Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
101
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.73+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
This DVD Series was a xmas present for my son which he was really pleased with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2012
Borgen is the successful DR political drama starring Sidse Babett Knudsen.
This set contains the first two series of Danish series Borgen as seen on BBC4 in the UK. This set is the official Danish version and is subtitled in English, however, it may be better to wait for the second series to be screened on BBC4 and then obtain the UK release as that will have subtitles as screened on BBC4 and not the English as translated in Copenhagen. Series 3 will be screened in Denmark in early 2013.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Unexpectedly Birgitte Nyborg becomes Denmark's new Prime Minister, head of a shaky coalition pulling in different directions. For how long can she maintain her integrity without descending to the smears, dirty tricks, hidden devious agendas of certain unscrupulous colleagues? What hope too for harmonious family life, as pressures of state continue daily to mount...?

Salute here a series that credits viewers with intelligence! Twenty episodes of about fifty five minutes explore issues and characters in depth. All the way through so much rings true - political manoevrings, divided loyalties, television news coverage, strains on personal lives. The entire cast rises to the challenge, the three leads especially: Sidse Babett Knudsen superb as the embattled leader; Pilou Asbaek as her brilliant but troubled spin doctor; Birgitte Hjort Sorensen as his on/off girlfriend, investigative reporter Katrine.

Painlessly much is learned here about complex issues, ranging from the plight of the Innuit in Greenland to problems besetting Afghanistan. Health care, immigration, the ethics of whistleblowing are amongst subjects raised. Occasionally themes seem based on very recent events. In fact several times episodes preceded real life occurrences. This is one of the fascinating facts revealed in Season 2's bonus feature - it almost an hour long and well worth checking out.

Do not be put off by the idea of subtitles. Briefly they perhaps overwhelm but very soon prove no problem - greatly preferred to the dubbing alternative.

It was assumed the series would last just two seasons, everything here thus rounded off satisfyingly. Only then came the news a third had been commissioned. Surely mission impossible for it to maintain the standard? Incredibly, by all accounts, it is even better.

Can a series really be as good as so many claim? Be assured that this one is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Remember West Wing, some are relating this new Scandanavian series to the US West Wing. Never, in a million years did I think of West Wing while viewing this series.

Sidse Babett Knudsen plays Birgitte Nyborg, the leader of the Moderate Party, who wants to be prime minister. She is a beautiful woman, but knows her own mind and is an example of the 'perfect' woman leader. Bent Serjo, played by Lars Knutzon, is her PR, spin doctor, Kaspar, and her husband, Philip, played by Mikael Birkkjaer, is a professor. She's also helped by some horrible opponents. We think we have it bad with our Tea Party opponents, these people are much worse.

Borgen, is the nickname for Denmark's Parliamentary building. It's a sensational drama with performances that drag us right into the middle of this political process. Everyone who has seen this series develops a crush on Sidse Babette Knudsen, her character is so amazing in many ways. Her relationship with her husband and her family, ring true to life. The relationships of those who surround her are also titillating and combined with the adventures bring this first season to one that leaves us ready for the next year.

Recommended. prisrob 01-27-14
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Get past the rather slow first couple of episodes and then you are hooked. Excellent series, brilliantly acted by all players. Best thing I have seen in ages - I may even try and learn Danish!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Having watched and very much enjoyed Series 2 on TV, we bought this product so that we could see Series 1 also. We debated whether to buy Series 1 only, but as we'd so enjoyed Series 2 the first time around we decided to go with both. This, in retrospect, was a big mistake.
We've given the product three stars overall, but this is the average of five stars for Series 1 plus one star for Series 2. The second series scores so little not because of the quality of the acting, the writing or the production values; on the contrary these are just as good as in the first series. What is wrong is that the second line of the subtitles (or the only line when a speech is short) is almost always totally illegible as it appears mostly below the bottom edge of the screen. Occasionally it can be read, but not very often. Of course, meaning can usually be understood by reference to context, but that's not the point. It's a shoddy piece of work, and looks as though English subtitles have been hastily and badly superimposed over the Danish version rather than properly incorporated. As such, it is not worth the money even though Series 1 was perfectly OK. Amazon should really be ashamed of selling product like this; it makes you wonder whether there's any quality control.
We've tried to find a way of expressing our complaint directly to the company, but they seem (deliberately?) to have made this very difficult so we don't really have any alternative to drawing the attention of potential buyers to ineffectual dubbing here.
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I remember being entranced with 'The House of Cards' trilogy, consisting of the 'House of Cards', 'To play the King'and'The Final Cut', which was about the shinannigens in British politics, with a brilliant performance from Ian Richardson(and the whole cast actually) as firstly the Chief Whip and then Prime Minister. So, when i saw the good reviews from Amazon reviewers of 'Borgen', i was somewhat sceptical as i thought they had not seen the original British series made in the 90's and did not think it could be bettered.

Well, how wrong i was, this Danish Television production is of such a high quality in every facet that it completely overshadows the British House of Cards Trilogy, mainly because the plot is so much more believable and very topical with the characters far more down to earth and natural. The acting by everyone is of the highest standard and the cinematograghy quite outstanding. In fact it is so well done that you sometimes wonder if it is not true in many respects.

Apart from the political side, it has everything a good drama should contain such as suspense, humour, pathos and excellent dialogue with superbly appropriate background music where applicable.

It is one television series that i would actually like to own, just to put on when i am fed up with the usual television mediocrity. If you have not seen it on television, i thoroughly recommend you either purchase it or rent it. The producers of 'The Killing',another excellent series, have followed it up with a series that is even better -Well done to Danish Television, who seem to be at the forefront of this genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Well done BBC4 for another excellent series.
Political drama with family life and all it's problems thrown in for fun.
I feel excited for anyone about to embark on series one and two at this moment be prepared to want to stay up all night for " just one more episode "
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This series starts with a strong premise - a female Prime Minister who unexpectedly finds herself with the opening to become Prime Minister. The task is to bring together and navigate the politics and personalities of a coalition of minority parties. The enemies are powerful and the politics ever shifting. Just as politics attracts striking ambitious and driven individual personalities and Borgen delivers characters who are well drawn, and compelling. The plot lines are credible, and as complex and unpredictable as real life. They unfold and interweave and the loyalties shift with the opportunism and ambitions. Settings are classic Danish, with much for anyone interested in architecture and design. Borgen has with high production values, strong script, it is well acted and directed, beautifully lit and locations are fabulous.
And finally Sidese Babette Knudsen has nailed the role of a female leader in these circumstances. Life as a mother, wife and politician is no bed of roses. She is complex, principled, tough with all the personal charisma and charm which makes her appeal and ability to persuade credible. A great role model for the 21st Century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
It takes the Scandinavians, who have made themselves famous of late for their crime series, to clinch another fabulous genre--political drama (although I suspect it owes a little bit of thanks to the American forerunner "West Wing"). A female politician surprisingly becomes Denmark's Prime minister and as each episode develops we watch her become more self-assured, successful, stubborn and powerful while slowly losing that which she held dearest at the beginning--her husband, her children, and her marriage. Each episode is a stand-alone contemporary story (immigration, big business, African civil wars, welfare state ideals) manoevered against the backdrop of a line-up of well-developed, supporting characters--the spinmaster, the brilliant firebrand young journalist, the brilliant 'washed-up' political journalist, the secretary, fellow politicians (friendly and foe), TV and media executives.... A masterful series. Five stars in every way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£29.99
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)