Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2015
This film had its moments - John Cusack and Mae Whitman for a start - but it started unnecessarily violent and ended up unnecessarily ridiculous and unbelievable. Add in the fact that the scenes between Whitman and the bad guy were practically whispered most of the time and everything else was as loud as it could get and I spent the whole time with finger on the volume control. At least I watched to the end, which is better than some things I've seen lately, hence the second star. Just.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
The ending is utterly unbelievable. They must have been desperate to make this film stand out. Next time throw in some Zombies or Martians or both
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
garbage. don't waste your time on this, please, please don't. you've got better things to do. really.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
Picked this film cos of the main leads they are usually good,
Acting Very Good, scary and creepy film, thought the twists were good so gave it four stars, guessed one,
but not the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
More a 2.5 than a 3. Very, very silly film that just about ticked the box for non-threatening serial killer movie to watch when home alone (I was watching in bed when sleeping husband woke and asked what I was watching as the dialogue was so dreadful). Most of the stars are awarded to John Cusack for being John Cusack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
So exciting was going to watch over two nights but had to watch it all,if you like detective thrillers you will love this but the END is unbelievable!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Gary (Dallas Roberts) has a hobby. He kidnaps prostitutes and impregnates them. He also kills a "pre-op transgender prostitute." (The best surprise is no surprise.) Mike Fletcher (John Cusack) and Kelsey Walker (Jennifer Carpenter) are two Buffalo detectives assigned to find the missing girls. This is not a who-dun-it. We see the culprit. The first part of the film establishes character and dysfunctional relationships. When Abby (Mae Whitman), Mike's prostitute looking daughter, becomes the latest missing victim, Mike crosses the line to find her.

First off, I love John Cusack, but he is no Liam Neeson. This doesn't have the action level or intensity of "Taken", or even "Taken 2." We watch as Mike tries to locate his daughter as well as we see his daughter being "cared for," so there is no feel of urgency for the audience as there is for Mike who is trying to piece things together. There is also a flashback sequence that pops up from time to time. This ties to a twist which made the film er, um...silly.

The movie is a "B" grade crime/drama/thriller. Might work as a rental. Soundtrack played "Shuffle off to Buffalo" for no apparent reason other than the fact it has the word "Buffalo" in it. Fairly lame.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, sex?, no nudity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
No Spoilers. This film can be summed up in a single word: Functional. But that’s not necessarily a bad thing. John Cusack and Dexters sister are two cops hunting down a serial killer. It’s well filmed, well acted, well paced, good locations, good music and it does the job. There is sadly little in the script that makes it unique (there is something but I won’t say for spoilers and because the film doesn’t explore it particularly deep) but everyone involved has brought there A game and that clear effort is reflected on screen. If you’re in the mood for a detective thriller stick it on and you’ll enjoy it but there’s nothing in it that you haven’t seen before and sadly this is the 2nd best serial killer thriller starring John Cusack: check out The Frozen Ground where he is the killer and Nic Cage the cop as its the more interesting and better of the two movies. I feel i’m being harsh but this is by no means a bad film, you’ll enjoy it and it does the job it set out to do.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Not the worst Movie I have ever seen, but by no means did it ever show any potential of effectively crowbaring it's way it any best of list. John is always great even when he ops for signing up for some questionable films considering his calibre. I suggest you watch and form your own opinion as I've found that taste is ever so subjective. It won't be apparent how you truly feel till the end, so stay objective till then. Either you will say that's brilliant! Or some expletives will rapidly fire out like a semi - automatic curse gun. "Personally I choose "what the **** that **** makes no ******* sense! " Enjoy, I double dare you! 😂
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)