Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
225
4.7 out of 5 stars
Dracula (Blu-ray + DVD) [1958]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 July 2013
This is the version of the brilliant Hammer classic Dracula that should be pride of place in every fans collection. It's a massive improvement on the region 1 DVD, which was for a long time, the only way to own it.
Lovingly restored is the only way to describe the time and care that has gone into making this version definitive. Every frame has been cleaned and digitally restored and regraded to present this Blu-ray as near as possible to how it would of looked at it's premier.
But the restoration team have gone further and found and reintegrated two cut scenes thought previously lost; including a more graphic Dracula destruction scene.
And the documentaries though not too long do convey the care and respect that has recreated the original feel and vibrancy of this my favourite version of Dracula.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Can some seconds of low quality material give a new look to a fifty years old classic? Yes, they can! I loved the movie but I am fascinated by this edition with a lot of background informations. Thanks to the producers!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I received my copy in the post this morning. I already owned the previous release on DVD. A huge improvement, the restoration has been done beautifully without over doing dnr etc, the restored colour pallet is stunning. The added bonus of the restored japanese footage (Thanks Magnus ) has been integrated well. The seduction of Mina scene is fantastic, as well as the dracula disintegration scene at the climax prevously sensored is also astounding.

The extras are also well worth watching, comentaries, interviews, documentaries etc, and the painstaking restoration featuret.

Well done to everyone who helped make this blu ray come to fruition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I'm a big fan of the Hammer films especially Horror of Dracula as it's known in the U.S.
brilliantly written script, brilliantly Directed by Terence fisher and of course two of Hammers best actors Christopher Lee, Peter cushing

so when i found out that Hammer's Dracula was being released on Blu-ray i knew i had to buy it immediately, and i did
i bought it on March 18 the day it was released
this Blu-ray is a 3 Disc set, Blu-ray Disc plus 2 DVD'S, Disc 1 has both 2007 & 2012 versions, Disc 2 has all the special features
it's the first time this film has been released on blu-ray so i watch the blu-ray first, the 2012 version
the picture and audio is beautiful, perfect widescreen format, the 2 added scenes from the Japanese version
complete the film so well it was emotional watching it

and then i watched the 2007 version i didn't understand the difference between the 2 versions so i watched with audio commentary
apparently the 2007 version is the U.S. version but the main title has been altered to the U.K. title that's the only difference
cause back in 1958 when this movie was screening, Universal was still screening the original 1931 version
so warner bros changed the title to Horror of Dracula to avoid confusion
apart from that, both 2007 and 2012 versions are pretty much the same in my opinion so i really couldn't tell the difference, you'll have to buy a copy to Judge for yourself
but anyway the Distributors added both versions on Blu-ray and DVD for fans
i also have the region 1 DVD U.S. release by Warner bros which is the same as the 2007 release except for the added footage

now to the special features.
a brand new 30mins Documentary about the making of the film has been made, excellent Documentary aswell i've watched it more than once already
screenwriter Jimmy sangster has been interview aswell as Janina faye who played Tania in the film plus film critics and other Hammer film Historians
it's Disapointing that Christopher Lee wasn't interviewed for some reason i would've like to hear his thoughts on the film
the highlight of the Doco is Jimmy sangster he explains alot about the making of the film, the budget, how the script was written etc
a Great Documentary for any Hammer film fan

the 2nd Doco is about the film's restoration to blu-ray quality and about how the lost 2 scenes were intergrated in the film
very interesting Documentary

the 3rd Doco is about the Censors of British cinema back in 1958 and how it effected Horror of Dracula film
this was interesting aswell but i couldn't see the point, as a hammer film fan i've researched that info on the internet anyway
but for first time fans watching the blu-ray version it will be interesting for them.
the special features are also on Disc 2 of this set, so if you don't have a blu-ray player the DVD'S are included anyway
but the Blu-ray version is much better quality than the DVD, the people involved really did clean the film up transfering to blu-ray quality

this film is an absolute classic, still fresh today 45 years later, incredible, still one of the best ever Hammer films made
the scene where Christopher lee shows his closeup of his fangs and blood, still scary, hell of a Good thriller.

so for any Hammer horror fan i definitely recommend buying this blu-ray/dvd set and watching the blu-ray version
and if not, then you can watch the 2 versions on standard DVD.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
First watched it on a Friday night when ITV had a double bill of Hammer horror. Still love it to this day and bothe Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee were fantastic in their respective roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
With the combined acting talents of Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing and the brilliant direction of Terence Fisher this is without doubt the best ever Dracula film. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2016
Great film, best dracula film ever and probably Hammers finest. Peter cushing is outstanding, the sub plot of sex and adultery give Christopher Lee's Dracula a whole new meaning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
One of the most important video releases in 20 years. The lost legendary footage talked about by fans has been restored to one of the most iconic horror films ever made. Bravo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
This Blu-ray and DVD set is very much welcome to my house. I have been a Hammer Film fan since i was a kid i remember with my brother trying to stay up late to see the latest Hammer film to be shown on tv .You read about the legendary Japanese print for years backed up by stills from the film then bang there it is to see for your self. Every thing about this Blu-ray is right the colour , the aspect , picture and then you get the added footage. This footage just adds to the film the seduction of Mina is electric and the disintegration horrific . All the extras are worth watching and the commentaries are entertaining . All and all well done to all involved .
Imagine being the chap to discover the lost footage and to see it for the first time , fangtastic . ( I know i could not resist )

By the way any one buying the DAVID MILLERs book PETER CUSHING A LIFE IN FILM ? I received this last week and it is basically a reprint of THE PETER CUSHING COMPANION first published in 2000. Still a very good book
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
The first and by far the best of the Christopher Lee Dracula movies. He actually has some dialogue in this movie. The late great Peter Cushing also stars in this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)