Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 5 May 2013
i loved the dvd series i had and i thought this was as good, i know it may have been only audio books but i wanted the whole collection of stories, the way things were described were really good i could kind of see pctures in my head similar to places i have seen alrady, it made them easier to underatnd for me, i just think that the way things are described make it easy enough to imagine what might actually be happening as things are said
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 1 February 2017
Wanted to hear all Sarah jane stories. Bit expensive but great for dw fans
|0Comment|Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 December 2012
This ten CD set has all ten 'The Sarah Jane Adventures' audio CD novels featuring investigative journalist Sarah Jane Smith and her young companions Luke, Maria, Clyde, Rani, and Sky, plus the Xylok supercomputer Mr Smith installed in the attic of Sarah Jane's home at 13 Bannerman Road, Ealing in West London. With the aid of Sarah Jane's little emerald green Nissan Figaro and her trusty sonic lipstick, they set about protecting the Earth from all manner of alien threats. The first eight audio CD books are read superbly by Sarah Jane (Elisabeth Sladen), with the last two read by Clyde (Daniel Anthony) and Rani (Anjli Mohindra) respectively. Don't read the story descriptions on the rear of the CDs though if you want to avoid plot spoilers.

The audio CD stories in this collection are:

1. `The Glittering Storm' - Sarah Jane Smith investigates a series of burglaries (released 2007)
2. `The Thirteenth Stone' - A school bus trip ends up at a mysterious stone circle
3. `The Time Capsule' - Sarah Jane deals with some dangerous alien artefacts
4. `The Ghost House' - A strange Victorian house and a lost child
5. `The White Wolf' - Sarah Jane and her young companions explore the secretive village of Wolfenden
6. `The Shadow People' - A camping trip sees the Sarah Jane and her young friends stranded in Snowdonia
7. `Deadly Download' - Sarah Jane has problems with a computer virus
8. `Wraith World' - An author's journal full of notes and sketches is given to Rani
9. `Children of Steel' - Sarah Jane and her friends buy an old brass ornament at an auction
10.`Judgement Day' - Sarah Jane is arrested by a race called the Veritas (released 2011)

Each Sarah Jane Adventures story is on a single audio CD and lasts about one hour. They were produced at the rate of two audio CDs a year from 2007 to 2011, and they are all stand-alone tales rather than serialised. Although each story is a brand new one, they are based on the original Sarah Jane CBBC TV program that ran for 5 seasons from 2007 until 2011. The audio CDs must be quite good as I was later convinced 'The thirteenth stone' was an actual TV episode, as I can remember scenes from the book as pictures.

Provided you don't already have any of the audio CDs, this 10 CD set is often the cheapest way to get the collection, and it comes in a nice cardboard box. Although sadly there will be no more audio CDs read by Sarah Jane herself, let's hope her young companions find time to record a few more new adventures (come'n Luke). These audio CDs have proved very popular with my 18 year old daughter, a committed Dr Who and Sarah Jane fan, and we rate this audio CD collection 5*. They perfectly compliment the children's BBC DVD sets of the five seasons of The Sarah Jane Adventures on TV - which we rated even higher than the other excellent Dr Who spin-off 'Torchwood', probably as Sarah Jane's ethos is much more in keeping with that of the good Doctor himself.

Elisabeth Sladen has also voiced nine other older audio CDs from 2002 to 2006 as Sarah Jane Smith, e.g. first in the series Comeback (Sarah Jane Smith), and these are related to her times as an investigative journalist on Earth after she ceased to be a companion of the 4th Dr Who and K9 (Dr Who Season 14, 1976). Chronologically they precede 'The Sarah Jane Adventures' and are aimed more at older teenager and adult Dr Who fans.
8 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on 5 January 2012
If you loved Sarah-Jane and loved Elisabeth Sladen, then you will love this box set, all her audio adventures in one set, it's the ultimate honour to Liz scince her passing, all her stories are read with enthusiasm, dedication and love, even those 2 read at the end by Clyde and Rani, as Liz wasn't around to make them, but even they sound fantastic and on top form.

Some of the best stories from Sarah Jane are here, if only they were actual episodes, they'd be amazing, anyway, you should definatly purchace this item, if not for the enjoyment, for the memory of a Woman and Character that did what they did with style, courage, determination, enthusiasm, respect and love, as this might be the last product they ever make of The Sarah-Jane Adventures, but we live in hope that the audio stories will carry on in the name of Elisabeth Sladen and Sarah-Jane Smith!!!
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here