Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
90
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2014
Absolutely loved this. It should be mandatory that novel adaptations have to be written by the novel's author, and that all authors have to be as gifted as Salman Rushdie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Quite heavy going and not of the relevance the writer thinks it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is an interesting story, a mixture of fact and fantasy. It is well acted and beautifully shot. It is a film that can be watched several times.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A colourful account of India's passage into independence in the middle of the 20th Century concentrating on the children who were born on the eve of independence who shared a special spiritual connection. It gives an insight into the problems encountered at that time - not a mainstream film but very good because of it's historical relevance
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Different
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
You will either like the story or not depending on whether you like the way Rushdie writes, but you cannot argue with the way the film is shot - it is truly beautiful and does seem to capture an essence of India
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
We'd seen a trailer for this on another DVD we have and I was fascinated by it. So I bought it and finally managed to persuade my husband to watch it one evening. However we found it dull and not as gloriously dramatic and colourful as the trailer. In fact he went to bed before the end as he was so bored and I followed him soon after as I realised I wasn't that bothered about the end either! Might watch the end some other time but then it will be going to the charity shop!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
This is not a Bollywood-film, this is a fantastic film based on the book by Salman Rushdi.
The setting is the partition of the Old India into India, Pakistan and eventually Bangladesh.
The story concerns a family afflicted by these events in their everyday life.
I was captivated by the story and was sad when it ended.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
There's just so much that can fit into a film of about 2.5 hours, but this works well. As a film, it's excellent, though perhaps one does need to know something of India's recent history, to appreciate much of the story. It reminds me of my family's sadness at leaving the new, and smaller, Independent India, of the many family friends from India and Pakistan who came to visit, of the stories of the good times they and my parents shared. The film is truly evocative of an India in the convulsions of birth and adolescence. All that's missing is the scent of the country.

This film is special. So, separately for the different medium, is the book. See the film; read the book. Be inspired by both.

Thank you Mr Rushdie-gi.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
This film was ok but a bit long. I would not particularly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)