Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 April 2014
This book was chosen by my Book Club, which was the only reason for me to start reading it. It's not often I give up on a book, as I usually persevere to the end but, on this occasion, I really was not enjoying it. In fact, I got very bored with the whole thing - it certainly didn't make me "laugh out loud". After about a third of the way through the book, decided I had better things to do with my life than try to finish reading this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
This was a big disappointment for me. There was a very weak story line. I'd say this was just basically porn. Very much directed at men. I'm sure if you like this sort of thing then its great. I certainly did not laugh out loud at any point. I read about half of it and then couldn't keep going. I did give it a good go, but had to take it off my kindle as I couldn't stand it any longer. This was after I'd read a sample as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Not what I expected, but pleasantly surprised. It reads like a biography and one wonders if it's based on the writers own experiences? (I hope not). As a work of fiction, it's not exactly a parody, but just a well told story of the awkwardness of trying to find love, told from a man's perspective. I laughed out loud several times and the book kept me entertained throughout. It's one of the books that you can leave and come back to (which suits my lifestyle). If you enjoy a good laugh, then I would highly recommend it - a good book to take on holiday. If you like your comedies a little bit grittier, I would also highly recommend The Dealer by Tony Royden - another very funny book that I found in the Parody section.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 28 January 2015
As I read this book I reflected on comedians know for "working blue". As you might guess, blue comedy is comedy about sex that is off-color, risqué, or ribald. It can be pretty gross and crude, or it can have a certain cheerful or sly good humor. I saw Buddy Hackett perform once and his blue material was delivered in such a deadpan and yet twinkling style that it was both hilarious and shocking at the same time. The late Richard Jenni was a master of cheerful blue. Even old fashioned family-friendly artists like Jack Benny, Milton Berle, and George Burns could go blue in private venues. The middle ground, switching between light-hearted and possibly-uncomfortable falls to comediennes like Sarah Silverman or the late Joan Rivers. On the crude side there are plenty of contenders, with performers like Andrew Dice Clay going right up to the extremes of downright offensive.

I mention this just to sort of set out a background for my sense of this book, which you may be considering as a kindleunlimited freebie. Written as a memoir of sorts, we follow our hapless protagonist through an increasingly surreal series of romantic and sexual encounters. The book is a romance novel of sorts, (with a few unexpected touching bits), but we have to navigate a lot of amusingly dysfunctional sex first. Starting at an early age marked by bizarrely awkward relationships, our hero leads us through his early young adult years. Still bizarre. Still awkward. But at least trending upward toward that happy ending.

All of this is recounted wryly, ruefully, and with a sort of deadpan resignation that makes the author, ultimately, a reasonably winning character. Some of the exploits recounted are predictable and fall flat; some are bracingly funny in a painful sort of way. Occasionally there is a truth or two to be spied in the background. Many of the insights originate from the weird Greek chorus of observant friends and confidants who give the hero hopelessly ineffective advice or bits of wisdom.

The book is rarely crude and never mean. It is not gross, but it can be explicit. It is good humored, mainly because it seems hard to be both perplexed and offensive at the same time, and the author always opts for perplexed. If you are looking for a light and diverting read about the silly side of sex this might well be a good choice.

Please note that I found this book while browsing kindleunlimited freebies. I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I laughed out loud on a number of occasions whilst reading an idiot in love. It was steamy on occasions, but really funny. He was a true dating disaster. A recommend read if you want a laugh and don't mind a few steamy descriptions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
This was a funny story about a man on his journey to love with all its twists and turns. Worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This book provides a different perspective than the typical rom-com and I loved it! I'm not too crazy about these books because they tend to get a bit too much on the romantic side and get really boring really fast plus they get extremely unrealistic. This one is hilarious and its something everyone can relate to. I can't wait to read more from the author!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Absolutely laugh out loud in the first half, very enjoyable and a few unexpected and hilarious stories/observations. The only disappointment for me is that the latter end of the book was a bit unbelievable hence I didn't give this book 5 stars but nevertheless a good read, would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I found this book funny and heart wrenching all at the same time.
I was on the other side of those years, I laughed at the boys fumbling ways.
But we all grow up and learn, and Kieran did it his way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
I just love Kieran's story. Never before have I laughed so much reading a book, it was almost embarrassing. Deserving of all five stars and then some! Read it, you won't regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here