Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
356
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2014
This boxed set arrived quickly in mint condition. Thank you, Amazon.

Top British actresses and actors ensure a first-class portrayal of 1950s Poplar, in London's East End. Everything about it is superb, from the acting to the production and background scenes. The stories, which I assume are accurately taken from Jennifer Worth's memoirs, leave me in no doubt of the poverty and other poor conditions that the midwives had to work in.

I just loved it; I'm left waiting for Series 4 to be aired by the BBC in 2015!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
It keeps my mother-in-law quiet, bless her she thinks it is set in her era 1920's - 30's.

When we sit down to tea on a Sunday afternoon (wish I was cycling) we always get this out and each episode although we've seen it before is a new one.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I wasn't sure if this was my thing but my mother loved it but missed a lot of episodes so I bought this for her and we sat down to watch it one evening and I absolutely adored it, now I can't wait for the third series to come out. easy going, funny, brilliant acting, amazing sets and attention to detail, the script is very good and the best bit, it's all based on a real events
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Absolutely love the who series and now caught up with current series 3 , no idea why I never watched at the time , but so lovely to watch an hour at a time and be drawn into the 50's with the characters and music ... times of tears but also lots of smiles . Couldn't recommend this enough
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Really enjoyed the tv series so DVD was the next step.
Great value for what you get, quick delivery, so was very happy with this
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I am so happy to have this whole series to date. I loved this series and the DVDs coming altogether like this will be watched many times I'm sure. Arrived on time and appropriately priced I believe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Miranda Hart is an actress who is treasured for her zany sit-com MIRANDA.
But in CALL THE MIDWIFE she proves she can also take on a serious role with considerable aplomb.

The action takes place in the slum district Poplar in 50s London - where a set of Nuns is dedicated to looking after the stream of babies (mainly unwanted) which all the mothers in the film take for granted as their inescapable lot in life. In this run-down dock-side area, God, Love, Fear, Birth and Death are constantly evolving. Don't miss this warm, heartfelt and simply wonderful BBC production
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
An excellent box set , beautifully acted , wonderful story lines and altogether a delightful purchase . It is no wonder that it is so popular . The heartwarming stories and effortless acting makes everything seem very real and the impact stays with you long after each episode finishes . All the actors are good and I would give special mention to Judy Parfitt who I think steals every scene she is in - she is simply outstanding .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I bought this set recently after watching the current series. It is so well acted that I wanted to see it from the start. I was not disappointed and the way it has been written, makes it easy watching. Yes, some of the stories are sad but that reflects everyday life as it was, not all milk and honey. The actors fit their character parts so well. I could not pick a favourite as they are all good in their own way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
If like me you missed this series on TV, now is the time to indulge yourself into the lives of the midwives and those who lived in the East end in the late 1950's. Heart warming, comical, fabulous cast and easy watching.
Highly recommended. I can't wait for the next series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)