Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 30 January 2013
Very interesting and well written. First time buying a Martin Kelner book and I am glad I did following the plugs in Fighting Talk.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Well done to Mr Kelner for writing this witty and informative history of TV sport. First class just like David Coleman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
I expected this to be an enjoyable book, given the author, and it was. It brought back lots of memories about how rubbish sport on TV was in the 1960s/1970s. We are so lucky with sports coverage nowadays. If you've an interest in Sport and you're over the age of 40 this is perfect for you. If you're under 40 you ought to thank your lucky stars you didn't have to watch some of the rubbish we did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I wholeheartedly commend this book to all sport fans whether of the active variety or the sofa variety. It is thoroughly researched with tons of facts to please the armchair statto. It is also warm, charming, nostalgic and witty. It helps that I am of a similar age and background to the venerable Mr Kelner but this book rightly deserves its place in the pantheon of sport related literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
As a long time reader of Martin Kelner's former weekly column in the Guardian I was expecting this to be both informative and entertaining - i wasn't wrong. It's a great read and gives a comprehensive view of how sport first viewed Television with suspicion and then as the bottomless pit of money that has so changed the games we love to play and watch. Thoroughly reccomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Really interesting, well researched read full of fascinating trivia and social history. Definitely a blokes book and one that makes you want to research some of the stories in it further or watch things on youtube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Martin Kelner's book is a fantastic read on one of our great national pastimes, sitting down to watch and cheer our sport on telly from the comfort of the armchair. A very entertaining read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Fans lamenting the loss of Kelner's Guardian column on TV sport will welcome this history, although his ascerbic humour and satirical voice does not quite translate to a full volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Great read, funny and interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Excellent book with a few glaring historical errors. The author must have seen a different 1957 cup final to the one which I saw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)