and that they can't necessarily get out of it.

It is filmed like a documentary and you could easily believe that these people are not actors. A good film but some might not like its grim realism.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The name Ken Loach is synonymous with films which have a realism unparalleled by any other major director.

This film is set in Scotland (council estates obviously, this IS a Ken Loach film!) and tells the story of a recovering alcoholic, Joe.

I'd love to discuss some of the plot but I think I might give things away. This is a very personal journey and it would be unfair of me to spoil it.

All I'll say is that Joe has had a dodgy past but finally finds his life in a stable condition. He is a sober, moral man who becomes involved in a situation which compromises his ethics - but feels he has no choice.

This is perfectly acted, and feels so real that I was desperate to know the fate of the characters. Once the film finishes, those characters *still* seem real and maybe thats because to a large extent, they are.

Loach manages yet again to capture the essence of real humanity, this doesn't feel rehearsed, this doesn't feel scripted (and much of it probably isn't), it doesn't even feel acted - this is a real corner of humanity.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 September 2011
This is Loach at his absolute best (as in Kes, Raining Stones and Sweet Sixteen). A powerful and unsentimental tale of working life in Glasgow, with outstanding performances from Peter Mullan, Louise Goodall, Gary Lewis and David McKay (who is superb as the games teacher in Mullan's recent NEDS). As with all great Loach, politically motivated, tough, uncompromising but finally uplifting. A must-see.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
This is an excellent film. Well made, well acted, funny, gripping from start to finish but I'll almost certainly never watch it again. Peter Mullan's performance as Joe is superb. Full of humanity, strength, vulnerability and struggle. The central love theme is touchingingly beautiful. The ever-present background of violence menaces all the way through. The portrayal of a world dominated by poverty, debt, alcohol, drugs and violence is far too good. There are a host of fine performances from all of the cast. Best of all, the film doesn't let you settle for any easy answers. Joe is a rock for many people around him. In turn, he has people he can count on. He's getting by. Maybe even better than that. But he makes a mistake. Or is it? There just isn't a straightforward answer in this film. And that's it's real strength. It's like life. You struggle on. Do the best you can. Make what seems like the best decision you can at the time but you never know the consequences. I saw this film at the cinema and came out feeling like my guts had been wrenched out. I'm not sure I've seen a more powerful film. But I'm not going back for more. No thanks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
This film looks fine. The overall effect of the film is not bad. The end of the film is still a long way from my perfect ending. The story comes from life, higher than life. The actors performed very well. I watch it with my mother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)