Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
80
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£18.80
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2012
I really enjoyed this book, not going to bed until 2.30am this morning because I couldnt put it down and see what happened in the end. Really looking forward to the release of the follow up, which I hope wont be too long. If you like Thoughtless and Effortless, Beautiful Disaster, All The Wrong Reasons and Vicious Circles you will enjoy this book..
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
Be prepared to embark on a very beautiful journey...

Ryan Christensen is an A-List Hollywood actor who is wrapping up a second movie in the 'Seaside' trilogy based on 3 successful books. His presence, along with his co-workers are causing a bit of a stir in Rhode Island; attracting hundreds of screaming girls, paparazzi and reporters, it's no wonder that the Hot, Hunky Celeb is feeling the heat.

Taryn Mitchell is a 27 year old pub owner in Rhode Island who never cared for the spotlight. She thinks the obsessive nature of half clad screaming girls is not only an inconvenience but a pathetic weakness of the fairer sex and wished the film would just wrap up already. The sooner things got back to normal in her hometown, the better!

Upon changing her live entertainment board outside of her pub one sunny afternoon, she hears a commotion and looks up to see the highly sort-after actor running for his life - literally! Following behind is a pack of screaming fans and paparazzi and before she gets mowed down by the A-list himself he runs into her empty pub. Aiming for the back door, he takes a wrong turn and ends up in her stairwell which leads to her private apartment. As the crowd descends into her precious old-world charm pub, she takes the initiative to divert them by saying he ran out the back door - and well, she wasn't officially open for the day! Yet!

Locking up her pub and pulling the blinds, she then seeks out her visitor. She encounters Ryan, but isn't quite prepared to see him shaking, bleeding, t-shirt torn and distraught. Taryn automatically feels the need to protect him and does the one thing that any normal person would do. She gives him a beer, followed by a few shots of whiskey to help calm his nerves and challenges him to a game of pool.

As the afternoon progresses, Ryan and Taryn start to relax in each-others company, chatting animatedly they soon start to realise that they have a lot in common. Ryan finds the interaction refreshing and is even more surprised when Taryn tells him that she has never seen any of his movies.

From this moment on, we see a Friendship bloom between the unlikely pair. However, it doesn't come without its problems and it soon becomes apparent that living within the limelight can have horrifying affects.

Tina Reber has done an incredible job throwing two sweet people into the throes of two completely different worlds. Will their friendship survive? Will their blossoming Love conquer all? Well I'm not telling you, you need to take this journey by yourself, and I hope (like me), you will be so pleased that you did.

This is a pleasantly long read that captivated me and still had me turning those pages with relish. You route for Ryan and Taryn all the way through and hope and pray they make it. Book 2 will be called Love Unrehearsed, and I cannot wait to continue the journey with 2 very loveable, strong characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
When I saw this book in my recommendations, I thought the story was a bit "out there". It's hard to believe, but then again, it is a "story" so it can be unrealistic. I decided to buy it because some of my favourite books are ones that didn't sound very interesting.

I must admit, when I started reading it, I didn't like it much. It just didn't seem like my type of thing. I didn't like the setting in a pub. But the more I read it the more I liked it. There were some points where I thought about not finishing it because its a long book, over 500 pages with tiny writing.

But saying all that, I'm glad I did finish it! I did enjoy it. It's not one of my favourites and I won't be reading it again. But I did enjoy it and have bought the second book Love Unrehearsed (Love (Atria)).

This story is about a norman woman who runs her own pub. And a huge movie star. Taryn and Ryan.

What I did absolutely love about this book was the heart breaking parts. I've never read a story like this before. Where both of the people are really at their lowest! It was refreshing to read something a bit different. I did cry more than once. Which to me says it must be a good read!

