Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
This book is one of the most important I've ever read, and I've been a GP for 34 years. I wish I'd known the stuff in here years ago, as all thru my career the official mantra has been "eat less fat, do more exercise" and, sadly I've repeated this message to many many patients. And yet the population is fatter, diabetes & metabolic syndrome have become epidemic and orthodox advice has clearly failed. This book tells you why - not all calories are equal, fructose (the villain) is a type of carbohydrate but is not metabolised as glucose and so causes damage, processed food is a disaster (sugar added to almost everything, the good stuff, eg. fibre, taken out). Yes, there's an American slant in the stories and background, but the issues raised are worldwide - wherever sugar intake has increased, obesity, diabetes, etc have rapidly followed, whatever the previous traditional diet was (high fat, low fat or whatever). I can't recommend the book highly enough and only hope the politicians, supermarkets, and food producers listen and act on its message. Assuming they won't, change your own life and those you influence by following its advice!
88 Comments| 348 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
interesting, well set out, not difficult to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
We are told to reduce fat for health and weight loss, but this shows another reason why so many are obese. More and more articles and research are showing how addictive sugar is particularly HFCS which appears in so many products.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Sugar is the enemy. If you can understand the science behind obesity you have s fighting chance to change it. Excellent, well explained. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Very interesting but I found it hard going. Useful for medical professionals but difficult for lay people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Important message and well researched but a little too long winded..
Eat less sugar, eat whole foods, more fibre, less processed foods, and nothing with added sugar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Excellent sound information backed up by science not the usual food industry bias. A little scientific in parts but eminently readable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Great book! Presents a very compelling case for looking at our food choices and a recognition of the challenges involved!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
well written on the dangers of sugar. good shopping list in it and a detailed list of 40 different names used for sugar on food labels - talk about hiding it! If your into mars bars then this book is not for you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Dr Robert Lustig suggests that the obesity epidemic is due to our hormones being altered by too much refined sugar in popular drinks and food stuff laden with the new 'high fructose corn syrup' of late which replaced cane sugar by the food manufacturers because of low costs. "The problem with obesity is that the brain is not seeing the excess weight." The brain can't see it because appetite is determined by a binary system. You're either in anorexigenesis - "I'm not hungry and I can burn energy" - or you're in orexigenesis - "I'm hungry and I want to store energy." The flip switch is your leptin level (the hormone that regulates your body fat) but too much insulin in your system blocks the leptin signal." However, he does point out that whole fruits because of fiber and nutritional factors do not have this effect. Enjoyable read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse