Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
95
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£11.39


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2013
This Dummies manual is clearly written to guide users on the Kindle Fire as it is presented to US customers. For purchasers in UK, Spain, etc. the instructions rarely seem to reflect the features on the Kindle Fire as sold to UK/European users. So many instructions just do not give the desired response, and so many much-needed actions are not provided on the non-US tablets. In short, a very unsatisfactory purchase item outside the US!!! BEWARE!!
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
all you need to know about the kindle fire and written in simple style ,helped me alot to get started on the kindle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This has opened up lots of opportunities, that I may have missed, as I did not fully understand the capability of my Kindle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This is written for America so none of the recommended app links work as they all link to Amazon.com not uk. It is pretty basic I already knew most of it from the kindle users guide. Some of the stated functionality does not come with the UK kindle fire. Did not answer any of my questions and was expensive considering the basic content. Now going to have to seek to purchase another guide. Would not recommend especially to UK users.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This is completely and utterly pointless. It is only really relevant to the US and not to the UK. There is a lot of filler - seemingly random chapters about games and apps etc.

The book is pretty short and it is quite easy to follow. However all of the information is easily available for free with a quick internet search.

Amazon should probably make this info easier to obtain on their site but there really isn't any need to buy this book.

Probably the best place to start to find out how to use your kindle fire is to press the favourites tab ( the star) and then click the question mark icon and then go to the user's guide.
33 Comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
I think its pretty awful. I wanted a book that would describe in detail how to do things with the Kindle Fire but I didn't. It was a complete waste of money and I would like to give it back to Amazon and get my monbey back.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This is another good example of a very good range or seies of books which rarely disappoint and this keeps up the good work. It suffers from the defect however, of being based on the American Kindle which is not available in the UK. We still do need a manual which describes the English version of the machine and this is urgently needed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
First thing- The good things! Its much cheaper to get this on Kindle than spending £15 on the hardcopy. The book is written in the same way as most of the dummies brand, so it is clear english and easy to read layout, it has an index to quickly find what you want to know, and there are lots of links.

However, downside of this book is that that most of the information in this book can be gleaned from the forums or from other areas on the internet- You Tube, for example, has some excellent videos on using the kindle fire.

There is also an issue that the information is also orientated towards the american kindle fire market- which is a bit disappointing as it is marketed as a general guide for all. This means many of the links will not work for UK kindles (or will work but with convoluted workarounds).

In conclusion; If you want a basic guide to the kindle fire HD this is functional, up to a point. There are alternatives out there which are worth looking at too, as well as other internet forums related to the kindle fire HD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
not so keen on this thought I had ordered it as a book instead of through the Kindle too American for me I really wanted something much more easier to follow through a book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
The book tells you about the benefits of prime as they affect US users, a lot of the book reads like an advert for Amazon. Useful in places but not enough to warrant the price
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)