Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Octopussy [Blu-ray] [1983]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£13.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 2 February 2013
I can see why the franchise owners sort of reinvented the Bond story this century. They wanted to redo it after the embarrassing joke that these films had become. For some bizarre reason it seemed Broccoli and his scriptwriters thought making it lighthearted and jokey was the way to portray the dark and dirty world of espionage.

I found this tale to be rubbish. The fight scenes, as was usual with Moore, like a fairy dance. I mean, a group of toughened Afghan exile warriors bested by slender women in one-piece outfits? Pleease! One recurring irritating factor in the Bond films of this period was the habit of having the bad guys line themselves up to be beaten one by one rather than piling in and kicking the hell out of Bond. Another is the scriptwriters using dumb plots.

Take the opening scene for example. Bond is attempting to blow up a Cuban jet radar device, so he sneaks in disguised as a Cuban officer and plants a bomb there. He's captured, the bomb disarmed, and he then manages rto escape (as he alwayws does) and then pilots this jet he has all the time in the back of his trailer and ends up destroying the device anyway. Why go through the rigmarole of going in on foot when he could have used the jet in the first place?

Moore was a disaster as Bond. He had all the strength and manliness of a puff pastry cream cake. His fight sequences were and are embarrassingly bad. He manages to hang onto an aircraft doing acrobatics - he must have the grip of a monkey wrench - yet he can't hang onto his gun which he drops all too regularly. It must weight three tons, is all I can surmise.

Then again he's got this metal pen that contains acid that eats through all metals. Huh? So how can he keep the acid in the pen? Its worse than the old batman series.

The only decent distraction was Maud Adams but she struggled with this ludicrous script. There were some moments which had me laughing but I'm not sure they were meant to be funny.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2011
If you thought things could not get any worse after "For your eyes only" then prepare your self for a shock. This film is as flabby as Rodger Moore's waist line. Where do you start with all the things that are wrong with this dreadful film? The music is dire, the story is incoherent drivel, the villians are third rate pantomine. And to cap it all Bond gets dressed up as a clown.
The early Bonds had style, sex and menace in spades. This is a damp squib!
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 August 2017
Growing up in the late seventies and early eighties, it’s fair to say that (despite the numerous amounts of evidence to the contrary supporting Connery) Roger Moore is my favourite Bond. I watched (the absurdly-titled) ‘Octopussy’ when it came out in 1983. I was six at the time and I loved it. However, now many decades later I can saw that there are Bond films that stand the test of time and will be enjoyed by future generations just as much and there ae Bond films that only appeal to you as a child. Now, I can see that Octopussy is probably the latter. Even as a cynical adult I still watch it and enjoy it for what it is (plus the nostalgia it induces in me), however, it’s probably the (first) best example that those who like to criticise Moore’s interpretation of Bond use when they say how much better Connery was as the superspy.

Many liked Connery because of his darker take on Bond. People felt that Moore was often too silly and self-knowing to be taken seriously. As I said, I personally liked Moore best and he probably peaked during ‘The Spy Who Loved Me,’ after that it was a slow descent into a little too much reliance on glib one-liners and parodies that would make Austin Powers blush. It focuses on a Soviet General who is trying to finance a new European war via purchasing rare jewellery. Naturally, Bond must stop a few bombs going off along the way.

Along with the obligatory car chases and punch-ups we see the first ever instance of a Bond girl returning for a new film. Maud Adams plays a different role than the one in ‘The Man With the Golden Gun,’ but I’m not really sure why she was chosen as she’s hardly the most memorable Bond girl of the franchise. Plus the villain is kind of weak, too. Gone are the days of ‘Jaws’ or ‘Blofeld’ and in their place are a forgettable Indian bad guy and the generic Russian general who’s always out to crush the decadent West.

Overall, I enjoy the film because I pretty much will watch anything Bond-related and I have a soft spot for the campiness of the Roger Moore era (even when it does come across more like a Flash Gordon movie during some of the climactic fight scenes!). However, I do appreciate that ‘Octopussy’ will not be for everyone. If you lean towards liking ‘dark and gritty’ Bond then you’re really going to have a hard time taking Bond seriously when he’s swinging through the jungle while they overlay a ‘Tarzan-like’ noise over him.

Perhaps the most pertinent thing to point out is that Bond has to infiltrate a circus and, in doing so, decides to (perfectly) disguise himself as a clown. He then flaps and waddles in his oversize shoes past all manner of guards in order to stop mass genocide. It’s a daft sight, but then it’s a pretty daft film. If you’re okay with that, then you’ll hopefully get some enjoyment in this over-the-top spy film (and not think that it’s a complete horse’s a$$ - as depicted in the opening stunt!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
Octopussy is one of the best films of the Roger Moore era. It boasts a very complex and interesting screenplay filled with exotic characters. Although the plot centers on a megalomaniac, this time the political overtones make his threat of a nuclear crisis quite plausible and the co-operation between East and West to stop him signifies the end of the Cold War.

