Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2013
This is her mother's account of her life, She is honest in saying she didn't know everything about her daughter's life, but is describes the Whitney Houston we never knew which makes it all the more tragic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I wanted to hear from Whitney's mother as who else would know her better? Unfortunately, the ups and downs of her dear daughter shows we don't really know anyone's feelings no matter how close we may be to them.
A great history of Cissie and Whitney by a loving mother.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
was okay but more about whitneys mother and her musical career than whitney herself. lots of claims about not knowing this or that about her daughter but no real substance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Very dull read.....no real insight into the life of Whitney Houston. Protective mother protecting her daughters reputation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
All due respect to Cissy Houston, but her view of her daughters problems were from a distance, and I think that in reality Whitney lived her personal life as a bit of a low-life, despite the fact that I've been a HUGE fan since her first album.....
I think Cissy brought up her daughter in the right way, she was obviously strict and wanted her daughter to grow up a sensible, grounded and well adjusted woman, but this wasn't to be. Whitney chose Bobby Brown.....they came together BECAUSE of drugs, not despite them....Its said that Whitney was doing drugs long before she met Bobby Brown and its important to remember that Whitneys siblings all grew up with drug abuse problems.....I'm not sure this book is a close-up and personal view of Whitneys life despite being her mother.....Cissy was obviously kept at a distance, so her account is vague and not really the way it actually was.....Whitney was blessed with Gods ultimate package, its a pity she never saw this herself....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Fantastic read great insight to Whitney Houston life although the book was great I wish there had been more details into Whitney's adults life as I felt it was all about her growing up not much on the actual reason she ended up the way she did but still a great book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 April 2017
Whitney Houston was a huge talent and megastar; when that all goes wrong and she died before her time, the world wants to know why. This book was written by Houston's mother, Cissy, and tells of her daughter's background in New Jersey and her rise to fame. Unfortunately, for the reader, there's *far* too much emphasis on Cissy's life and music career plus her familial connections to Dionne Warwick and Aretha Franklin and I'll be honest, that wasn't the reason why I chose the book.

I got the distinct impression that Cissy very much lived vicariously through her daughter's stellar career. She didn't approve of her close friendship with Robyn Crawford or with husband Bobby Brown. The final years of Whitney's life, apart from engaging in an intervention to send her into drug rehab, seem to have been at a distance from her mother, so it's all a bit insubstantial.

This book is worth reading in conjunction with other books about the late megastar's life and music, but it's not the whole story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This must have been a very tough book to write for a mother. It's honest and moving and anyone who was a real fan of Whitney should read it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
A first class book'that is so awe inspiring from a mothers point of view for her love for her daughter Whitney.Made me cry,its a special book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
I love the way this book gave me an insight to the family. It can't have been easy for Cissy to write this. I would say though the reason Whitney felt she could not communicate to her mother over the little things is because as a child Cissy was gone far too often therefore Whitney turned to others. It definitely wasn't Bobby 's fault Whitney turned to drugs but he didn't do anything to stop it. He is still a rat in my eyes! Really good book which I'm glad I read. Thank you Cissy. Beautiful daughter Nippy and beautiful voice
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.00

Need customer service? Click here