Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.74


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
This book continues the war between Pompey Magnus and Caesar and the war in Egypt. Once again the way that the story pans out gives the reader a "fly on the wall" experience as if he/she were present experiencing the events as they occur. These books are excellent and I am running out of superlatives in describing each book. Now on to the next volume....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
The second book in the series follows on in the same dynamic story telling style of the first Marching with Caesar - Conquest of Gaul.
With the now Primus Pilus of Caesars X Legion, Titus Pullus, recounting the tail of his life and struggles during the time of the Civil War, retracing his steps from Dyrrhachium and Pharsalus against Pompeius Magnus' Legions, following him to Alexandria and the further campaigns against the surviving Pompeian Forces in Africa & Spain. Sadly ending with the cowardly murder of, in my opinion, the greatest Roman General ever, Gaius Julius Caesar. Leading to the beginning of the turbulent events following this.
Like the first book. The story flows at a fast pace and again is written in a way that is not trying to be too over elaborate. In other words, by anyone who just enjoys a good read and a good historical account of Roman History. The descriptions of the battle formations, equipment, day to day life style and attitudes of the Legionaries are what I would consider to be very accurate. The authors own Military experiences are obviously apparent in this.
I found this book hard to put down, reading it in a short period of time. Again, Congratulations to R.W. Peake on another excellent book. Looking forward to the third book - Marching with Caesar - Antony & Cleopatra.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Enjoying this series of books and would recommend them to anyone interested in Roman history without the boredom of reading text books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
just a great read.looking forward to the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
An absolutely brilliant book , R W Peake is very authorative in describing the Legionaires way of life when on the front line, he describes in detail life in battle mode and fighting the various barbarians they have to confront. This book you will find holds you in it to the very end and makes you long for the next one, I have read all of the series up to this one and they are all alike and I will be buying the next in the series number 3 and look forward to it. D Bowen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I count the first marching with caesar in the top ten of my all time books along with simon scarrow books and bernard cornwell...

Marching with Caesar Civil War is now fighting for my number 1 book ever read. The story is amazingly written and I feel the characters are so real. The emotions described are so relatable and the story just draws you in.

I sit here reading the book for the second time now, laughing along with Titus, feeling horrible when he does and wanting to cry with him too.

Peake is so good at making the characters in his story relatable and real. Battles feel like you are inthe midst of the blood shed, conversations between characters make you feel like you are sat right there with them sharing a cup, and the whirlwind of emtions in the book feel real.

I can not recommend enough that you read this book. The only down side to it is that you will forget to eat, sleep or work so you won't put the book down.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Another very good book by a very good author, so much so when reading in bed at night I found it hard to put down. More tired days at work. Oh, I apologise for calling Peake Kane in my review of the previous book. It's an age thing. Written at 0016hrs and now starting book three! More please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
The second book in the life of Titus Pullus and the 10th legion. In this sequel, we follow Titus to Egypt, and see why Caesar was clearly a natural born leader of men, and a remarkable strategist of ancient warfare. Was there ever a better man to conquer half the ancient world ?.

The journey continues, as Titus again campaigns in remote parts, but this time facing his own kind, splitting the legions, and showing the utter madness of civil war. As well as triumph, he also faces tragedy, and matures into a fully seasoned veteran of the roman war machine.

The character of Scribonius starts to develop further, along with young Octavius rising up to take us towards the third book in this compelling series.

Five stars again. Mr. Peake is fast becoming the master at writing roman fiction, but with historical accuracy at it's core. Hard times, and a very hard life in the legions. That's the way it was 2000 years ago. Marching with Caesar takes us back there again.

Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse