Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2017
If you enjoy Castle you'll enjoy the books. This is a brilliant addition to the collection. Came in perfect condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
I don't know who the actual author is but he/she does a darn good job. If you like Castle on the TV who'll like this even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Good fun even without the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
This is an easy summer beach read and gets you do involved you can't wait to turn the page. Even when finished you want more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Enjoyable. Good easy reading and relates in an interesting way to the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Frozen Heat is by far the best novel in the Nikki Heat series. In here we have lots of action, mystery, secrets and lies, and a love affair that comes to full blossom in the streets of Manhattan, Boston and Paris.

While reading this book I have somehow felt that Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook have stepped into Derrick Storm's shoes; however that's because the novel at hand reads not only as a classic whodunit but also as a spy story.

The body of a woman, stubbed to death, is discovered in a suitcase and Nikki Heat is called to the scene to investigate. And before too long she's shocked to discover that the suitcase used to belong to her. It was stolen by the man who murdered her mother.

But why? Why did he use that specific suitcase to dispose of the body? What does he seek to achieve by leaving such an obvious clue behind? Was the dead woman in some way connected with her mother? If yes, how did she know her? And when?

She feels at a loss at first, and as the story unfolds, she doesn't get to feel any better. In fact, if it wasn't for Jameson, she'd probably go nuts. Her partner in bed and in crime solving, is always there, for whatever she needs. And since he took a bullet for her, while trying to save her life, he's become a hero of sorts for the cops. And it's exactly this newfound popularity that they are going to use in order to solve the crime; but also, oh yes, some of his money.

As we follow Nikki and Jameson from place to place, while they retrace her mother's footsteps and she's trying to make peace with her dad, we see this strong and determined woman at her most vulnerable moments. The past seems to haunt her all the way, and until she finds the answers she's looking for, she's not going to rest. But will the answers give her the peace of mind that she needs? By the looks of it, no, they won't.

So, what do you do when you find out that your mother was not at all the person that you remembered her to be? How do you react when her dark secrets come to light? How do you live today and plan for tomorrow when you come to realize that most of yesterday was nothing but a lie?

The reader watches Nikki closely as she takes a deep breath and dives into her mother's secret past, and in the end he can feel nothing but sympathy for her plight. However, at the same time, one can say that that poor soul is blessed since right there, standing next to her, is Jameson, somebody who would do everything in his power to help and protect her, and, most important of all in times of darkness, make her smile.

Well-written, action-packed, rich in character development and with light touches of humor, Frozen Heat is the complete package. Read and enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At first, it looks like just another bazaar murder to NYPD Detective Nikki Heat. A woman has been found in a suitcase in a delivery truck's freezer compartment. But then Nikki takes a closer look at the suitcase and discovers her initials in the top. She carved them there when she was a little girl. And the suitcase was stolen when her own mother was murdered a decade ago.

Pulling in every available person, including writer and boyfriend Jameson Rook, Nikki begins investigating the fresh murder and reopening the cold case of her own mother's murder. Will this new corpse help her solve the one case she most wants to solve?

I was surprised when I realize where the plot of this book was going since on the TV show Castle, Beckett wasn't quite to this point when the book came out. But since the plot goes in a very different direction than the TV series, it makes sense. And the end will definitely leave you wanting more.

As always, catching the references to the show and watching the characters based on those characters adds to the fun. But if you aren't a fan of the show, you'll still get a great mystery out of it. There are plenty of twists and things don't resolve until the last few pages.

Unfortunately, the writing is still a factor. It's lazy, telling instead of showing and head hopping like crazy between Nikki and Rook. It seemed better in the last one, but it's worse again here.

Fans of the series certainly won't mind, and if you enjoy a good book you'll still enjoy this one. Just know it isn't as fast a read as it could be as a result of the poor writing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm a latecomer to the world of 'Castle' - which is a hit television series built around author Richard Castle's time with the NYPD as a ride along observer with Detective Kate Beckett. Castle has turned those ride alongs into a series of successful books featuring Detective Nikki Heat and writer Jameson Rook. But.....Richard Castle isn't real either. He's portrayed by actor Nathan Fillion who does a fantastic job pitching 'his' writing. With me so far? It's a great fun premise! I enjoyed Heat Rises last year. I don't watch a lot of television, but you don't have to be a fan of the show to enjoy the books.

The fourth book is Frozen Heat. Detective Heat's latest case involves a woman found stabbed and stuffed into a suitcase in Manhattan. Nikki is in shock - her own mother was found killed in this manner. It can't be coincidence. And when she looks closely at the suitcase, she finds her own initials - the suitcase belonged to her. Nikki's mother's murder is unsolved after ten long years. Who has duplicated her murder? Why? Did the two women know each other? As she digs further, whoever is out there seems determined to make Nikki number three.....

I chose to listen to Frozen Heat as I knew the reader - Johnny Heller - was excellent. Although you might think that a male reader for a female protagonist might be an unusual choice, in this case, it just really works. Heller has a unique gravelly voice that is perfect. He modulates it to differentiate between the male and female voices. Much of the charm of Castle's books lies in the short, snappy dialogue and one liners. Heller's animated delivery of these lines is really entertaining.

But, along with all that snappy dialogue, Frozen Heat is a good mystery as well. The plot was well-paced and action filled. The ending left me a bit unsatisfied, but the door has been left open for the next book in the series. And I'll be listening!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
Richard Castle in the TV show is presented as a super successful novelist and whilst we are under no illusion that they are great literary works of art I was under the impression he was like the crime version of Stephen King or Wilbur Smith. Kindy of trashy but fun, well written novels with some genuine literary talent in them.

I was incredibly excited to find the first Nikki Heat novel being released for real. Unfortunately, whilst it was fun, it was also a bit of a disappointment. A short rehashing of key moments from the TV series made it an interesting tie-in but a sadly missed opportunity. It was also a bit jarring to read about characters that were so obviously based on the TV counterparts yet you were supposed to believe they were different - Surely, I thought, Castle would just write better novels than this! It's not that they are bad - definitely worth a read - just they could have been so much more. And so, I have read the first three books, long giving up on the hope that these would become anything more than tie-ins.

Until Frozen Heat.

This book finally delivers on that early premise. Here we have characters that are clearly based on their 'real' counter parts but now written with stories and lives of their own. It's now 'inspired' by the the real cases instead of just rehashing them. In the investigation of Nikki Heat's mother's murder we go on a significantly different tangent to the TV show and it is all the more better for it. A genuinely enjoyable read that is an exciting crime thriller as well as a tie-in to the movie. It's also nearly twice as long as the earlier novels allowing for the plot and characters to development nicely - some lovely twists as well that I really didn't see coming! I would have been quite happy to read this, not knowing anything about the TV show.

Let's hope they keep up the commitment into writing any future novels and, hopefully, the Derrick Storm novels. Give us books and stories that we can genuinely get our teeth into that can stand on their own as great books! Loved this, looking forward to more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here