Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2013
I finished the book this morning over my breakfast espresso and I can say that I enjoyed both.

The story was a little hard to get into at first as I felt a little difficult to believe that someone would so quickly trust people he barely knew. I found the rest of the story to be very enjoyable and intriguing. There were no lengthy history lectures that I have found in some similar novels and instead the historical backdrop was left quite vague for most of the time. Some helpful details were contributed by one of the characters but this was done in a way that was a natural part of the story.

The ending was a little sudden but on reflection perhaps the sense of things not being neatly settled was appropriate given the ideas explored in the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
A jolly good read, in the vein of Clive Cussler.

A hero fights to save a damsel and in doing so renews old acquaintances, calls in favours and steps up to the proverbial plate.
Very enjoyable, would recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
This was a gripping read from start to finish. It's a fast-moving action adventure with links to mysterious sects from the past. The main character, Cameron Kincaid, is an unusual combination of ex Foreign Legion, turned celebrity chef, He is a finely drawn character who comes alive on the page, and he soon has you rooting for him to succeed.

Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
This was a really fascinating read with quite a pace. The story is full of mystery as well as action and you never quite know what is going to happen next.

I'm definitely going to read another Cameron Kincaid adventure after this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
An exciting rollercoaster of an adventure thriller, which has its beginnings in Medieval times but whose repercussions can still be felt now. The action and tension is non-stop, with enough plot twists and turns to make you feel dizzy, this book takes you on a fabulous journey where you never know what is going to happen next.
What’s more, the characters are believable, with Kincaid so well-drawn that he almost steps from the page. So glad I discovered this author, and this unusual, original bestseller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Could have done with a bit more back ground to the plot, as the author seemed to take it for granted that the reader will fill in the blanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Wonderful read about the Cathars and there troubles because Pomp did not mean
anything to them nature provided all to them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Great book loved the twists and turns of the plot look forward to reading more from the author can recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
from the outset the story was somewhat unusual, the main character was a chef, but also ex foreign legion.The story started to get far fetched from the beginning, and stretched the imagination as it progressed,towards what was thought to be some kind of a decent conclusion, but this was not the case.The ending was totally disappointing, and because of this, in my opinion was a waste of time reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
The storyline was weak nice concept but very poor ending
How many people do you know who speak fluent Latin? A translation of the words spoken would have helped it could have been mumbo jumbo for all I know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here