Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
26
3.7 out of 5 stars
Gangsters Guns And Zombies [DVD] [2012]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 May 2017
A really enjoyable British Gangster/zombie film. It is about a team of bank robbers that have just robbed a bank and have discovered that a zombie virus has swept the country and they retreat to their safe house. It is a comedy- it might not seem funny at first but as the film goes on it gets better and you really start to care for the characters. All of the characters are likable but I particularly found Muscles, Crazy Steve and Grandma the very funny. The special features show the the cast really enjoyed making the film. It is low budget but I found that it was very well made for the small amount of money they had. Being low budget though, it does mean it has a worse quality than other films but if you are up for a laugh and a few gory moments then you should give Gangsters, Guns and zombies a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
ROFL It's so bad it's actually funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Really good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Very good thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
A group of British bank robbers make their getaway during a major world wide zombie infestation. Danny (Simon Mathews) has been shot and it isn't rocket science to figure out what will happen. Tony (Huggy Leaver) is the gang leader. Q (Vincent Jerome) is the new guy and driver. Their van makes its way through the countryside looking for a safe house. Along the way we see clown zombies, doctor zombies, soccer zombies, and my favorite, reenactor zombies.

The cause of the infestation is unknown. The BBC smartly broadcasts instructions as what to do during the outbreak. On the plus side of this film is the British humor, although it is not a "Fido" over the top type of funny. On the negative side, the zombie actors were bad. There was little to no zombie make-up other than splatter red blood all over their faces. Much of the film takes place inside a van which makes things more "realistic" but at the same time more boring as we listen to conversations. The drawn scenes on the DVD cover are not in the film. They didn't spend that much money on special effects.

It is a passable zombie film, although if you had trouble watching "Zombie Diaries" or "Zombie Apocalypse" you might take a pass on this one. It is less in quality. $9.96 at Walmart.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Brief distant male rear zombie nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
"Siege of the Dead" and "The Horde" are both low budget zombie flicks. They prove you can make good films with very little money. "Gangsters Guns and Zombies" proves you can make appalling films with just as much money.

From the reviews, I guessed this was a "micro" budget film, so wasn't expecting lavish effects, but... well... I was expecting some sort of effects. All you get is people with red liquid splashed on them - way too bright and too red to be blood in most cases.

As for the view of London, a helicopter and a pump action shotgun on the DVD cover? Yeah, right. You get as much of that as you do special effects.

Okay, so you can forgive poor effects and dismal settings if there's a great story with interesting characters.

A pity the screenwriters weren't privy to such information.

The "story" is non-existent.

The characters? Not one is likeable or realistically drawn.

For example (small spoiler), one character is an old woman. The writers obviously thought they'd had a moment of briliance by giving her a double barrel shotgun and a love of the F-word. But the character brought nothing else to the story, so they might just as well have gone the whole hog and given her a wooden leg and a parrot, too!

There's nothing worse than buying a product on the strength of believable reviews and ending up with a piece of junk.

Don't buy this. You'll regret it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
This is a very low budget movie. How low? well the effects are minimal. very minimal. As in putting a little fake blood on someone, there is one scene of real gore. mostly this is pg rated horror and that's ok. We never see the bankrobbery either. Just the group of guys in a van who are trying to get away. There is a little cgi in this movie with some burning stuff in the background. But they did the best the could with the small budget they had. In fact this flick takes place mainly in the country and that's where you will see the boys trying to escape fast running zombies. For humour there are different groups of zombies attacking them, a sports team? medieval reenactors in full armour, etc. Many people would rate this low budgeter a one star ,certainly all of the regular critics would; but horror fans will find some enjoyment from this british film. You never see any cities in this one either. The cover has a city in the background and this is similiar zombie diaries two cover. but if you are not into microbudget movies then you may not like this one. I liked it though and the extras were obviously unpaid and enjoying themselves as zombies! I know this because in the credits you see them cheering after a scene. That's a good group of folks the director found for sure. the picture is widescreen and it looks good. SO at least this was shot on film. Making this a step up from alot of (video camera) zombie flicks production wise.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
A group of bank robbers make their getaway during a major world wide zombie infestation. Danny (Simon Mathews) has been shot and it isn't rocket science to figure out what will happen. Tony (Huggy Leaver) is the gang leader. Q (Vincent Jerome) is the new guy and driver. Their van makes its way through the countryside looking for a safe house. Along the way we see clown zombies, doctor zombies, soccer zombies, and my favorite, re-enactor zombies.

The cause of the infestation is unknown. The BBC smartly broadcasts instructions as what to do during the outbreak. On the plus side of this film is the British humor, although it is not a "Fido" over the top type of funny. On the negative side, the zombie actors were bad. There was little to no zombie make-up other than splatter red blood all over their faces. Much of the film takes place inside a van which makes things more "realistic" but at the same time more boring as we listen to conversations. The drawn scenes on the DVD cover are not in the film. They didn't spend that much money on special effects.

It is a passable zombie film, although if you had trouble watching "Zombie Diaries" or "Zombie Apocalypse" you might take a pass on this one. It is less in quality.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Brief distant male rear zombie nudity.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Maybe I've not been getting out much but I'd forgotten how cheap (albeit cheerful) a low budget flick can look.

Looked, to me, like a film school affair.

I'm sure the guys making it had a whale of a time.

It's not without a few redeeming qualities. There were some funny moments.

The bloke playing "Muscles" was good for a few laughs, as was "Crazy Steve".

Perhaps not one to watch while stone cold sober or if you've got anything else (and I mean anything else) to do for 80 minutes or so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I really enjoyed this low end budget Brit Flick. Yes the acting is a wee bit wooden in a couple of places but it has a great script and some truly comic laugh out loud moments.
The characters are quirky and you'll instantly love the likes of Muscles, Crazy Steve and Grandma.
The Extras were a nice treat also - looks like everyone had a great time :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)