Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
1,778
4.5 out of 5 stars
Kingston Technology 60GB Solid State Drive V300 2.5-inch SATA 3
Format: Personal Computers|Change
Price:£57.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 April 2017
consider this as a cheap upgrade to a laptop.

any laptop a couple of years old will gain a lot of speed if you swap out the existing hard drive for one of these

be aware - this has limited space - the 120GB will drop to around 110GB once formatted.
Install Windows 10 on (30-40GB) will leave you around 60-70GB of space for your data - which is enough for many

you can get software that will clone the exiting drive in your computer and copy that to the new hard drive - just make sure you have not used more that 100GB of space before you try with this device.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
I have been buying these for the past 2 or so years, and i love them, often installed in oldish intel core 2duo's they make a massive difference. I usually install windows 7 pro on these and then re-issue the pc in the school i work at. 120 Gig is a minimum space really but, for a network machine it doesn't matter. The speed is freaking awesome, 10 second or less startup time, and applications open super quick. Very very happy, not cheap but cheaper than a new computer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 August 2016
Easy to install, good quality build as you would expect from a well know maker. My PC is now booting incredibly fast and I'm thrilled by the results. A small investment has given my PC a new lease of life. Highly recommended drive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Pros:
1. Very good price (at least when I bought it!).
2. Small so takes up little space in a PC case and perfect for the smaller Micro ATX cases etc.
3. Super fast read/write speeds.

Cons:
1. More expensive than a traditional spinner but there's a reason for this - it's just better than a spinner full stop!

A SSD is a no-brainer now and so much faster than a spinner and at the time of purchase the price was crazy low. You'd be mad not to have at least one of these in your machine as your O/S drive, just for the boot speed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Installed to replace the drive in a Dell Vostro 1310 which appeared to be running very hot. Installed easily and I upgraded to Win 7. Windows Experience rated the drive at 7.7 (out of 7.9) so I'm pretty happy with that. time will tell as to the overall reliability. Bought a second one to upgrade a HP Compaq nx7400, again upgraded to Win7. Windows Experience reports 7.2 on this laptop but still happy with that, at £60 a bargain. 2 years on and still flying along without any issues. Upgraded to Win10 and this old machine is still very useable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Not bad for the price. But frankly the Samsung and intel offerings are way faster in every way as they use an entirely different technology and don't rely on compression. The rated speeds of this are rubbish as they are only true for very compressible files, and most files aren't compressible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I bought this to attempt to bring a little bit of life into an older relative's very ancient laptop. fitting was simple, as was usage, however this wan;t enough to get the machine up to a decent standard, most likely no fault of this product, although it is not a top spec part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
The SSD is fast and greatly improved performance from a 5400rpm HDD, the included caddy is also convenient and easy to use however the acronis software could not adjust partition size so used alternative (and free) software on the advice of kingston. Unfortunate since i paid for a bundle including the software to avoid using unknown software
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2017
Very quick - haven't had major issues.

Downside: had to return a failing one; but Kingston replaced it after I sent the read-log of its performance.

Nothing special - great SSD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
the ssd is relay awesome i only use Kingston but the software that comes with this is years out of date and took me along time to just get it to work every thing else was fine but sadly software made me leave 2 stars sorry kingston sort this out before i have to switch to Samsung
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 192 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)