Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
139
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2006
The Spy Who Loved Me contains some of THE iconic images from the James Bond film series - the Lotus Esprit, the skiing stunt complete with the Union Jack parachute - as well as Roger Moore in top form as our hero, James Bond. The film also has one of the great BOnd villans in Jaws, here genuinely menacing before he was reduced as a comic villan in Mookraker as well as a top quality Bond lady in Barbara Bach.

This DVD has cleaned up the original film and this copy of The Spy Who Loved Me is sparkling. However, I do have reservations in this Ultimate Edition DVD in comparing this DVD with the Special Edition release of five years ago. In my opinion there is not that much difference between the two, both have the same excellent documentaries and photographs and contain the same commentary from the makers of the film. There are only two significant differences - firstly, the menus are different, but not necessarily better, and secondly, the DVD contains a commentary from Roger Moore. For this alone the DVD is worth buying as the commentary is excellent and shows Moore as the charming man he is.

However, if you are not interested in the Moore commentary but already own TSWLM on DVD, then this DVD is not worth buying as it is not radically different from the previous release. For this reason alone, I have deducted one star from my rating as undoubtedly TSWLM is defintely a five star film.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Logline: When British and Soviet submarines are stolen, Bond and his female Soviet counterpart must work together to prevent a megalomaniac and his indestructible henchman using the submarines’ nuclear missiles to provoke world war three.

Although The Spy Who Loved Me is an enjoyable movie, it was made in the nineteen seventies, has dated somewhat and has faults, some a more forgiveable than others – the movie can’t really be blamed where film-making technology has improved.

The locations and sets are great: the gigantic supertanker set, Stromberg’s underwater base, the Egyptian pyramids and temples. But movies have better cinematography now, and a lot of the sets, the train, the submarine, various hotels and clubs, seem overlit and stagey.

The fight scenes are tame by modern standards, but that has its good and bad side: real fights aren’t the ‘ballet with fists’ we see today, and real punches don’t make a noise like an iron bar hitting concrete. And Bond actually looks scared when Jaws is beating the crap out of him, which is good.

The action set pieces and stunt work in The Spy Who Loved Me are some of the best in any Bond film. Iconic moments like Bond skiing off a cliff and then his parachute opening, the Lotus Esprit turning into a submarine, and the bows of the supertanker opening to swallow the submarine, are great and work perfectly. On the other hand, special effects to include the actors in the action scenes have come a long way. Some of the back-projection used to include close-ups of Roger Moore in the action scenes looks poor now.

Less acceptable is the script which is clunky, both in dialogue and plot mechanics, with a lot of brief logistical and plot exposition scenes. It also has Bond spout endless one liners, hardly any of which are actually funny. Scenes like Bond in Arab dress on a camel for no good reason are just an embarrassment. Also, by modern standards, the movie is quite slow – the opening half an hour in Egypt would be cut to about ten minutes these days – compare the pyramids scene in The Spy Who Loved Me to the similar scene at the opera in Quantum of Solace for example.

The acting is mediocre all round. Roger Moore is okay when he’s not leering or smirking, which is not often. His occasional serious scenes such as when he explains to Anya why he killed her lover are good, but there’s not many of them. Barbara Bach is beautiful, but wooden, and considering she’s supposed to be the KGB’s top agent she doesn’t get much to do.

Having said all that, The Spy Who Loved Me does still work, and I can forgive it a lot for the sight of Bond’s union jack parachute and the Lotus Esprit turning into a submarine.

See my full review, including full plot synopsis, on my website.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
The Spy Who Loved Me was an amazing Bond movie. The highlight was definitely Jaws and Naomi. Jaws just had no emotion and kicked ass while Naomi had the sassy attitude and the damn plane that fired missles non stop but the action was intense and it created some of the most memorable Bond characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Wanted my children to experience the James Bond family film nights that I remember! We got the fire going over Christmas and all settled down to watch this, sherry in hand for the grown ups, Quality Streets in easy reach. It was good fun but sooooo dated and of course, ultra sexist. However, my ten yr old son loved it and watched it to the end. My 12 yr old daughter was less impressed. The adults dozed off, so all in all it did conjure up family film nights of the past!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
For me this has to be one of the best 007 movies of all time starring super cool Roger Moore as the legendary secret agent James Bond. This movie has it all from the gadget laden and minisub converting Lotus Esprit S1. To the lovely Bond Girls such as Agent Triple x Barbara Bach the theme by Carly Simon and Jaws. Industrialist and madman played by Kurt Yugens as Stromberg who want world domination through a nuclear war. He steals a British Nuclear sub and a Russian one which are taken inside a huge super tanker. Bond is drafted in to track down Stromberg with Triple x and chase around the world with Jaws in pursuit. Finally Strombergs underwater palace named 'Atlantis' is destroyed by a torpedo from the American sub.

There are many memorable sequences in this film such as Bonds escape from the KGB in Austria, to the Esprit coming out onto the beach , the attack by Jaws in the valley of the kings in egypt to Bond facing off Stromberg at the end of the movie. The extras are axtensive on this new issue and are a little better than the previous issue. A documentary charts the films troubled beginning to script changes and a the building of the huge soundstage at Pinewood. To the detailed events on how Colin Chapman managed to get the then new Lotus Esprit to take on a starring role in the film. I'm not sure I would buy this issue as I have the previous one but it's a must for the Bond fan.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2002
After the very mediocre 'The man with the golden gun', the series returns with a vengeance. 'The Spy who loved me' is cinematic genius. It is easy to see why this film got people back into Bond when it was first released. The action is explosive and gripping, the women are quite possibly the most beautiful ever seen in a Bond film and the comedy instead of being forced and immature is absolutely hilarious! Moore gives his best perfomance of his 7 films and he is not let down by the supporting role from Barbara Bach and Richard Kiel. The music is fantastic, particularly the theme song by Carly Simon. If you do not own this video already then you have a bleak void in your collection which can only be filled by this film alone. Whether you are a Bond fan or not, I have no doubt that you will love this film right from the breathtaking opening sequence to the hysterical (and quite camp!!!) ending. Quite simply brilliant.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
It present its own times Bond film. Roger Moore is his elegant self and Barbara Bach has eyes to drown for. The world is still a neat paggage with full hope of detante. Most of it went a bit worse but this is not Bonds fault. Here i dont cry for digital effects. Its still more adventure film than pure action. In fact here I enjoy more the peacefull parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
The Spy Who Loved Me was the 9th in the Bond Releases and the 3rd of Roger Moore's appearances in the role of 007. Some people were critical of Roger Moore's appointment to succeed Sean Connery but, in this film he showed he was capable of the challenge and stamped his mark on this, putting in a first rate performance as Britain's main Super Spy. There is no need to go into the plot (surely everyone knows it by now), suffice to say it is very much back to the basic premise of James (GB) v Villain (The World) intent on world domination. There is plenty of action, suspense, special effects and chases. There is the truly menacing Jaws (Richard Kiel), a beautiful Russian Agent XXX (Barbara Bach), main villain Stromberg (Curt Jurgens) and perhaps one of the strongest Bond music scores, with opening titles to Carly Simon's great rendition of "Nobody Does It Better", it's all here. By the way the 7-note refrain from this theme turns up in "For Your Eyes Only" (see my next review). Oh and of course OO7 gets the lady in the end. All the original and traditional ingredients that made Bond one of the great British exports of its time. It's hard to find a weakness in this film production (for it is 5 star entertainment) so my only reason for not giving this a 5 star rating overall is that it slightly lacks in originality. It's just like making an omelette though, you expect eggs to be in it.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
In the light of Daniel Craig's exceptional portrayal of James Bond the levity with which Roger Moore tackled the role now seems a misjudgement but this was the first 007 film I saw at the cinema and can recall as an eleven year old just how exciting it was. These days it is fashionable to knock some of Roger Moore's efforts and whilst he remained in the role too long and became involved in stinkers like "Octopussy," this is probably one of the best Bond films he was involved with. I believe that the film had a huge budget for the time and the film's climax upon the villain Stromberg's super-tanker and eventually underwater base made a huge impression on me as a child.

Thirty -odd years later there are bits which look a bit creaky. Bond's flared trousers look to cause him more mischief than any of the villains and there are still a few scenes where there are clearly back projections. There are a number of sequences where the speed of the film is either slowed down or speeded up which make these moments seem a bit Benny Hill-ish. It's also strange that there is hardly a woman in this film who does either flirt with Bond or find him irresistable. That said, there are other elements which are impressive for that era. The sets are terrific and most of the filming was done on location. The cinematography looks amazingly good too on this DVD. It is also packed full of action.

There were two really memorable elements in this film which have always stuck in my mind. The first was the Lotus which could be driven underwater (after a chase sequence which is one of the film's highlight's) and the henchman "Jaws" who was chilling for my childhood self but you can appreciate nowadays was played with a light touch by Richard Keil. The humour is still funny albeit it is a bit of a shock to hear the innuendo that would not really be acceptable for film-makers in 2013. Q-department's technology looks a bit clunky these days too, not least Bond's ticker-tape watch! (Probably available at a car boot sale near you.) Barbara Bach is pretty if a little insubstantial although I feel that Curt Jurgens probably puts in the best acting performance in the film as a whole. Curious as well to note a few references to earlier films with the series still only 15 years in to the franchise.

In conclusion, whilst the film is caught between the classic Bond of Sean Connery and the likes of "Skyfall" which has set undeniably high standards, "The spy who loved me" demonstrates that Moore's approach was valid and that his earlier efforts in the role could produce a film like this which is a classic Bond. It's a shame he stayed on too long in the role and that some of the later films strolled in to pastiche. This is probably one of the most under-rated Bond film in the series.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
Generally accepted as THE best Bond film ever, The Spy Who Loved me has everything you could come to expect from a great Bond movie. The script is a model for all the great Bond movies, as stated in another review here, 'borrowing' elements from earlier movies. A moot point really, as all Bond films use a pretty much identical formula anyway, it's just here, it all comes together so smoothly. A great cast, reserved but non-the-less charismatic Bond Girl, a superbly over the top henchman in the shape of Jaws, a suitably hammy turn by Curt Jurgens as the webfingered Stromberg, some (for their time) great special effects and perhaps the best Bond Theme ever composed; (although the rest of the soundtrack is ok, John Barry's magic-touch is sadly missing here).

Superb and exotic locations and some fantastic action sequences (particularly involing the Lotus Esprit - I want that car!!) definitely make this an essential part of your DVD collection.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)