Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2017
Beyond disappointed with this package, the spine of the case was like plastic shards, and it ruined the artwork by shredding it to near confetti, this along with my absolutely trashed & half missing Fantastic Four '74 dvd I certainly got jipped of £87.57 for two box sets that were totally wrecked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
takes my back to when i was young could ask for better and arrived verry fast could not ask for better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
The stories are great but the quality of the cartoon is very poor. No effort has ben made to improve the picture quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
There were two Spider-Man cartoon series made in 1981; Spider-Man & His Amazing Friends, which everyone remembers, and this series of solo adventures, which seems to have fallen through the gap. In truth, I remember as a kid preferring the solo series, but it came as a shock to the system watching this DVD and realising just how bad a series it was. The writing is infantile, the artwork scrappy, and some of the animation actually manages to be inferior to the animation from the 1960s cartoon that this is (supposedly) a sequel to.

Most episodes are self-contained, but the characterisation is so short-hand and generic that it really makes no difference at all which guest villain is the 'bad-guy-of-the-week'. They may have different voice actors, but they are all portrayed as having exactly the same megalomaniac, 'I-want-to-rule-the-world-for-no-particular-reason-and-now-nothing can stop me!!!' personality. And the way they're performed is always so stagey that you can't help but cringe. Meanwhile, Spidey himself is very much portrayed as the least interesting form his character ever took - an over-relaxed smart alec with a very trite, ill-timed quip on standby for even the most violent occasion.

There is a story arc running through about six or seven of the episodes, featuring Dr Doom in twin power struggles - one for control of the United Nations (winning which, for some reason, Doom seems unswervingly convinced will make him ruler of the world - clearly no one has ever explained to him that the UN is a forum and not a Government), and the other against a resistance movement in his native Latveria. This arc doesn't really follow any logical or coherent pattern as it (half-)progresses though, and all it therefore does is give the impression that Doom is being used too often. Why not give Dr Octopus or the Green Goblin another outing instead? They seem very short-changed by this series in comparison.

The only real strength the series has is that some of the music is terrific. It has an excellent title tune (only slightly spoiled by the over-the-top fanfare at the very beginning, and the condescending insistence on having Stan Lee call out "SPIDER-MAAAAAN!" both at the beginning and the end of the titles. Marvel Productions must have assumed that none of its audience can read, even though most of them would have been comic-book readers), and some very fine incidental music. The notorious 'generic rock song', which will be very familiar to viewers of the other Spider-Man series, and to viewers of The Transformers cartoons from a few years later, can start to grate, seeing how often it is used to give the impression that there's a party/concert in progress, but listened to in isolation it's actually quite a good track.

All-in-all, this series is one of those things you can have playing in the background while you're doing something else, to give the room a bit of atmosphere. You won't do nearly so well if you go so far as to pay close attention to it while it's on.

On the other hand, I still prefer it to S-M&HAF, if only because, for the entire duration of the DVD, I never once have to endure watching the 'token-cute-companion' Miss Lyon, nor do I have to endure listening to three grown adults, who really should be old enough to know better, clamouring in cheesy voices, "SPIDER-FRIENDS... GO FOR IT!"

Ouch.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
The Complete series is just the Clear Vision 4 disc sets in 1 case. There are NO improvements. The transfers are left with flaws. Clear vision transferred from film but in disc 1 and 2 as mentioned there is a breakdown in video with Episodes 4 "Curiosity Killed the Spider-Man" and Episode 7 "Pied Piper of New York Town" being the worst of them.

There exist clean quality transfers that Netflix had on their site for a short time, however they never allowed them on DVD. I personally wasn't at the time setup to capture them streaming, but if they make a reappearance ... I am ready.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
little girl loves it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
amazing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
wonderful product great package well done amazon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Bought it for my Friends Stepson a he loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Cheers Amazon. Got home from work. And a small perfectly formed package lie on my carpet ! Oh my days a trip down nostalgia street with Spidey on d v d fan freekin tastic! Chuffed t bits. Ten ten till we do it again Amazon.but until then Make Mine Marvel. Nuff said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse