Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
430
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2014
Although the reader is told in the first few pages that someone will be killed, this isn't really crime fiction. It's actually a serious novel about a relationship and the aftermath of its breakdown. The author was clearly very knowledgable about psychology and made one of her central characters a psychotherapist. I found the description of her work and her own experience of therapy one of the most interesting parts of the book.

The crime, when it happens, which is late in the story, is quite predictable, as is the twist. The psychological revelation is better and quite unexpected. There's a lot to like in this book, so why only three stars? For me the writer got bogged down with a lot of detail in the central part of her story. When I find myself skimming through a hundred or more pages, this isn't a book I can recommend with any enthusiasm.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
I live in the UK
I found this story utterly a compulsive read. I just was glued to it from the very first page to the last. The story is easy to read and so hard to put down. The Silent Wife is a disturbing sad and brillant psychological thriller. The story graually builds up layer by layer. I highly recommend reading The Silent Wife.

Jodie Brett has been living with Todd Gilbert for twenty years. Jodie likes nothing more than to spoil Todd cooking dinners. Faithfully Jodie trust Todd fully and she does not think any thing of letting Todd having his own freedom letting him be own his own man doing his own thing. What Jodie is unaware of is Todd is seeing a younger girl. so many more shocks and surprises are along the way.
I would of loved to of read more from this author but it so very sad that A. S. A Harrison was at work on a new psychological thriller when she very sadly died.
Review by iresdnovels.wordpress.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Complex and exciting. Couldn't put it down. Makes you feel all sorts of emotion. Would have liked a bit of a better ending though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This book failed to live up to the hype published in anticipation of its publication; that is, in my considered opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Great book with a surprising end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Best book ever!! If you are looking for a good book you must read this it's amazing you will be surprised X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
I loved this book but was surprised by the level of misogyny that is apparently alive and well in the USA today. The male characters were so old fashioned in their view of women and the main female character, a supposedly well educated woman, just put up with it. However, as the book progresses and we learn more about the female lead then it becomes clear why she is this way. The tale sucked me in and had me hooked from very early on. Well written and a great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Very different style of writing. Showing both his and her thoughts. Kept you guessing until the end. Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
This is a very slow and boring read. I loved gone girl and girl on the train but this book definitely does not come close. Far too much emphasis and story on the past of characters which adds nothing to the story. I am 60% through and can't be bothered to read it anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Jodi Brett is the silent wife, but really she isn’t because she has been the domestic partner of Todd Gilbert for 20 years but never married him. Handsome, larger-than-life, charismatic Todd Gilbert, who picked her up after she had a car accident that clipped his car. That should have warned her about him, but it didn’t. How he could be so smooth. Maybe her accident should have warned him about her; her distractedness. Is she all there, all present mentally? But it didn’t.

And they had 20 years of accommodating the others’ faults and weaknesses. Making space when overtaking the other in their day-to-day lives. Never asking questions. Every good marriage, or cohabitation, is arguably full of accommodations. Give and take. How much give is too much, one asks themselves. How much is too much too take, one wonders. Every bad marriage in the same vein, is full of not enough accommodating the space the significant other takes up, and either demanding or expecting too much, leaving both parties feeling dissatisfied.

But at least it’s out in the open right? No one outside the marriage knows. And there lay the crux of the problem between Jodi and Todd, until the seams split open by one transgression too many. The fragile harmony cracked.

The psychology, the irony of the shrink unable to heal herself, the delicate analogies of psychological problems throughout, all made this a comfortable read. By the three-quarter mark, I was fair galloping along. I picked up the hint – not a clue exactly – given around halfway through the book, of the untreated sore in Jodi’s life (I am avoiding giving too much away). It let me know that Jodi’s own sessions with a shrink, during her studies, were largely a major cover-up. Then came Alison, and I would have like the outcome to have been more fleshed out, to avoid spoilers.
A fast read. A satisfying read? Not entirely. Did it make me think? Sure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse