Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2012
Break Through is the second book in the Red Gambit series and it doesn't disappoint. The gripping story continues with many subplots and a load of characters. In remarkable detail the author takes us through geo-political developments, strategy meetings from the great powers and the nitty gritty of tactical bloody small unit combat. All in such a form that it is hard to put the book down for a moment. Looking forward to book 3 in this series.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
No point writing war stories that have sanitised Combat action scenes ought to be about blood and gore,as there is no honour in killing and dying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Excellent sequel, the author has avoided the repetitions that annoyed me in Opening Moves, and the story now flows beautifully. Unfortunately, there is still no strategic map, making it very difficult to follow the battlelines as they change daily. I hope this will be rectified in book three, or on the authors website, as maps on kindles seem to be a problem.
If you like alternative history, or just a good war story, buy it. Breakthrough is as good as Red Storm Rising or Larry Bond's Cauldron.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
A real page turner, it manages the difficult task of giving the reader enough detail to identify with the characters, get a view of the technical side of things (how attacks are planned, the use of the various weapon types etc) and of course the actual fighting as well - without bogging things down in minutia. It was also very strange reading about units my maternal and paternal grandfathers and granduncles were serving with (the Black Watch being one example!) or ships they were on!

With regard to a personal hobby horse, I think the author has somewhat underplayed the effectiveness of the British army artillery, which by the end of the German war had evolved into a highly effective force multiplier (plenty of post war evidence for German views on this.

Additionally, with regard to the Pacific, what news on the 14th Army campaign to retake the Malay peninsula and Singapore with Operation Zipper?

Only one minor gripe - some typos and other evidence of edits being done and not all of the previous text being removed, but it really is a minor gripe
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I admit I'm now getting hooked on this series. It's well researched for it's period and the author keeps the pace about right as he tries to cover each element of a fictional WW3. My only minor criticism would be the battles are getting so big that each time he states the units it's longer than some of the action described. Anyhow well worth the money and time and look forward to book 3
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
Straight into the second book of this great series, again couldn't put it down, right balance of story, characters and grandness, I can't help but love this series. I read with interest the opening comments from the author about criticism over the details relating to violence in the book which he now seems to have to put at the front of each consecutive novel, this is a pity, I have no issue with the details and levels he has in these books, they are in my view at the right level and I don’t believe the story would be half as real without it. If you can’t cope with death and violence don’t read the books!! Already half way through book 3, role on number 4!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Gonna start this with some advice. You have just finished book 1 and your tingling and buzzing so you download book 2. Ok great download it, but then hit the pause button. Go and read another book. Then come back to book 2, why you ask?
Simple, combat fatigue to really enjoy these books a break between each one is my recommendation.
The Red Gambit Series is an intense, non stop look at modern war. That at times descends to the level of clawing out eyes.
It's brutal, horrible and shocking.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Colin Gee continues where he left off in book one. As an ex-military who has witnessed battlefield action his gory descriptions of combat, injury and death leave the reader in no doubt what so ever regarding the horrors of war. Once more the reader is led relentlessly through the mud, mire, horror and reality of war with breathtaking realism. I found it very dificult to put this book down once started and finished it completely in three sessions.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Great book, great author, great series. Love the depth and detail, well thought out can't really fault it. Its realistic, the characters have depth and there are lots of little side battles fought that bring the story together. Its war on a grand scale but the individuals mean something and I'm sure that each plays their own part in whats to come. Can't wait for the next installment!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
The second installment keeps the tension building. The author stays true to the style of the first book and the characters build and become part of you. You care about them or you despise them in equal amounts. The battles get bigger and better, the political intrigue grows. You just cant put this book down, Read it now (after the first installment of course)
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse