Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 9 April 2011
The low marks on amazon for this film speak for themselves! this is easily the worst Bond film of all time in my opinion, for the most part it's unimaginative,dull,lacking in scope and sadly Connery looks completely bored with bond! This isn't really a surprise as when George Lazenby left the role United Artists went all out to re-hire Connery even though Bond producers Cubby Broccoli and Harry Saltzman had already hired a replacement in American actor Jim Garvin to portray Bond for the next few films. Garvin's contract was paid in full and Connery agreed to return on a 1 picture deal along with a deal for 2 extra films of his choosing to be funded by United Artists and a fee of more than $1.25 million which at the time (1971) was a record fee for an actor and for a short while was listed in the Guiness book of records.

Connery's performance in this is largely stilted and dull, if this doesn't tell you he did this just for the money then nothing will convince you! Connery also seems to have aged quite a lot between "You only live twice" and this film and with a somewhat hefty weight gain too!, though only 41 Connery was already looking too old for Bond, though a great actor and star he never aged particularly well i thought. Of course as we all know Connery reprised his role of bond some 12 yrs later in "Never say never again" !

"Diamonds are forever" also lacks the great locations were used too, the staple of all great Bond films, with the Las Vegas setting somewhat uninspired and dull it plays well below it's budget. Charles Gray makes a pretty good Blofeld but why wasn't Telly Savalas asked back as he played the role in the previous film? I never quite grasped why they constantly re-cast the role? Jill St John is a pretty affable Bond girl and John Barrys score amongst his best work but that can't make up for a tired story and dull setting.

Lowry digitals remastering is again splendid and the features excllent inc an interview from 71 with Connery and the usual making of and commentary etc.

Roger Moore's debut some 2 years later in "Live and let die" would be far superior to this and it's shame that Connery's last Eon Bond production was something of a let down, if your starting your Bond collection then make this your last port of call.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2008
There's not a great deal to be said about this film that hasn't been said on these boards before. With the blood, sweat and tears pour out in OHMSS, we were introduced to a new, grittier kind of Bond. I don't know who decided that it didn't work, but clearly someone did. 'Diamonds Are Forever' was the follow up, and is cemented at the very bottom of most Bond lists.

Sean Connery looks like he couldn't care less what's going on in this film. It seemed to be a case of take the money and... stroll. The plot is all but non-existent but still manages to confuse and bore. The action is timid and dull, the locations are far from inspired and Charles Gray is nothing short of pathetic in the role of Bond's nemesis, Blofeld, who seems to have gone from uber-villain to uber-camp cabaret act. Seriously, he's about as fearsome as my grandmother.

It is important to bear in mind that Blofeld murdered Bond's wife at the end of the last film. In spite of this, Bond seems to consider him a mild annoyance in this movie, rather than the object of his blind rage. The scenes between the two of them look like they were shot on different days, there is that little tension between them.

Thinking about it, there is really nothing at all memorable about this tripe. Even John Barry's score felt mediocre after OHMSS. This film is a disgrace to the franchise and to Connery's career. The only small redemption is that Connery's used the whopping fee he earned for this to make 'The Offence' with Sidney Lumet. Ignore 'Diamonds' and watch that. You'll thank me later.

