Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2017
Love sports biographies, this one doesn`t disapoint, you get a great insight into what coaches have to put up with these days, with foriegn owners & players, very good read if you like football
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
As a crystal palace fan, always

good to hear inside view on what was going on during administration.
Popular manager in the championship but never quite the success in the premier league.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Really interesting reading about what goes on behind the scenes at football clubs as well as changing times and the effect on wider life. Well worth reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
What a load of rubbish. No insight. No nothing. Just a huge ego. Dont waste your money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Warnock doesn't seem to have an axe to grind, his communication style is clear and simple, making the book accessible to all.
He communicates a lot on player personalities, with a reputation as a man-motivator you can tell he's got an eye for people and is able to quickly form an opinion of what makes people tick. His commentary on the Terry affair is helpful in clearing up what happened.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Neil Warnock has managed many football clubs over a long career, and this book – part autobiography, part expose of football management – is an interesting view of life in the dugout and changing room. Although Warnock considers his whole career, it particularly focuses on his time at Crystal Palace, QPR and Leeds. It’s a personal history and Warnock is keen to put his side of the story forward – he rarely admits that he was wrong, and often piles up the reasons or excuses for his lack of success. Even so, it’s difficult to argue with the suggestion that Warnock was a manager of three clubs that were undergoing behind-the-scenes turmoil – although with modern football, takeovers and boardroom wranglings are common, and Warnock was certainly not alone in having to deal with them. You might not always like the manager, but this gives an insight as to what he might be going through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Quite a good insight into Neil Warnocks career & what some of the 'pampered' footballers of today are like!

And yes, while Neil is a 'marmite' character his honesty shows in this book.
I was pleased to meet him at a recent book signing, where he was happy and relaxed & had time for the fans.
The book has kept me entertained for the last few days, and love him or loath him at least read the book THEN comment!
While I didn't like the initial idea of him managing my local team, he did, and gave us some success.
For that I'm grateful.

I hope the book does well for him & he enjoys his retirement, he's worked long & hard for it!

Good luck Neil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Having read this, I'm convinced that Neil Warnock doesn't go out to upset people, he just does. He got my back up almost instantly. In the first few pages he implies that the average football fan doesn't have a clue how a football club is run. Although it is true that I have never managed a team, it doesn't mean that I have not had experiences of having to deal with awkward bosses or troublesome employees. At least as a football manager you can just ship a bothersome player out of sight until his contract runs out or he is sold, a luxury someone like me working in an office cannot do. Also, like many working class men and women who watch the game, we do know about budgets. Okay, we don't have thousands of people screaming for our heads, but we can't all just go to our homes in Cornwall or Scotland to clear our heads after a bad day like he can. According to Warnock, apart from one Millwall fan chucking an egg at his head, he enjoyed talking to the fans and never shied away from them.

I found the book started off quite interesting and ended in disappointment - as you'd expect - at Leeds. I found the QPR bit in the middle a bit long and laborious. I'll readily admit that I nearly abandoned the book halfway through, as the constant whining drove me mad. I think we all know that Taarabt is a bit of a `colourful' character, but the point is drilled home time and time again. It is as if he wants a medal for getting the best out of him.

But you cannot knock the guy's record. He's won seven promotions. I hope he stays in the game, because my team always beat his teams (1-3 at Gigg Lane, 1-4 Bramhall Lane, 1-3 Loftus Road and 1-6 Leeds). Thanks for the points Neil!

The book is a must for a QPR fan, as it does go into detail about how the club is run. As for Palace fans, if you want your ego massaging, then you'll enjoy this. Leeds fans, like the other clubs will only find this is a passing interest. £8.49 is a fare old sum for a Kindle book. My advice would be that it is worth the read, but maybe wait until you see it for a quid in Oxfam.

Sorry Neil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Neil Warnock is one of the game's real characters - a cliche, but in this case it's true. So it stands to reason that any autobiography based on his experiences will be a good read. And he doesn't let us down - it's funny, shocking and even emotional in places. The majority of the book is about his eventful time at QPR, with tangents back in time to stories from his playing days and his times managing other clubs. But it's when talking about Rangers that the book particularly comes alive - his experiences with the owners and with certain players are truly fascinating.

And you do get a good idea of what it's been like for him to be a manager and how things work. He's refreshingly straightforward in his approach: not all referees are terrible; not all agents are evil; not all players are money-grabbers. All good fun.

What a shame, then, that this book has been so poorly written by ghost writer Glenn Moore and, to compound it, that the book has been lazily edited and proofread. Just to pick a couple of examples, Heidar Helguson's first name is spelt wrong for the entire book, apart from on one page, where it was spelt right once, but then wrong again in the next paragraph. Poor Shaun Derry suffers the same fate. Then there's the time Warnock thinks that the QPR Chairman has been trying to sign Stefan Moore. Seeing as QPR had finally got shot of Moore (who had been a very poor signing) two years before Warnock arrived, and by the time this alleged story was taking place he was playing for St Neots somewhere below the football league, the reader is left to assume that the player being referred to was his brother, Luke. Now, this may well have been an understandable mistake made by Warnock when telling the story to Glenn Moore, but it would be nice to think that Headline, the nation's foremost publisher of sports books, has enough respect for its readers (and for Neil) to have the book fact checked. You'd also hope that Glenn Moore might have a enough football knowledge to correct it himself.

In addition, too often anecdotes go nowhere. For example, Neil recalls a time he cooked a barbecue for the QPR players, and then says something like, 'Mind you, I remember another manager doing this...' - you expect to be told that the other manager undercooked the sausages or set the burgers on fire, but no, the story ends there. Apparently Neil just remembered another manager cooking, once. Brilliant.

What a shame that the book is spoilt by these errors and lazy writing/editing, because Warnock is an interesting man with huge experience and strong opinions. A bit more care wouldn't have gone amiss. Poor work from Headline.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Very good book and look into neil Warnock and what he is like in management and his handling of the last 3 clubs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)