Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 April 2014
For a blu ray release in a steelbook enclosure I was disappointed with this product. Most of the film looks old stock although there is no picture break-up or 'bits' of stuff flickering. On a plasma screen the foreground is far too dark, as though the contrast has been increased.

What makes it worse for me was that I recently viewed my old dvd copy of The Maltese Falcon (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]. Both films were viewed on projection. But The Maltese Falcon is an immaculate viewing experience. I would not dream of buying a blu ray version of this movie.

Watching Sierra Madre this time had me comparing the lust for gold with the urge to consume these days. The other day I heard myself telling someone that I have to face a choice between getting new footwear or the James Bond blu ray box set! Although oddly enough merely saying that to someone had me maturely reflecting on that perverted conundrum. New hiking boots were ordered. Much cheaper than burros.
review image
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
A cinema classic; three outstanding perfomances, though, Walter Huston, deservedly won an Academy Award. Look out for John, the son and the director in a minor role as "White Suit". The mysterious B Traven, allegedly. based the plot on a Chaucer "Pilgrimage Tale" ; The Pardoner's Tale; there was a fourth and he was called Death.
Nominated for four awards; it collected three (two for the son and one for the father).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Get this if you want ye old original influence to Raiders of the Lost Ark. From Start to Finish, you can't take your eyes off this beautifully made, acted & scored gold bar of a film.

The begging at the beginning of the film reminds me of a similar experience in life & I chuckle to myself every time I watch the very same mannerisms & body language I remember observing back then, being acted out here by these great actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
The Treasure of Sierra Madre is a truly great movie mysterious and opaque ... and compelling ... Bogart is truly charismatic ... The cinematography is wonderful .... a masterpiece ... Rio Bravo is enjoyable but does not have the pace of of the former movie ... .. but this is a great value combination of DVD s with both films sold together in one set ... They are I think Spanish imports but original prints of the films ... there were no technical difficulties viewing the movies in English ... A highly recommended purchase especially in this good value combination set ... The Treasure of Sierra Madre is a film which bears close analysis and repeat viewing by anyone who loves cinema ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
A great movie a great treasure to have .thanks william lester
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Everyone in this is impressive (Bogart, Holt, Bennett, MacLane and Bedoya) but no one could surpass Walter Huston who steals every scene he's in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2016
This is a classic , great acting can't fault it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Searching for Gold in a very dangerous bandit ridden Mexico, Three strangers form a partnership to search for the yellow stuff.
Well guess what they find it! But its not what the film is mainly about its about the discovery of the individual "id" and how it affects the behaviour of them as a group and how their aims at the beginning of the journey changed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
still known as one of the greats,great build up,well told sto
ry,masterful direction.i never get tired of watching this movie.
don
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)