It is a long drawn out story but I would recommend it. It's not for everyone. Maybe an older reader, as I am only 20. I give this book 7 out of 10!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 July 2012
I kept dipping in and out of this book as it couldn't hold my attention. It is far too long...I found myself getting bored. The characters are good although I found Taryn a bit too perfect. She can do everything. I wouldn't be surprised that in the next book she doesn't become Ryan's Manager! The fact she wouldn't let Ryan pay for anything also got a bit boring. It's not like he couldn't afford it! I did feel that Ryan's character was based on Robert Pattinson from Twilight! The author had a good idea for the story. Some people probably dream of being the ordinary girl next door who a famous movie star falls in love with. Unfortunately I felt the author went in to far too much detail about the film business etc. This is where the book was too long in my opinion. She could have cut all that out and the book would have been so much better.
I have read the first four chapters from the next book Love Unrehearsed. It takes up right where this one left off. It is just more of the same, so I'm not sure if I am going to read it. Not sure what the author can add to this story. I'm also wondering why authors decide to write sequels? Like sequels to films, they just don't seem to work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Read this book years ago! Decided to read it again for a second time (cutting kindle spending) and fell in love all over again! The only thing negative I picked up on was the authors reference to Taryn being a girl instead of a woman. Ryan always referred to her as the 'girl' for him when I think shes clearly passed that stage at the age of 27. Otherwise than that it was as much a joy to read as the first time! I LOVE long books with loads of depth and character development. I'm now going to check out her other books to see if she has published any more long reads. There goes my 💳 again *sighs*
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I bought this book on the recommendations that it was "amazing", "fantastic", "fabulous read" when in actual fact it was dire, annoying and one of the most over rated books I have ever read!

It started with such promise, can a Hollywood leading hottie & the normal girl fall in love and make it work?? That promise didn't last long at all.

If I read that Taryn was a "successful shrewd business woman" once, I read it a thousand times! In actual fact she was a stuck up, insecure, pretentious, shrew of a woman. Ryan was a decent character but I couldn't see how he could fall for someone like Taryn. Then I realised that Ryan was a wishy washy, snickering smirker who actual thought he'd be in the elevated position he was without the help of his fans. He came across as ungrateful and spoiled.

I became incredible frustrated with the authors "show me tell me" approach to her writing. There are LONG rambling passages that lead nowhere and add nothing to the story in the slightest. The story timeline failed to work for me, whilst some parts seemed to literally drag on for page after page, suddenly you're weeks ahead and still going over the same ground. I seriously feared for my mental health...either that or the health of my kindle when I launched it against a wall!

I seriously wouldn't recommend this book at anyone...save your money.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
I was recommended this series by a friend and I am so glad she did!

This was a brilliant read from the first few chapters right to the end. The way the story develops is at a good pace, the characters are all well written, and the story itself just totally drew me in.

I absolutely loved the characters and immediately on finishing this moved on to book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
I read the reviews, both good and bad but decided to give it a go. I am glad I did. The story was captivating and the characters believable and warm. I enjoyed the story from beginning to end and have to say that I have talked in "hums" and "ahhs" when anyone tried to get a sensible answer from me - I was so engrossed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Don't be put off by negative reviews and false allegations of "soft porn"...this is a lovely love story that I couldn't put down and I can barely wait the fortnight for the sequel. Oh, if only men were really like this ;-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I've never written a review before but this book was so poor I had to save others from this painful reading experience. The characters in 'Love Unscripted' are so shallow and underdeveloped, especially Ryan & Taryn, that although I kept reading it was more in a trance than a desire to find out what happened to them, as I realised quite quickly I couldn't care less. Taryn is a self-centered, egotistical young woman, not loving and selfless as we are supposed to believe; in fact she comes across just as nutty as the stalkers she fears and I kept hoping that Ryan and her friends would dump her needy, sorry ass; no such luck! There are many brilliant NA books around at the moment but this is not one of them.
**My pet peeve is the constant use of the word snickered, an inappropriate word that is really popular with writers at the moment as evidenced here, Muttley the dog snickers not people who love each other and who we are supposed to believe share a warmth and intimacy.**
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£23.18
£13.73

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)