Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2017
I just bought myself a lovely, slim, Surface Pro, along with a nice carrying case and a slim mouse. I felt very swanky until I had to put a conventional mains plug in the bag, which ruined all my swank in one lumpen move.

Then I discovered this little beauty and elegance was restored to the world. I have no unsightly bulges, apart from my fat gut hanging over my trousers, but we're working on that, honest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 March 2017
I bought this 3.5 years ago, and I am still using it and very happy with it. I travel a lot with my work, and my laptop is an essential part of my kit.
The size of regular UK 3-pin plugs was annoying inside my computer bag - and the fact that the pins protrude sideways also make them an awkward shape to pack, and the pins can damage other items.
I forget where I first heard about these plugs - on TV or in a technical magazine - but as soon as I saw them I searched online to find where I could buy one.
I bought one with a 2.0m cable (this one) and also one with a 1.2m cable from a different seller (ThinPlug) For me the 2.0m cable is just about long enough in most cases, although if there was a 2.5m offering I would snap it up. I visit many different companies' work-sites and I do not always have space for my laptop immediately next to a power socket. the 2.0m cable is mostly, but not always, long enough.
On average I am away from home 2-3 weeks every month and this cable is used every day.

Once the "earth"-pin is folded away the plug is only slightly larger than a European style 2-pin plug. I have added a Velcro cable tie to the cable and the whole thing packs away neatly into a small canvas pouch together with other assorted power cables, USB cables etc.

It is great that this is BS-1363 compliant. The supervising electrical maintenance engineers of the companies that I visit have to approve any electrical devices that I might need to plug into their power-sockets and use on their site - I have never had a problem with this plug..

When I go to plug this in, I basically hold it between finger and thumb - with my thumb on top, and pushing slightly forward and down on the rear-end of the red earth-pin. This stops the earth-pin folding up as you try to push it into a socket.

My original laptop power-adaptor was something of a brick, and used a clover-leaf connection. So when I saw this item, I also bought a replacement slim-line power-supply from Kensington, that also had a figure-8 connection to match this lead and avoid use of an adaptor from figure 8 to clover-leaf.

I also bought the Thin-Plug USB charger "ThinCharger".ThinCharger 2100ma
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Review amended: Brilliant idea and good design, but after my original review it broke - so survived around 4-5 months with "light-medium" use (i.e. mostly plugged in one location, occasionally moved once/twice a week). Unfortunately, not robust enough IMO.

Original Review:

Brilliant! Great design allowing UK plugs to be easily stored in compact bags/luggage etc.

Held off on the review as wanted to see how this held-up under use, repeated unplugging/plugging in etc. but it's still in immaculate condition with no signs of wear after a few months of continuous use as a replacement/extension for my Surface Pro 3 charger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Perfect for laptop don't have to carry the cumbersome normal uk 3 pin plug in separate bag!
Great idea and ideal for any portable electronic kit that is double insulated and does not require earth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
I wanted a cable for my Surface Pro 4 that was able to sit inside a slim case and this really does the trick. Very robust and found no difficulties in plugging it in. Ideally I would of preferred a stubby cable of 15cm since it plugs into the power brick that has 1.5m of cable attached.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Very good product!! Design is great and length of cable is generous (around 1.5m). Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
as expected and on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Great idea, but the red earth pin snapped off after a couple of uses rendering it useful. No way to glue back on due the the way the plastic sheared into two pieces. . Shame.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Not sure why they call this Lindy as it is actually a thinplug (google for more tech info). Anyway it is great and provides an ideal solution to a vexing problem. British plugs are wonderfully robust but they were not conceived for a world of portable appliances and this overcomes that drawback.

I could only see this with a figure of 8 end and I actually needed cloverleaf. But you can also get on Amazon a Maplin figure 8 to cloverleaf adaptor which works fine. It also appears the plug can be unscrewed i.e. it is not welded so you could probably wire your own cable if you wanted, though I have not taken mine apart.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I really love these folding plugs, it stops me scratching anything when I am on the move with a laptop or other equipment. It is also easier to pack these cables away. It is also lighter than most cables with a plug. Highly recommended, I bought several.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)