As terrible as this movie is, the new DVD is fantastic. As with all the new Bond DVDs, the picture and sound have been remasted to stunning effect. Watching these films on an upscaling DVD player, you will be amazed at how clean they look, sound and feel. Extras are superb too, with a nice 30 minute documenatry and a wealth of other tidbits.
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2018
This is one of those Bond films where it got pretty poor reviews and when I start to pick it apart you kinda see why, but I still enjoy the movie and it prefererable to me than many of Connery's previous Bonds, Excluding Goldfinger. I grew up with Moore & Dalton as Bond and kinda saw Connery's Bonds as old in style & wasn't interested in them. Until in my latter teens I started buying the collection & got into Connery's films more. I have a soft spot for Diamonds Are Forever and it's one of those that gets a bad mouthing but I like. There are without doubt some utterly silly moments in the film, the mud bath for plastic surgery, or doppleganger making purposes, eh!, the voice changer with the phone!, the famous failed car stunt that filps in a tight space, (a result of a mistake while filming) & well basically everything that is suposed to be threatening about Blofeld in this film, especially where he dresses in drag. I like Charles Gray as an actor but his performace here is more Pantomime villian than evil mastermind & he is about as villianous as the common cold, Connery as Bond could clearly have him in a couple of thumps. But if you're willing to forget all this daftness & just take it as entertainment, then it works fine. I place it on a par with Roger Moore's second Bond outing in 1974's The Man With The Golden Gun. Both are not really the go to Bond film and have there faults,and get quite poor reviews, but if you're in the right mood you can plonk either on and end up enjoying them. Watching Diamonds Are Forever on blu ray with it's crystal clear picture it feels so new and recent as if it's a modern film set in the early 70s. There are a few ooh err! rasied eyebrow moments Bond's violent treatment of women, and a questionable scene of a black woman turning into a gorilla which I dunno if it has rascist undertones or not, but doubt it would be accepted by a modern audience. There are some cracking humourous one liners & remarks peppered through out the script again like in TMWTGG. As for Blofeld's plan I'm not 100% sure. Stealing Diamonds to send into space and threaten world leaders with a space lazer or something similar. It's not overly believable that this Blofeld would be able to carry out such henious plans, so the plot is a little streached as a result, for me anyway. Shirley Bassey returns for the 2nd of her three Bond themes (Goldfinger, This & Moonraker) to sing a theme tune that has since become famous. This was both Sean Connery's return & Final (Offical) James Bond & he famously fell out with the Bond producers, accusing them of being greedy. In a kind of one fingered gesture in 1983, he did return to compete with official Bond Octopussy when playing a much older Bond in Thunderball remake "Never Say Never Again". All in all this is an enjoyable romp of a film. The blu ray has all the special feature the DVD has
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2017
The last proper Connery Bond film and disappointing that he did not use his influence to change some of the very poor dialogue sprinkled throughout the film and tighten the script. Having said that, this is an excellent finale ( all the other Connery Bond films are 5 stars for me ) and one that is miles ahead of the Roger Moore pantomime Bonds. The storyline is terrific with a lovely Howard Hughes subplot and the diamond smuggling operation element is given time to develop. Oh, how times have sadly changed with no back story of any kind in the Craig era. However, what really sets this movie apart from the Craig era are the interesting and different characters...Shady Tree, Williard White, Burt Saxby, Plenty O' Toole ( the hotel run in with the mobsters is one of the great all time Bond scenes ), Morgan Slumber, the lovely old woman smuggler and the superb Wint and Kidd. These last two assassins are a tremendous addition partly because they are in the story from the very beginning and also because they are so untypical assassins...so unsuspecting as assassins should be and they also cleverly vary their mode of operation ( the South Africa desert scene is wonderful ). The action sequences are terrific ...the lift fight is one of the greatest period and the Bamber and Thumper turn around is brilliant. The idea of going from the desert buggy chase to the downtown Vegas car chase shows a panache sadly missing from the more recent movies...and no casino is destroyed! The high wire raid on White's penthouse is breathtaking and the cremation escape is truly magical displaying the great Connery era style of brains over brawn. The use of the locations is outstanding with a real sense that you are actually in South Africa, Amsterdam and Nevada...unlike the Craig era movies. The raid on Blofeld's Baha launch site ( what a very clever idea ) could be improved by a tighter script especially the dialogue , removing the silly tape switch mix up ( which almost takes the movie into the farcical Moore era ) and allowing us to see the escape from the ocean. However, this is a minor criticism and Bonds escape and the helicopter raid are brilliant. The Blofeld storyline is very clever and has ,of course, been utilised in a later Bond. Jill St John is perfect as the diamond smuggler lover. Connery is on fine form effortlessly portraying charm, grit and cunning although he would have refused to have spoken some of the dodgy dialogue in the earlier Bond movies despite this movies deliberate lighter tone. I can watch this movie over and over. Must not fail to mention that the music is quite brilliant enhancing both the drama and excitement and there is plenty of each in this great movie. There is so much more to enjoy in this fine swan song.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2007
After the "failure" of On Her Majesty's Secret Service, the Bond Producers splashed out a fortune to bring back Sean Connery (although we should remember that it was George Lazenby who turned down the chance toi return as Bond). It may have been the right thing to do to ensure the future of the franchise, but it didn't result in one of the great films in the canon.

The opening with Blofeld is too daft for words and despite the otherwise promising storyline start, once we get to Blofeld's double and the fact that the stealing of a cassette tape is the final foil to the villain's plans, you've kind of lost all sense of belief in the story.

Throw in a useless Felix Leiter, Jill St John (one of the most annoying Bond Girls in the cannon, Charles Gray's limp and insipid Blofeld and things aren't looking good.

Thankfully, Connery is always watchable as Bond, even when going through the motions, Mr. Wint & Mr. Kidd are a memorable double act and there are some great set pieces, such as Bond's fight with Bambi & Thumper and the extended moon buggy/car chase, which keep the entertainment levels high enough.

It's just a pity though that Connery's final (official) bow as Bond had to be so anti-climatic.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2015
In my view, Sean Connery is definitely the best actor for the role of Bond. He manages the difficult task of looking both urbane and hard enough for the job, simultaneously. However, he is too often let down by the banalities of the script and the woodenness of the acting around him. Some of the interiors for 'Diamonds Are Forever' are excellent - particularly for Blofeld's hideout on the upper floors of a Las Vegas hotel - but too often these interiors are wasted on the banality of what is said and done within them.

Jill St John as 'Tiffany Case' certainly looks the part, but her acting skills are on a par with the worst of amateur dramatics. Charles Gray does a good turn (possibly the best) as Ernst Stavro Blofeld. The word 'feline' comes home to roost with him. And the film does have some interesting elements. Notably a pair of gay killers and the duo of stunning-looking female assassins. I also enjoyed the fight in the lift, or elevator, which takes place towards the beginning. But as so often with a Bond film, I came away from 'Diamonds Are Forever' with the feeling of potential unrealised. It could have been so much more effective had it been made with more intelligence, flair and imagination. The plot is both formulaic and preposterous, and one loses interest in it some time before the film ends.

By the time of 'Diamonds Are Forever', Sean Connery is visibly pushing middle-age, and Lois Maxwell, Bernard Lee and Desmond Llewellyn all look too old for their parts. I also found that what passes for witty banter in the film now sounds just vulgar and embarrassing. It would not be until 'Casino Royale' that we would catch a glimpse of what a Bond film could be. Right through the intervening years (and possibly from the start, actually) the demands of the franchise - that the film be formulaic and conventional - effectively stifled creativity and imagination. What this means is that although the films turned a profit at the time, in retrospect they do look more than a little stilted.

Oh, and I enjoyed the 1971-ness of the film. In terms of style and design, that happens to be one of my favourite periods, which is why I chose to watch 'Diamonds Are Forever' in the first place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
This was originally released in 1971 and was Sean Connery's last official Bond film, after he was tempted back with a very substantial salary. However, if you ask anyone what their favourite Bond film is, I am pretty sure this film would never get a mention. I have never regarded this as one of the better Bond films, in fact, my opinion of it is quite the opposite. The film has a very boring plot, revolving around diamond smuggling and seemed a bit inappropriate for a British agent like Bond to be investigating. Connery also looks thoroughly bored throughout the film and it is easy to detect that his heart wasn't in it and he was doing it purely for the money. The two hitmen in the film, Wint and Kidd, are also too camp to be scary and are about as much of a physical threat to Bond as Hinge and Brackett. I also thought that the casting of Charles Gray as Blofeld was wrong, because he was much too mannered and charming to be the head of SPECTRE and he was no more menacing than Wint or Kidd. The Bond girls in this film are also nothing special. I know that a lot of people rave about Jill St. John as Tiffany Case, but she is nothing special to look at, in my opinion. The film was also another of the sillier Bond films, with some pretty cringe-inducing scenes, but then I think that the director, Guy Hamilton, seemed to specialise in the "silly" kind of Bond films, as his other Bond output proves. I am giving this film two stars, just for the presence of Connery and also for the title song by Shirley Bassey, which is also good. I cannot recommend this film to anyone, even staunch Bond fans would probably hate this. I suggest you check out any of the 60s Bond films, or any of the others that followed this and give this a wide berth, unless you desperately need it for your Bond collection. I can think of no other reason why you should buy this. For completists only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2009
Sean Connery was paid over a million dollars to return to the role of James Bond in this flabby comedy-thriller, probably his worst (official) outing as 007. It is so different in tone from On Her Majesty's Secret Service, and pays so little attention to the series' previous film in terms of plot, that one can only conclude that it was designed solely to purge all memories of George Lazenby's Bond from the public consciousness. It actually works best as a direct follow-up to Connery's previous Bond film, You Only Live Twice, as it starts in Japan, features 007 again trying to prevent Blofeld from messing about with space-age technology (though here it's satellites rather than shuttles), and makes no reference at all to Bond's recently deceased wife. Diamonds Are Forever's Bond girls, Jill St John and Lana Wood, are very foxy in their trashy Las Vegas way, but the film, with its nonsensical storyline, torrent of gay jokes, weak climax, and disinterested performance from the leading man, is heavy going indeed. The wonderful Charles Gray, though hilariously camp as Blofeld, unfortunately strips all sense of menace from the character; this version of the SPECTRE boss would be more at home facing off against Adam West's Batman than Connery's Bond. Also, we get the very weakest interpretation of the Felix Leiter character so far, in the shape of a dumpy little actor called Norman Burton; it seems churlish to repeatedly have a pop at something that is, in the grand scheme of the Bond movies, essentially quite meaningless, but the continual re-casting of this character, with actors of wildly varying age, acting style, and even ethnic background, really grinds my gears. Since the Eon team clearly had no interest whatsoever in treating this re-occurring figure with the same respect as M, Q, and Miss Moneypenny, it is amazing that they continued to use Leiter for so long. This movie's useless version of the character just exemplifies the overall lack of care taken in producing a film that was meant to return the Bond series to 'business as usual' mode, but in fact ended up making it look even more tired and out of ideas than ever.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
This is a review for Diamonds Are Forever (Ultimate Edition 2 Disc) [DVD].

Sean Connery returns for his last (official) outing as James Bond.

This entry in the series is, um, really "camp" in that it has two gay assassins, Mr. Kidd and Mr. Wint and SPECTRE boss Ernst Stavro Blofeld disguises himself as a (rather ugly) woman at one point.

I'd say this film is played mostly for laughs than it is for action. Perhaps this was done purposely as the next Bond was Roger Moore and, as we know, his take on the role was more humorous.

Film ratio is 2.35:1. Audio is DD 5.1. Both are very good.

Extras - a veritable gift basket of goodies.

An okay movie in the series, but definitely not one of the best.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 October 2013
I'll start with a fact: most serious Bond fans HATE Diamonds Are Forever. I used to watch it when it was on TV in the eighties (when I was a child) and I loved it. Nowadays, I guess I can see where people are coming from. It is a bit of an odd-one-out among the franchise.

Sean Connery returns as Bond (after the unsuccessful George Lazenby took over the titular role for a single outing). Now he's older. And it shows. Plus it doesn't really carry on from On Her Majesty's Secret Service; it feels like it's more a continuation of Connery's last Bond film, You Only Live Twice. Also, due to Lazenby's Bond not being financially profitable in American, Diamonds Are Forever is conveniently sent almost completely in the USA (including the first ever American Bond girl). Also, to add a few more pennies to the film's takings, we have plenty of product placement throughout. Therefore, Diamonds Are Forever seems to have its share of oddities before you even get to the plot.

Bond chases diamonds to America and ends up getting tangled up with his arch enemy Blofeld (again). There's not much to the story, but that doesn't matter too much as it flows along nicely. However, one criticism that was always applied to Roger Moore's Bond films was that they couldn't be taken seriously. People seem to prefer Connery's more serious outings. However, almost every line has a - naughty - double meaning to it and some of the situations do border on the comical.

Then, just when you think you're in a smutty comedy, you have two of the creepiest hitmen ever seen on screen thrown in there. By today's standards, they're not too politically-correct. But whether it was then or now, they still seem to have been airdropped in from a much darker story.

Diamonds Are Forever is a mixed bag. Most serious Bond fans will hate it. I only like it because I remember it from my childhood and I never really got all the plot holes and silliness that came with it.

Don't hate it too much. It's not that bad, but it certainly is the `odd Bond out' from Connery's time as the secret agent. You may only watch it once, but if you like Roger Moore's `lighter' Bond, you may get some enjoyment out of this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)