The film not only features one of Roger Moore's most effective performances as 007, but also presents an impressive and talented cast. The producers wisely keep silly humor to a minimum, although a bit of it does manage to creep in (Bond gives a Tarzan yell while swinging on a vine, for example) Ironically, the sequence which could have been mishandled quite easily - Bond trying to disarm a nuclear bomb at a circus while dressed as a clown - is played seriously and generates a good deal of tension.

The breathtaking visuals of India make a unique background for a Bond film, and the local sites are creatively used to their utmost potential. (Alan Hume's cinematography ignores the poverty and makes the nation look like a paradise.)
The film also benefits from some well directed action sequences and a pre-credits scene that ranks among the best in the series. Aided by a wonderful John Barry score, Octopussy comes close to hitting an all time high for Roger Moore's 007.

Octopussy [Blu-ray] [1983]
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
I purchased this film to complete my collection of the 7 Roger Moore James Bond films. While I would say there were some great and very original action sequences, overall the film was a little bereft of the same levels of suspense found in most of the other Moore Bonds. I'm not sure if that makes it the weakest of the 7, but I would certainly say Live And Let Die, The Spy Who Loved Me, From Your Eyes Only and A View To A Kill are stronger than this effort.

My other complaints would be that at various stages in the film there was vertical tracking lines on the far left and right of the picture. This isn't the case on other older films I own on DVD, so why on this one? Also, Maud Adams already appeared as a different character in The Man With The Golden Gun, so her casting here as the Bond heroine seemed a curious choice.

Other than that however, this a good nostalgic film to watch, with more than the occasional moments of suave dialogue from the hero. Also the complete absence of CGI in modern action films (a pet hate of mine) and OTT wall-to-wall bloodletting in the films of today (in which the audience are patronised and categorically made aware of the gory nature of a villain's demise rather than use their imagination) make the film more viewable. Plus, Rita Coolidge's 'All Time High' has got to be the best Bond theme ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 June 2012
Octopussy is directed by John Glen and adapted to screenplay by George Macdonald Fraser, Richard Maibaum and Michael G. Wilson. It stars Roger Moore, Maud Adams, Louis Jordan, Kabir Bedi, Steven Berkoff, Vijay Amritraj and Robert Brown. Music is scored by John Barry and cinematography by Alan Hume.

Bond 13 and 007 is assigned to find the link between the murder of 009 and the Fabergé egg found in the slain agent's possession. His investigation leads him to uncover a fiendish plot by a rogue Soviet General to detonate a nuclear device that will leave Western Europe vulnerable to a Soviet attack.

Undeniably the film that should have been Roger Moore's last as James Bond, Octopussy contains both the best and worst of the James Bond franchise. On the plus side is a very good core story that encompasses intelligent political overtones that were prevalent of the time period. A nuclear crisis is in the air and the East and the West, who have until now been casting suspicious eyes over each other, must co-operate to avert disaster. This closing down of the Cold War is nicely etched into the plot structure by the makers. The cast assembled is mostly impressive, with Adams and Jordan doing great characterisations, the photography by Hume makes India look like a paradise, Glen orchestrates some excellent action set-pieces, including one of the best pre-credits scenes of the series, and Barry's score is a swirl of romanticism and invention. The title song, All Time High sung by Rita Coolidge, is magnificent and this writer's personal favourite of all the Bond theme songs. While there's a new man enviably following the much missed Bernard Lee by playing M (Robert Brown) and Q (Desmond Llewelyn) gets a bigger role to play in the story.

Sadly, even though Moore is continuing the good acting of Bond he achieved in For Your Eyes Only, he is looking his age and not physically suited to the action. He is also saddled with having to do moronic things like swinging on a vine whilst doing the Tarzan jungle yell. It's pretty painful to watch and you have to wonder who on earth thought it was a good idea? There's moments when a silly bit of humour undermines the good plotting, while Berkoff and Amritraj are in turn over the top villainy and scarcely believable as a field agent. The film looks cheap, a rarity for a Bond film, and the smartness of the story often gets buried beneath the weight of convolutions. Most galling is that we should have had a classic Bond movie, a gargantuan feast of sets and tough secret agent shenanigans, for this was the year when Bond as we know it was facing off against the Kevin McClory rival Bond movie, Never Say Never Again, and that had Sean Connery in it; though he was also like Moore in his early 50s and too old for the suit.

The two films never met head to head at the box office, because McClory's was delayed. Both films made monster cash, with Octopussy grossing $184 million and Never Say Never Again copping $160 million, Bond, and the two actors playing the role were enough to ensure the cash tills rang loud and proud. But both films were solid rather than special, the profit margins were high but the quality wasn't. Octopussy has a bit of something for all types of Bond fans, but they just can't make a successful whole. From the Eon side of things there surely had to be a new direction, some decision making assertiveness instead of fluctuating between earthy Bond and ridiculous button pushing Bond, it needed some vim and vigour brought back into the fray. Moore planned to retire, and rightly so, was we about to see the dawn of a new Bond era? 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
This is a review for Octopussy (Ultimate Edition 2 Disc) DVD.

