Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
232
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
well acted by two of hollywoods finest actors it may by the darker side of american history but this film is hard hitting and tells of the plight of young and old negro's and their kids had to put with in the deep south back in the past. sadly thou i visited the deep in 2004 and the hatred for the negros as i spoke to some residents in natchenz was still there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2008
Highly underrated movie that should have won oscars for everything from the direction to the screenplay to the cinematography, to the camera work, to the editing to the haunting and dramatic music score. This film has it all and it all comes off superbly well even if it is a little predictable in places.

This is also Gene Hackman at his stupendous best. A stunning performance that is arguably one of the best of all time--to be honest I like him here even more than I do Brando in the Godfather. He steals every single scene and he knows it, putting a riveting performance in its own right by Willem Defoe almost but not quite in the shade. Hackman's secret could well be that he never gives the impression that he's acting, but that this is for real. A huge part of the kudos for that, however, has to go to the genius of Alan Parker who very evidently went out of his way to create powerful realism, casting even non actors in character roles witn uncanny accuracy and aplomb. The proof of Parker's unsung ability to cast brilliantly is that there was not a single bad performance throughout--or even a single bad line. Everyone from the Sheriff to his despicable side kick, to that sidekick's dutiful but brobeaten wife--who is ironically though the key to solving the case--plays their respective parts virtually to perfection and that is a sure sign of a great director.

I would like to have seen Parker direct many more of this kind of film. Midnight Express was anothee one of his triumphs, though even that, as excellent as it was and hampered as it was by an unjustly low budget, doesn't compare to Mississippi Burning for sheer professional mastery, not to say attention to detail. It's obvious that Parker poured his heart and soul into this one and he deserved all the honours he got for it and many more. Don't miss it! I'm serious! It'll shock you to the core but in a way in which we all need to be shocked, even today in the post race hate era.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Deeply disturbing film about 3 civil rights workers missing after going to Mississippi in the 60s. Disturbing. Because of the attitude to the black s whites and segregation.....loosely. Based on true events it tells of 2 fbi agents trying to uncover the truth but hitting abrick wall of silence from both community's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
Any film with Gene Hackman and Willem Defoe has potential but this is monster of a film. Covering areas other directors would never touch, 'Mississippi Burning' gets to the root of 1960's Deep South social politics. Excellent acting throughout make you wonder why Defoe and Hackman are not infact FBI agents
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Based around the real story of the murder of 3 young civil rights activists in Mississippi in the 60s. 2 of these activists were white and from the north and one black. The story shows the 2 different approaches used by 2 FBI agents to get to the truth about who carried out these murders. A must watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Quick delivery. Box and disc in very good condition for second hand. Disc plays faultlessly. The film remains as emotive and moving as i remember. Great performances from Hackman and Defoe and a host of faces that have gone on to become regulars on film and tv. A must see film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
A great film .Superb acting. Interplay between Hackman and Defoe worth the cost of the DVD alone. After seeing Hackman wet shaving one of the villans of the piece I don't think that I will ever have a shave with an open razor.Some outstanding scenes some quite harrowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 August 2007
I saw this film at the Bromley odeon. It was a hot day, the cinema had no air conditioning, and it was like the deep south.
I don't know how many times I've seen the film since, but I've rented it, bought the video, bought the DVD and watched it on television - so a hell of lot.
Despite these repeated viewings it never loses its power and that comes from two things:
Firstly its subject matter and secondly from a powerhouse performance by Gene Hackman. Willam Dafoe, Frances McDormand and the rest of the cast are uniformly excellent - Hackman is better.
Loosely based on a true event in the 60's, it concerns the dissappearance of two human rights activists. The opening to the film is one of the most tense and memorable scences(and Hackman isn't even in it). Dafoe and Hackman do a variation on the good cop, bad cop routine with bad cop tactics being the final strategy!
Its a great film, which if you haven't seen, you should do so now.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
A fantastic film based on a true story. Hackman and DaFoe shine in this brutal depiction of the Deep South.
The characters chosen to play the south law enforcement are fantastic.
I don't want to give away the story; just watch it. You won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
Utterly brilliant and very emotional. Beautiful acting, music and cinematography. I bought this one on a complete whim, I had never heard of it before and had no idea what the storyline was. But boy am I glad I did buy it! An outstanding forgotten classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)