Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2017
good dvd son was pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE GOOD:

Rihanna, the superstar from Barbados, is truly the Queen of Pop in the 2000s. With her 12th Hot 100 topper (Diamonds), Rihanna ascends higher into rarefied historical chart air, as she ties Madonna and the Supremes for the fourth-most leaders in the ranking's 54-year history. Only the Beatles (20), Mariah Carey (18) and Michael Jackson (13) have sent more titles to the top. As far as album chart is concerned, 2012 is also the year when she finally notched her first No. 1 album on Billboard 200 with Unapologetic. With so many great songs in her repertoire, there is no problem in choosing songs to fill the song listing in her concert. The problem is what songs to leave behind.

The Loud Tour was her fourth world tour, in support of her album Loud. The tour ultimately grossed an estimated value of US$90 million from 98 reported shows and a total audience of 1,200,800. The Loud Tour became the 7th highest grossing tour of 2011. The Loud Tour desceneded into Toronto’s Air Canada Centre on June 6 and 7, 2011. The concert in this disc was filmed in the O2 Arena in London.

The track listing (with chart position and year in US & UK) is as follows:

01. "Only Girl (In the World)" (US 1/2010; UK 1/2010)
02. "Disturbia" (US 1/2008; UK 3/2008)
03. "Shut Up and Drive" (US 15/2007; UK 5/2007)
04. "Man Down" (US 59/2011; UK 54/2011)
05. "S&M" (US 1/2011; UK 3/2011)
06. "Skin" (from album Loud)
07. "Raining Men" (US 111/2010; UK 141/2010)
08. "Hard" (US 8/2009; UK 42/2009)
09. "Breaking Dishes" (from Good Girl Gone Bad)
10. "Unfaithful" (US 6/2006; UK 2/2006)
11. "Hate That I Love You" (from Good Girl Gone Bad)
12. "California King Bed" (US 37/2011; UK 8/2011)
13. "What's My Name?" (US 1/2010; UK 1/2010)
14. "Rude Boy" (US 1/2010; UK 2/2010)
15. "Cheers (Drink to That)" (US 7/2011; UK 15/2011)
16. "Don't Stop the Music" (US 3/2007; UK 4/2007
17. "Take a Bow" (US 1/2008; UK 1/2008)
18. "Love the Way You Lie" (US 1/2010; UK 2/2010)
19. "Umbrella" (US 1/2007; UK 1/2007)
20. "We Found Love" (US 1/2011; UK 1/2011)

Good:
(1) The song selections are very solid, covering her entire career. Her voice is at the top of her game. Although some of her major hits are as featured artists, she did very well on her own in songs like Love The Way You Lie and We Found Love, without Eminem and Calvin Harris respectively. She is the only artist who can get away with letting the audience sing the first half of the song (Take A Bow). In Raining Men, the uniforms and dance routine reminded me strongly of Janet Jackson in Rhythm Nation. If you like to see Rihanna singing seductively while tied to chains, S&M is the ideal song. Performance (5/5)
(2) The colour is quite good sometimes, especially her red shoes with yellow heels, her multi-coloured bikini uniforms, and her gorgeous yellow gown in Hard. The skin tone was also natural.

THE BAD:

Video: This blu ray disc comes with the primitive MPEG-2 encode. When MPEG-4 AVC encode is readily available, I really don’t know what the people at Def Jam are thinking, rushing this gorgeous concert out, using such inferior encode. The result is very poor image with no details. I remember seeing the little holes in the net-stocking of Lady Gaga and Madonna, here, there are no such details. Although there are bright colours, they simply do not pop. This poor video transfer is totally unforgivable, with the availability of the current state of technology. (2.5/5)

Audio: There is no lossless track here, no DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio. On the cover, it clearly stated DTS. But in the concert, DTS is no where to be found. The only options are Dolby Digital 2.0 and 5.1. The resultant sound is simply terrible, with no bass at all. There is no music from the surround channels, only with occasional audience participation. I have her Good Girl Gone Bad Live on blu ray from 2009, when both the video and audio were great. Again, what are the people at Def Jam thinking, giving us such poor audio. (1.5/5)

Packaging: Besides the mislabelling of information about DTS on the back cover, which is misleading, worst of all, there is no song listing at all. No description of the concert. If you are dreaming of a booklet inside, dream on. The only correct label in the covers is the Parental Advisory Explicit Content label…yes, Rihanna did use a few F-bombs (not as much as Adele though)

THE UGLY:

The video album was directed by Nick Wickham and produced by Ciarra Pardo and Emer Patten. These 3 people should be fired. But I think the problem is deeper than that. It all goes back to the root of the problem: Def Jam, the company itself!!!

Def Jam: In 1999, L.A. Reid appointed Jay-Z as the president. Under Jay-Z's leadership, Def Jam launched new successful acts such as contemporary R&B singers like Rihanna, Ne-Yo, and Kanye West. Jay-Z's contract as president of Def Jam was not renewed, forcing him to step down at the end of 2007, remaining with Roc-A-Fella Records and Def Jam Recordings as a recording artist. Following Jay-Z's resignation as president, L.A. Reid took over leadership of the label, as opposed to hiring a replacement, and promptly signed rapper Luke Death, who was dropped months later, before releasing any music. It was announced in early June 2008 that Def Jam A&R executive Shakir Stewart, credited with bringing Rick Ross to the label, would take over as vice president of Def Jam. Stewart committed suicide on November 1, 2008. The company was basically rudderless. On March 14, 2012, it was announced that former Warner Bros. Records executive Joie Manda will become the first President of Def Jam since Jay-Z.