Poor Roger Moore! His Bond movies get more criticism than most. Yes, they can be extremely silly, but they're also never less than entertaining.

Take, for example, the moment in this one where a dishevelled Bond, having been hunted through the jungle by the main villain, wades through a river to a tourist vessel and is helped aboard, "Are you with our group?" inquires one of the female tourists, "No, Madam. I'm with the economy tour!" Bond replies sarcastically. I've often found myself yawning or fidgeting throughout Pierce Brosnan's or Daniel Craig's efforts (apart from Casino Royale). Roger Moore's Bond movies, on the other hand, always leave me smiling!

The biggest cringe factor in this one is the Tarzan yodel as Bond swings through the trees.

This movie, however, has some fine Bond moments - the opening adventure before the main titles for instance and his attempts to stop an atomic bomb from exploding on an American air force base another.

Film ratio is 2.35:1. Audio is DD 5.1. Picture and sound quality are exemplary.

Extras include, commentary track, documentaries, featurettes, trailers, photo gallery, etc.

Not the best, but certainly not the worst in the series. Oh, and the late Louis Jourdan is very amusing as the main villain of the piece - see my headline for one of his many witty barbs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2006
Roger Moore's sixth Bond outing is fantastic. The plotline is a tangiable story because it can actually happen. The friction between the Russian generals is superbly played and General Orlov is an impressive villian. But, the main villian of this film is Kamal Khan. He is one of my all time favourite villians, along with Scaramanga and Auric Goldfinger. Khan is a brilliant character because he is played with a degree of menace by Louis Jordan and has some liknesses to 007's character. The Bond girl, Octopussy, is played with considerable charm by Maud Adams (who played Andrea Anders in The Man with the Golden Gun) and is an mysterious character as the audience do not know her real name.

Octopussy is one of my favourite Bond films because of the locations. India, Germany and of course Britain are visited. The Indian streets look beautiful in the taxi chase and Kamal Khan's Monsoon Palace continue the beautiness. An extended apperance of Q is always welcome and Roger Moore's take of James Bond in this film is excellent.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2002
This is one of Roger Moore's best films in the series, providing a well balanced mix of the camp humour that we know and love him for, with enough spectacular stunts and set pieces to keep the audience on the edge of their seats as well as rolling in the ailes wuith laughter. Admittedly, the story makes absolutely no sense, as Bond chases villain Kamal Khan (Louis Jordan) across Germany and India on the case of a valuable faberge egg and a nuclear bomb primed to start World War 3. Characters events and motives are often flawed and pointless, if made clear at all to the audience. However, this is true of nearly all Bond films, so it is likely to be overlooked by most audiences. In traditional Bond style, the film does provide something for everybody. The exciting pre-credits sequence, probably the best from a technical point of view, the humour - as Bond yells like Tarzan whilst swinging through the jungle, and the developed and well scripted relationship between Bond and his leading lady. In fact it is Maud Adams, playing the eponymous 'Octopussy' who provides us with one of the series strongest female characters. She is exotic and beautiful, brave and courageous yet not physically overpowering in a masculine way. She is a match for Bond, but not simply because she can point a gun as well, like the 'female Bond' characters such as Anya Amasova and Holly Goodhead. We learn about Bond's character too, without venturing into the 'dark' family drama realm that TWINE explored.
Like all films of the Roger Moore era, Octopussy includes some of the most memorable and iconic set pieces of the series. Perhaps the most effective is the scene where Bond is menaced by a yo-yo buzz saw, or that where he must vanquish the villain's henchman whilst hold on for his life on top of a plane mid-flight. John Barry's score accompanying these scenes heightens the excitement, as well as his theme tune (sung by Rita Coolidge) both proving relevant to the storyline and accompanying the overall tone of the film.
Not his best (that's A View to a Kill) but easily one of Roger Moore's better.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2014
This film originally came out in 1983 and went head-to-head with Sean Connery's unofficial Bond film, titled Never Say Never Again. I think that Octopussy is a better film, though only slightly. It was Roger Moore's penultimate Bond film and is one of his worst. He was 56 years old when this was made and he looks it. I have never agreed with Bond being played by such an old actor, which is one reason why I didn't really like Moore's later Bond films. The plot of this film is also very complicated and just seemed to be the excuse for the cast and crew to have a free holiday in India. The Bond girls are also not very impressive in this film and Maud Adams, who plays the title character, Octopussy, must go down in history as the oldest Bond girl in the series. It also has some very silly sequences and some very cartoonish, pantomime villains, the worst offender being Steven Berkoff's renegade Russian general, who is very over-the-top and exaggerated in every way. I just could not take this film seriously at all, especially with it following on the coat tails of the much superior For Your Eyes Only. This isn't quite the worst film in the series, but it comes a close second. Two stars from me. This film gives excellent proof why Roger Moore should have retired as Bond much sooner. A disappointment on every level.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)