Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£12.34
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2013
"Mass Effect: Evolution" is a gold mine of lore in the ME universe. There's all sorts of information about "The Illusive Man" and his actions in the "First Contact War". You get to see Saren and find out how his hatred of humans began, you get to meet the real Eva Coré and there's even a cameo by Ashley Williams' grandfather. You cant get better than this! And there's more that I wont spoil, but yeah there's much more. So if you're a ME fan you cannot afford to miss this comic. This is as far back in the time-line as any ME story has gone. This is the true beginning of the reaper's saga and even more important than that, the beginning of Cerberus!
That being said, as a comic this is the weakest of the bunch. There's a bit of action but not much and the story drags a bit and never seems to find its pace. The writer builds lots and lots of lore but forgets to make things exciting and entertaining. Its still a cool "origins" story and the insight into "The Illusive Man"'s past and how he evolved to leader of Cerberus is priceless and well written but the comic never quite reaches its potential.
The art is good and the colors are beautiful and the story while a bit bland is still interesting but the real pay-off for the reader and the fan is, again, the lore.
Of course this, more than any of the other comics, is strictly for hardcore fans as anyone else will be completely lost and will find little entertainment here.
But as a fan I must say this was simply priceless and an absolute pleasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
You are on to the Mass Effect videogame series? Did you enjoyed the books and comics? Are you intrigued of who this Illusive Man guy is? Then you will undoubtly enjoy this comic at its best! This well worth the prize comic book is well worth what it costs! Not just for its drawings quality, but for the story it tells. You will learn about the Illusive Man, the first time man traveled through the Mass Relays, and lot of other things including Turians, Saren and some technology that will be important in ME1, ME2 and ME3.
Very good precuel, and a great piece of the Mass Effect universe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Yet again dark horse brings us a well-written and engaging story from the Mass Effect universe. In this the second volume (I wholly intend to purchase the third) we get a peek into the formative years of the Illusive Man who I prefer to call 'Lucy'.

Apart from some minor scuff damage and a really weird delivery method, (I ordered three things from the same seller but they arrived separately, I found that very strange) This is why I've deducted but a single precious star.

I would recommend this title to any Mass Effect fan looking for further insights into the wonderful universe Bioware created.

Hope this helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Well written and somewhat engaging but it does rob some of the mystery from the Illusive Man. The bonus comics at the end are fun enough but don't really add much to the overall ME canon and the preview of Volume 3 felt unnecessary
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
the book is very detailed and reveals a lot of info on the Ilusive man and how he became the strange man that he is in the video game series. worth a read as it also explains what happened shortly after the first contact war on Palaven with the Turians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
The seller was very good, it arrived earlier than the predicted date which I was pleased with, and it was in great condition! The novel itself is really good and had me hooked from start to finish, it really gives more background on how Earth makes itself in the galaxy and more background on why Saren hates humans so much, and ofcourse it explains how the Illusive Man came to be.

I would recommend this to any Mass Effect fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
I'm not a huge fan of graphic novels. For me, they seem to take the imagination out of reading. However, I am a huge fan of Mass Effect so felt I had to buy this to keep up-to-date with the story.

The story itself fleshes out a lot of the back story of both the Illusive Man and Saren, explaining how their personalities and philosophies were shaped during the events of the First Contact War. You also get your first views of Arcturus Station and Palaven (the Turian homeworld).

I'm not even going to try and review the art because, as I said, I'm no expert. All I will say is the drawings are clear enough to figure out what's going on.

In summary, I'd recommend buying this if, like me, you want to be aware of all aspects of the Mass Effect back story. It will help explain the motivations of 2 of the key characters throughout the game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
i have all of the mass effect comics, they r all really good, and explain so much of the story line that was missing, i got these just to read to bridge the story, but really got into them and thy got me into comics, only good if u know the story line for the mass effect series or if u have played the games, if u r just looking for comics you may not understand all of the things that are happening through the comics

19, female
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
It give a good back ground of the Elusive man. And how he became who he is, and why he feel like he does,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Great book and really good read i totally recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here