Def Jam, you are a good label with many great artists. Your company needs to hire the proper personnel to make sure the final products coming to the market are of the highest quality. Mr. Manda, you should get some top people to redo this concert, giving us the proper video and audio transfer that it deserved. Then, be decent enough to give us a replacement program (like what I got for the West Side Story box set).

CHART ACHIEVEMENTS IN 2012:

In the Year-End Billboard magazine where all the year-end charts are listed, Rihanna was the No. 1 Hot 100 Artist, beating out Flo Rida, Nicki Minaj and Maroon 5, and No. 1 Hot 100 Artist (female), beating out Nicki Minaj, Adele, and Katy Perry, and also the No. 1 Hot 100 Airplay Artist.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I love Rihanna, who has so many great songs and a fantastic stage presence. Even though the video and audio transfers are both bad, but watchable and listenable, and replacement may only be a dream on my part, this set is reluctantly still recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is a difficult blu-ray to review. The main reason for buying it is obviously Rihanna's performance and there is nothing wrong with the show itself. The show is great and is everything you probably would like to see in a Rihanna performance.

Show/performance: 5 stars

It is the poor quality that went in to the production of this blu ray that is the problem. I cannot comprehend how Def Jam/Universal Music were able to mess this one up in the way they did. Surely they must have sufficiently qualified people to make a decent product.

Video: it feels like an upscaled DVD version. The image is sharp, colours are a bit flat and some compression is noticable. Compared to her previous blu ray, video quality is not as good.

Overall video quality is fair: 3 stars

Audio quality is a different story. No HD audio content and the audio they did use is low quality, outdated, 128Kbps stereo and 240Kbps 5.1 The overall result is a very flat sound that lacks the live feeling you should get when watching a concert. This impression is further strengthened by a lack of bass tones and overall volume. It just sounds flat and empty. Vocals on the other hand are pretty clear resulting in the slower songs to be the best on the disc since they are not so much hampered by the disc's poor audio conversion.

Overall audio quality is poor: 1 star

So, as I said a difficult product to review.

In the end there is only 1 question I asked myselfes: does it give me the feeling I am watching a live performance of Rihanna on my hometheater set? Sadly no, although the performance is great the audio quality is just too poor to fully enjoy this concert.

Overall rating: 2 stars
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I don't know how to say this but this is the worst music blu-ray I have encountered on the market so far. I listened it to about 5 to 10 min and I turned it off.
The audio quality is really bad. On the back it says DTS-HD but that's not really there. There is only stereo and dolby 5.1
But both of the sound streams are really bad.

This blu-ray is single layer BD-25. So the try to put all the information on a small blu-ray disc. You can see that also in the quality of the picture.
Sorry but this is a waste of money. Also for the Rihanna lovers.

Going to buy the old one now Good Girl Gone Bad (Blu-Ray). That one supposed the be done much better.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2016
So after seeing bad reviews on here for the blu ray with sound quite I bought the standard DVD first.
DVD has no problems. Sound quality and picture are both fine so I decided to get blu ray as I couldn't understand why or how could be worse.
Blu ray is very odd! Picture quality is better than DVD but not top quality. But sound quality is terrible!! Much worse than the DVD. I don't understand how this is possible lol. The 5.1 sounds like a home recording and stereo is better but no where near as good as on standard DVD.
So if you want sound go for DVD. If you prefer picture quality then bluray. Although I don't understand why they make you have to choose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
The show is ok , typical jamie king production! nothing new there! But the audio from this blu ray is so poor , bad! Just buy the dvd only for the audio! even a cd sounds better . if you put the volume higher it even gets worser!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 December 2012
Had high hopes for this but very disappointed. While the show itself is find I can't help but feel this Blu Ray has been thrown together with minimum cost in order to hit the Christmas market and it shows.

Firstly the packaging states DTS-HD Master Audio. It is not - there is no DTS-HD track just plain stereo and a DVD type Dolby Digital 5.1 which, I suspect, is as a result of the fact this is crammed on to a single-layer (24Gb) Blu-Ray disc rather than the higher capacity versions. Perhaps it was intended to add the track until they realised they get some more profit by using the cheaper media?

Secondly the menus are poor - nothing at all in terms of extras that you come to expect for high-profile Blu Ray releases but, even worse, if the fact there is no pop-up menu options while watching. That's right - a live show where you can't even select the track. Not even the next chapter works - it shoots forward some 30 mins at a time. Bizarre. The only navigation option is to quit back to the top-menu to select the track you want.

Consumers should not be taken for granted with such shoddy product. Avoid unless you really want the show...
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
All good thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Such an enjoyable concert. Love this DVD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
Had been looking forward to Rihanna live at the 02 on blu-ray but was badly disappointed. Good concert but why release a blu-ray dsic with such poor sound in 2012.

Information on the cover does not match the content, it says that the concert comes with DTS HD Master Audio 5.1 sound but unfortunately there is only a very poor Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack and a little better Dolby Digital 2.0 soundtrack.

But thanks to the company that has released this blu-ray disc as it can be used to show that not all new concert blu-ray disc has good sound.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)